Skip to content

thunder & lightning

April 25, 2010

This weekend was another relaxing one. Saturday was spent at the Buzz Brigade training. After training I used up a gift certificate for a massage. It was amazing. Really makes me want to do it more often. By the end of the massage when she told me it was over I wasn’t sure if I had fallen asleep or if I was awake. I had gone into that la la land and it was much needed.

My sister ended up coming back home for the weekend so I headed on down to spend some time with her.

This morning my mom made us breakfast. No one makes it like mom. She made some scrambled eggs, home fries, grilled tomatoes with toast on the side.

IMG_5817.JPG

We went shopping at BJs and I got some more veggies for my juicer. It’s crazy how quickly you go through produce but it really shows you how much you can up your intake of fresh veggies and fruit to your diet simply by juicing. When I came home I made up a carrot, celery, apple, cucumber juice. I really feel like they keep me satisfied throughout the day and give me an energy burst.

When I was snuggling on the couch I cuddled up with my cookbooks. I needed something to make for dinner and another recipe to use up some frozen bananas.

Apples for Jam by Tessa Kiros is quickly becoming my favorite. It is a beautiful cookbook full of pictures from the author’s family. It is sectioned off by color and has simple and delicious recipes. So far everything I have made has been incredible.

Tonight I went for the Penne with Shrimp and Tomato. I had to make some substitutions based on the ingredients I had on hand but it turned out perfectly. So flavorful. I wish I had penne pasta instead of regular spaghetti but you make do with what you have.

IMG_5823.JPG

As I approached the “brown” section of the book I came across a recipe for banana bread. No crazy ingredients, no substitutions, I followed the directions exactly and the outcome was the best banana bread i’ve ever made. So moist inside yet a crunchy crust and filled with chopped toasted walnuts. This recipe will be used time and time again.

IMG_5826.JPG

I can’t recommend the cookbook enough. I almost want to pull a Julie and Julia and go through each and every recipe in the book. It’s incredible.

201004252054.jpg201004252055.jpg

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies permalink
    April 25, 2010 8:44 pm

    Ohhh banana bread!! Yummmy! And there’s nothing like breakfast-by-mom. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. April 25, 2010 9:25 pm

    That banana bread looks amazing! Sounds like a wonderful way to spend a Sunday evening.

  3. April 25, 2010 9:26 pm

    Ooh, I love banana bread. I’m going to have to check that cookbook out.

  4. April 25, 2010 10:55 pm

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about that cookbook, and it sounds like something I’d really enjoy.

    It’s funny because I’m not a fan of bananas, but I love banana bread. So it’s that’s the best banana bread ever I might have to try it. Yet another reason to go out and buy the cookbook.

  5. April 26, 2010 7:00 am

    I LOVE veging on the couch reading cookbooks. It sounds so old ladyish, but I don’t care!! It seriously relaxes me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. April 26, 2010 7:07 am

    My b-day is in a few days and I am really hoping for a gift certificate for massages, fingers crossed ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. April 26, 2010 10:43 am

    I have Apples for Sam. I picked it up at Anthropologie a few years ago simply because of the colorful photography. Good to see you’re putting yours to use!!

  8. April 26, 2010 10:45 am

    oooh great pics – that pasta looks awesome! I know what you mean about cooking with “the wrong noodle” – i do it a lot! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Carolyn @ lovinlosing.com permalink
    April 26, 2010 11:07 am

    Banana Nut bread is the bomb! Maybe I need to make some soon! Mmmm…warmed up with a little butter on it.

  10. April 26, 2010 1:28 pm

    I love listening to and watching thunder and lightening storms! They relax me. I tried to stay up for them last night but was exhausted and fell asleep by 9:30! Btw, will you be playing fh summer league? I went to beach bash this weekend…and omg I cannot walk today! So sore!!

  11. April 26, 2010 3:28 pm

    I love making spinach smoothies… I buy giant bags of prewashed baby spinach and go through them sooo quickly when I’m in smoothie mode.

    Your banana bread looks delicious!

  12. April 26, 2010 5:41 pm

    Ooooh – I love banana bread!

  13. April 26, 2010 7:40 pm

    YAY for your amazing cooking skills!
    Delicious eats, girl ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Have an amazing night!
    Brazilian XOXOยดs,
    Gabriela

Leave a Reply

