Skip to content

Goal getter

April 27, 2010

If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn’t lead anywhere.
-Frank A Clark

My goal for myself last year was to run a half marathon.  Inspired by all the runners in the blog world, watching the biggest loser and seeing them run a half then complete a full marathon, seeing my boyfriend’s parents excitement as they told me about their upcoming marathon.  I knew I wanted to do a half.

I completed my very first 10k last April. Feeling overjoyed I decided to take the next step and sign up for the Hampton’s Half in September 2009. As the months passed and the half marathon drew near I started panicking.  I just don’t think i’m meant to be a runner. I’ve never been good at running, why all of a sudden could I do it now? 13.1 miles is further than anything I ever dreamed of. With a month left until the half marathon I pulled my hamstring.  To be honest, I was relieved. Now I had a legitimate excuse not to run.  I didn’t have to be embarrassed when I couldn’t finish, I could simply explain that I had hurt myself and could no longer participate.  It was like a weight had been taken off of my shoulders.

Fast forward to 2010.  A new year, new goals, and new outlook.

I CAN do anything, your body is capable of amazing things. My attitude changed.  I signed up for the DC Cherry Blossom 10 miler with a group of friends knowing that I couldn’t back out with all of them right beside me.  While training for the 10 miler I was injured twice. I sprained my knee over New Years after a skiing accident and couldn’t run for a month.  A few months later I had somehow hurt my tendon in my foot and couldn’t run for 3 weeks.  The thought of using it as an excuse that I wouldn’t be able to run came across my mind and I quickly shoved it away.

Sometimes we are scared of what we are actually capable of.  We are scared to succeed because there is that slight possibility of us failing.  We don’t push ourselves to the limits, we go to where we are comfortable and leave it there.

I finished the Cherry blossom 10 miler. The furthest i’ve ever run, a distance I never would have thought was attainable.

I’m signed up for the Baltimore 10 miler in June.

I’m signing up for the Philadelphia Rock n Roll Half Marathon Sept 19, and I’m going to reach my goal.

Choose what you want to do, and don’t stop until you get there. You are amazing beyond your wildest dreams.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 7:31 am

    So neat to read your running story! You will rock out the Philly half (literally). It sounds like a fun one to run. I’ve always wanted to do one of the rock and roll series. I think I’m taking a training break until the fall, though. I just don’t train well when it starts getting warm.

  2. April 27, 2010 7:34 am

    You are awesome, gal! You can do it! 🙂

  3. April 27, 2010 7:58 am

    You can do it!! Good luck!

  4. April 27, 2010 8:00 am

    That is awesome! And believe me – I know what you’re feeling.

    My old roomie and I were chatting about doing a half marathon (she’s never done one… and I guess technically I haven’t run one either) in California.

  5. April 27, 2010 8:07 am

    I’m thinking of signing up for the Rock N’ Roll half here in Virginia Beach (also in September) but like you I’m really scared and don’t consider myself a runner. I am also planning on doing a sprint Triathlon in July and am focusing on that. I think it might be better for me to do little triathlons than focus so much on running. We’ll see.

  6. April 27, 2010 8:18 am

    I can DEFINITELY identify with you here. Although I haven’t injured myself, I know before my last race I was wishing I had. I hadn’t trained properly and found myself slowing down to a walk after I was around the first bend and out of sight of my family. Races are so fun but also SO intimidating at the same time. I am really proud you are signing up for the Philly Half. It’s a BEAUTIFUL course. This weekend you will be so inspired, too! I know I was last year – I was in tears at some points watching the runners. Can’t wait to see you!

  7. April 27, 2010 8:42 am

    That is so exciting – you are going to do great, girl! I love setting new goals. With something like running, it’s so motivating to do races and new distances or challenges.

  8. April 27, 2010 9:02 am

    Didn’t know Philly had a rock & roll half marathon! That is awesome and you are going to do great.

  9. April 27, 2010 9:48 am

    Great post, girly! You inspire me to run further and further – keep it up! We can do it!

  10. April 27, 2010 9:57 am

    LOVE this!! You are amazing!!!

  11. April 27, 2010 11:02 am

    yay!! That’s awesome!!! I’m so happy you signed up for that and are going to challenge yourself beyond anything you’ve ever done! If you can run 10, you can run 13 🙂 I’m running my 1st half mary next month and I’m scurrrred too but I’m also excited. We should do a long run together sometime? (I’m running the Baltimore 10 miler too)

  12. April 27, 2010 11:31 am

    You said it girl! We CAN do anything. I never, ever believed I could actually run 13.1 miles (truth be told I didn’t believe it until I crossed the finish line) but now I know that I can do anything I set my mind to and more! It’s so freeing.

    You’re going to totally smash both races!

  13. April 27, 2010 11:53 am

    I just read your post and completely related! Last weekend, I signed up for my first half marathon. I am by no means a runner, and have not completed any raced beyond a couple of sporadic 5ks, but I felt like I needed a goal, something to work toard. I am scared sh!tless, but I think it will be the fear of failure that pushes me through. Like you said, “Sometimes we are scared of what we are actually capable of. We are scared to succeed because there is that slight possibility of us failing. We don’t push ourselves to the limits, we go to where we are comfortable and leave it there.” That really resonates with me.

    This is a great post, and really motivating!

  14. April 27, 2010 12:02 pm

    Awesome! If you can run 10, you most certainly can run 13.

  15. April 27, 2010 12:18 pm

    You got it girl! The power of goal setting is amazing! Love the positive outlook!

  16. April 27, 2010 12:42 pm

    Great posts, similar feelings have held me back in the past but with more confidence I have been able to run farther distances and am ready to sign up for a half marathon!

  17. April 27, 2010 1:57 pm

    Woo hoo! You’re a running machine, Ash! I am so inspired by you. I am going to start running again today. Like, right after I type this comment. I can’t run as far as I once could…maybe only 2 miles at a time right now. But I know that’s OK because I’ll build up my endurance, and maybe one day run further than I ever thought possible!

  18. April 29, 2010 12:32 pm

    Fantastic post! Very inspiring and just the words I needed to read this morning. I’m signed up for the RNR Half VA Beach this year…my first half!

  19. April 29, 2010 7:03 pm

    That’s fantastic! You will do wonderfully! Plus, if you can do a 10-miler, the last 3.1 mi added on for a half is just an itty bitty drop in the bucket.

  20. Molly permalink
    May 1, 2010 8:02 pm

    What a great post! Something I can definitely relate to – throughout my life, I have always been fairly athletic, but NEVER a runner. My boyfriend is a runner and triathlete and seeing him succeed in all the goals he makes for himself inspired me to start running. I took up running in August of 2009 and to say the least, it was a challenge. Everyday I dreaded running. I hated it. Mainly because I just hadn’t made any progress yet. So, I stuck with it for a good two months and began to see substantial improvement. Now, I absolutely love to run. I get antsy if a day goes by that I am unable to run. Since August have completed 4 5ks and my biggest accomplishment yet – the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler this past April! I was in the same boat as you – just never thought I could do it. But I did, and it felt so great. I’m sure you know the feeling 🙂 Unfortunately since the 10-miler I have been having a big problem with my knee while running – unbearable pain. I am signed up for the Maryland Half Marathon, which is in 3 short weeks and am debating whether the run it or not. I have never been a quitter, and would hate to have to opt out, but it seems like it may be the best thing for me, so as to not injure myself even more and never be able to run again. Anyways, sorry to ramble – your post just hit dead on with what I am going through. I am doing the Baltimore 10-miler as well, so I will see you there. And you will rock the Philly Half in September – good luck!!

Leave a Reply

