Skip to content

Baltimore 10 miler recap

June 20, 2010

When you run a race you expect to have a fantasy recap where you felt strong throughout the entire run and bounded through the finish line with the Rocky themesong playing in the background as you pose for the race photographer looking like it was a piece of cake.

Not exactly the recap you’re about to get here.

I’ve honestly been dreading this race. After the Cherry Blossom 10 miler I was on cloud 9, and then it was kind of like I didn’t want to really run anymore.  I had lost a lot of motivation to keep up my running and honestly didn’t do much of it to prepare for the Baltimore 10.  The longest training run was 3.75 miles, and that was only once. I wasn’t prepared for this whatsoever.

I was running the Baltimore 10 with 3 of my friends. 3 of us decided to run the entire thing together and to finish hand in hand.  About 3 steps past the start line I got a side cramp. This lovely thing decided to stay with me until the very end.  It was all I could focus on and it wouldn’t go away.  There were lots of rolling hills throughout the course and although I was happy that some of it was shaded, it was a hot summer day out and it took its toll on me.

I was so incredibly thirsty throughout and stopped at each water station and would grab 2 cups. 1 to drink and the other to dump on my head to help cool me off. I was doing alright until about mile 7, I started inching further and further away from my friends. My legs were started to feel like lead and it was hard for me to push through. By the time I hit mile 8 it was uphill till the end. The last 2 miles going uphill was what really killed me.  Tracey and Meg were trucking up those hills and I just couldn’t.  I had to take a few walk breaks and try to gather enough energy to keep going. At this point I really didn’t know if I would be able to finish running.

Walking up to the last water station I saw Meg and Trace waiting for me with cups in hand. I told them to keep on going and finish it strong but they wanted to finish together. We had less than a mile left and I felt like I was about to start crying.  I was so happy they waited for me, I wanted this race to be DONE, and I couldn’t believe I was going to finish the 10 miles. Right before the finish line I spotted Caitlin and Kat cheering me on which gave me the extra push I needed to get through to the end.

The face of death

Once I saw Cait & Kat 🙂

The three of us grabbed onto each other and finished the race together, just like we said we would.

 

It wasn’t a pretty race, but it had a successful ending. I know it’s so easy to compare yourself to other runners, or even your past running performances. But we really all need to realize that it’s all about the journey. Sometimes we don’t have great runs, sometimes they’re downright awful, sometimes we feel like we’re running on air. Even though I did better in my last 10 miler, it is still shocking to me that i’m actually able to run 10 miles. I struggled, and found something deep inside to keep me going just a little further. I have friends that are focused on finishing together as a team and inspire me to do better. I have people in my life who are there at the finish line with open arms and are ready for a celebratory hug. I have my blog friends and readers who are there for endless words of encouragement.

happy to be DONE

thank you for all your support! XOXO

“Each of us has much more hidden inside us than we have had a chance to explore. Unless we create an environment that enables us to discover the limits of our potential, we will never know what we have inside of us.”
Muhammad Yunus

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 3:21 pm

    Good job!! i can only imagine how difficult it was..your face showed it all in that one pic! You look great, by the way!!

  2. June 20, 2010 3:27 pm

    Exactly. Some races are hard and some races are easy and there is never really any rhyme or reason to why. And there are always going to be people who have an easier time running that you. But think about how many people could never in their wildest dreams run 10 miles. They’re probably thinking that you make it look so easy.

  3. Cara permalink
    June 20, 2010 3:54 pm

    Congrats, Love! You entered into that race with some tough conditions, but pulled through!! Awesome job!

  4. June 20, 2010 4:20 pm

    Great job pushing through and finishing! Having friends to help and support makes it so much better. So proud of you, Ashley!

  5. June 20, 2010 4:49 pm

    GREAT JOB ASHLEY! You still look gorgeous after running 10 miles!

  6. June 20, 2010 6:20 pm

    Great race! I know it’s not the race report that you “wanted,” but these hard races prove how strong you are. It was a hot and miserable day. A leisurely 10 miles would have been miserable and you were out there RACING 10miles. Give yourself a giant pat on the back! You deserve it and totally rock, lady!

  7. June 20, 2010 7:06 pm

    Great job! That race was a beast!! FYI I saw the guy who was in THIRD place walking at about mile 6. And the last 2 miles were nothing short of sadistic….

    I ended up walking most of the last mile in tears because of the hills and the pain I was in. But you did it and got that fab jacket! (and hopefully a beer 🙂 )

  8. June 20, 2010 10:05 pm

    Great job girl, way to really challenge yourself!

  9. June 20, 2010 10:37 pm

    hey ashley! wow the way you described that race made me want to wince in pain hahah… sorry that it was a bad run for you- happens to the best of us. in a way it is good to go through things like that- it makes you stronger and helps you realize just what you are capable of. the fact that you were able to push through pain for 10 miles is amazing and you should be proud of yourself! p.s. if that tank top you are wearing is lulelemon- i have the same one haha. hope you had a nice fathers day!

  10. June 21, 2010 1:06 am

    That’s right, no need to compare. Just be happy that you did your best (as you are) and finished 🙂 Congrats girl.

  11. baxter12009 permalink
    June 21, 2010 2:36 am

    Well done!
    I am lookign to run in a marathon here in Australia! should be fun. lots of training to do though.

    Any tips for preperation?

    http://cinnamonstories.wordpress.com/

  12. charmcitykim permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:24 am

    Way to go!! I did the Baltimore 10-miler last year and thought it was BRUTAL. The last 2 miles UPHILL are just cruel. But I was stoked to have finished it. And now you can say you’ve done 2 10-mile races. 🙂

  13. June 21, 2010 7:24 am

    Nice job on pushing through the pain! Doesn’t sound like it was fun, but you have a great story about having the courage to continue and friendship.

  14. June 21, 2010 8:33 am

    Awesome job!

  15. lowandbhold permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:39 am

    You did great girl! I so agree that it’s all about the journey and the experience. You are awesome 🙂

  16. June 21, 2010 12:59 pm

    awesome job Ashley!! I too had a difficult run out there! I’ve never had to walk in a race, but I walked at least 3 times in the last 2 miles….those hills were killer!! I didn’t train nearly enough either 🙂 but at least we have an epic race jacket to wear around town..yay!

  17. June 21, 2010 4:00 pm

    you looked great out there! props, sista. love your face.

  18. June 24, 2010 7:16 am

    Aww how gorgeous are you girl?? Even after a full 10 miles and sweaty. hehehe Congratulations on completing the race!!! 🙂 I gotta kick this vacation lazy ass in the butt and get back on the treadmill!!!

  19. June 25, 2010 10:01 am

    Incredible job! I would have been scared to death. LOL It’s so wonderful that your friends insisted on finishing together and I love the photo of the three of you linking arms. 🙂

Leave a Reply

