Skip to content

Pburgh Time

May 3, 2010

That’s right, two Baltimore girls made their way over to Steeler Country this weekend. 

Jordan and I headed on over to Pittsburgh to watch Caitlin and Abby run in the Pittsburgh half and full Marathon.  Luckily miss Jess lives there too so we got to have a little blogger weekend in the burgh. 

As Jordan and I were on the road she had the realization that we were about to pass Volt. Yes, the Brian Voltaggio restaurant in Frederick. One of the Maryland Voltaggio brothers from Top Chef.

The restaurant was in a beautiful building in downtown Frederick. Jordan and I were speedwalking as fast as we could to the entrance and proceeded to take a seat at the bar. It was hot and humid outside so I knew exactly what I would be starting with. A mojito. Made fresh to order it was the perfect refreshment I needed. 

We couldn’t stop looking around the restaurant and noticed a large flat screen tv above us with live footage of the chefs in action.  We caught a glimpse of our man and our hearts fluttered.

We went for the small plates menu and my eyes immediately narrowed in on the goat cheese ravioli with celeriac, mushrooms and a brown butter sage sauce. Of course there was a foam on top. True Voltaggio style. Jordan went with the Tuna Tartare. Foam included. 

Once we were fed we got back on the road and drove until we reached Pittsburgh. Caitlin had a pasta dinner set up with Jess and Abby on the way.  Jordan and I made ourselves a cocktail and posed with our matching outfits. 

Jess brought over some baked goods that I had been begging for since the day we knew we were visiting. How can you read her blog and not? Shameless, I asked her to bring anything delicious that she had baked. She brought peanut butter frosted chocolate chip blondies. Heaven in my mouth. So rich and decadent, these were amazing.

Bright and early the next morning we woke up to pouring rain 😦 we headed over to the street next to Caitlins and waited ready to do some screaming and cheering.  Once we saw her at mile 4 we went back to the house and headed on over to the finish line.  We sort of wandered for a while and tried to find her as she was finishing. It was a mess. Police had found a pipe bomb on the race course so they ended up closing the course and re-routing the runners.  It was raining the entire time.  We finally found Caitlin and hugged her like crazy. If you can finish a half marathon with those crazy conditions, you can do anything! We made her pose with our sign as we asked someone to snap a pic for us. 

 

So glad we could be there for support! So proud of you! 

 


17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 5:13 pm

    How fun!!! Sounds like a Fitbloggin reunion!!!

  2. May 3, 2010 5:16 pm

    Best time ever! Wish we could’ve spent MORE time together!!!

  3. Megan permalink
    May 3, 2010 6:55 pm

    Jeff wants me to write Ni Hao 🙂

  4. May 3, 2010 7:39 pm

    Looks like you had a fun trip! Mojitos are my fave drink of the summer. 🙂

    Those pb blondies look soo good. I just made some the other day using tofu for the chocolate ganache. They were amazing!

    Caitlin is lucky to have such supportive friends!

  5. May 3, 2010 7:43 pm

    Looks like a great time! Love the matching outfits!

  6. May 3, 2010 8:35 pm

    I am so jealous! Sounds like a great time. Caitlin rocks!

  7. May 3, 2010 9:10 pm

    I just moved to Pitts so I didn`t even know about the marathon until it was too late otherwise I would have totally gone down to the race!

    xo

  8. May 3, 2010 9:18 pm

    You’re such a fabulous friend Ash!!! 🙂 Thats an AWESOME sign too! hehehe and OMG the tuna dish…totally up my alley!!

  9. May 4, 2010 1:31 am

    Sounds like an amazing trip!! Love mojitos..yum, yum!

  10. May 4, 2010 7:21 am

    How fun! I love that you greeted Caitlin with a bright sign!

  11. May 4, 2010 8:28 am

    So jealous you went to VOLT! I saw him at Taste of the Nation and his dishes were amazing! I have to venture out that way soon.

  12. Jordan permalink
    May 4, 2010 9:11 am

    You were the best road trip buddy! I had so much fun through all the craziness. Let’s get workin on that Balto-Restaurant Bucket List!

  13. May 4, 2010 10:22 am

    sweet!!!! my aunt lives in fredrick i spent alot of time there when i was a kid too : ) the race sounds nutso- glad you made it through!!!

  14. May 4, 2010 11:29 am

    Those PB frosted blondies sound amazing 🙂

  15. May 4, 2010 11:59 am

    Jealous of your eats at Volt – how cool to watch them in the kitchen!! Sorry the weather sucked, but other than that – looks like you had a great time!

  16. charmcitykim permalink
    May 4, 2010 7:14 pm

    You ate at Volt?! I don’t know how veg friendly they are but I am still very jealous.

    And I think its awesome that you guys went up to support your friend! As a person who attempted a marathon, having good friends around was definitely a great boost.

  17. May 7, 2010 6:50 pm

    I loved the Voltaggio brothers, and would love to be able to visit on of their restaurants. I think it’s a great idea that they have an actual video of what’s going on in the kitchen. I wish more restaurants did something like that.

Leave a Reply

