Skip to content

Family Matters

May 6, 2010

I was looking through an old thumb drive and found a folder of photos. My grandfather passed a few years ago around this time and my uncle put together a slideshow. Thinking of the first time I watched it during the funeral breaks my heart. The tears couldn’t stop running down my face, I just missed him so much. Seeing my mom so upset was one of the most difficult things i’ve had to deal with. Your parents are always so strong so when they are vulnerable and sad you want to be able to do any and everything you can to make things better.

Now when I look through these photos I’m happy, even though I still get that lump in the middle of my throat. It reminds me of all the amazing times we’ve had together, the little things that make our family unique, how close we are and always will be.

X0001c.jpg

My grandparents on their wedding day

X0002aa.jpg

My grandfather, grandmother, aunt, and mom. My mom’s the little one πŸ™‚

X0006bc.jpg

My beautiful grandparents

X0008v4b.jpg

My cousin Jessie on the left, me, my grandfather, and my cousin Jonathan

X0008v3a.jpg

Me and my grandfather

X0014.jpg

I love you Lou Yea, and I’ll forever miss you ❀

19 Comments leave one →
  1. lowandbhold permalink
    May 6, 2010 10:07 pm

    This is so sweet Ashley, it brought tears to my eyes. I bet he was an amazing man.

  2. May 6, 2010 10:45 pm

    This makes me teary! Reminds me of so many old photos I’ve seen of my family.

    So you call your grandpa Lou Yeh? That’s what my mom called my grandpa (her father in law). We just call him Yeh, or YehYeh, as a term of endearment. It’s interesting to hear what other families call each other πŸ™‚

    Beautiful photos, Ashley. Thanks for sharing!

  3. May 6, 2010 10:46 pm

    ❀

    p.s. you were a cute kiddo.

  4. clairedille permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:50 am

    This is such a great, sentimental post. My grandmother died around this time two years ago and still feel so sad around this time. Your grandfather seems like such a great man.

  5. May 7, 2010 7:52 am

    Beautiful photos Ashley. He must have been such a wonderful father and grandfather. I love the ability for photography to keep the ones we love alive and help us hold on to the memories.

  6. May 7, 2010 8:02 am

    I’m totally teary-eyed right now.

    I’ve always joked that the quickest way to get me to buy something, ANYTHING, is to have the salesperson be an elderly asian woman. They remind me of my aunts and I hold a soft spot for them.

    My uncle uploaded a bunch of my mom & aunts pics and I can never remember where the site is… but I loved looking through the pictures of my mom and her sisters as teenagers. They were sassy!

  7. May 7, 2010 8:07 am

    Aww, what lovely photos. Just from those I can see that he must have been a wonderful husband, father, and grandfather. I’m glad you have those photos to keep the memories fresh and alive in your life!

  8. May 7, 2010 8:09 am

    oh my gosh, what a great post with beautiful pictures that you’ll be able to cherish forever! Thanks for sharing them πŸ™‚

    And your post about your polite dog is hilarious!! That picture of Eden at the end is soooo cute!

  9. May 7, 2010 9:31 am

    this is such a beautiful tribute. Thank you so much for sharing your grandfather with us and reminding us of the importance of family. Love you, beautiful!

  10. May 7, 2010 11:02 am

    Aww, so sweet. It’s so wonderful to be able to remember family members with photos. Although – pictures are amazing…the best things are the memories…those live on forever.

  11. May 7, 2010 11:57 am

    Aw, what a touching post. Pictures are so wonderful to help us remember good times.

  12. Ava permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:44 pm

    What a beautiful family! Thanks for sharing this post–your blog is terrific!

    ❀

  13. May 7, 2010 1:24 pm

    Such a touching post! It’s wonderful to be able to have photos of our loved ones so we can remember all teh good times. πŸ™‚

  14. May 7, 2010 1:50 pm

    Thank you for sharing these amazing photos! I never got to meet my grandfathers (either of them) because my parents had me later in life (at 41 and 50), and they both had passed away by the time I was born, but it’s wonderful to see how close you were to your own grandfather.

  15. May 7, 2010 2:27 pm

    What a beautiful post! I became really close to my grandmother before she passed. I miss her terribly.

  16. May 7, 2010 9:51 pm

    Jessica How Sweet Eats told me about your blog and that she met you and you’re awesome. Any friend of hers is a friend of mine:)
    Great pics, how impressive that you have these and online, no less!

  17. May 8, 2010 8:06 pm

    Beautiful… Although it’s sad to go through all photos it really makes you realize how important family is… Your grandparents are beautiful!

  18. May 8, 2010 11:21 pm

    Oh Ashley, reading this put a lump to MY throat…I’m going to Korea soon, and one of the key reasons for me to go back is to see my grandfather (mom’s side) who is dying soon…the last time he saw me, I was in a drastic weight, and this time, I really wanna put him to peace knowing that I’m much healthier…

    My other grandfather (dad’s side) passed away never knowing that I’ve recovered, and it’s put such a tremendous guilt on me.

    Still, I loved this post. There’s memories in each and every of those pictures, and more. I’ll always have the memories I have with my granddads, no matter how small they were.

  19. Jessie permalink
    May 14, 2010 11:29 am

    Ash,
    I love these pictures! I completely remember this slideshow and not having enough tissues to keep our faces dry! It’s still really hard for me to see them. I miss Lau Yea and really with he could’ve gotten to know my girls more!! Great post! Do you think you could get me a copy of that slideshow? I don’t know if I have one.

    P.S. I’m going to get you for putting up that horrid pic of me!

    Jessie

Leave a Reply

