Skip to content

i’m on a boat

April 23, 2010

Months ago I found an application online to become a Baltimore Buzz Brigade member. Not really having even the slightest clue what that even meant I filled out the application. Lots of answers on what I love to do in Baltimore, my favorite parts, what makes it unique, and how it holds a place near to my heart.

I had almost forgotten that I had filled it out when I got the email saying that I had been selected as one of the twenty to represent Baltimore.

I will soon be CTA certified. Oh I wasn’t sure what that meant at the time either. Certified Tourism Ambassador.  Sounds nice right? I’ll be taking the class this Saturday, taking the exam, then you can officially call me your tour guide.

Visit Baltimore has created this group of individuals to become the web’s resource to Baltimore.  When you travel places you look online for reviews on where to go, what to eat, what to see.  More often than not you will take a peer’s review rather than someone advertising their company. I always look on review sites before making a decision.

Each of the Buzz Brigade members will be able to attend different events in the city and blog, tweet, and upload pictures about it. We will be able to answer visitor’s questions on what’s happening that weekend or the best places to see on their trip. We will each have our own page on the Visit Baltimore site and be able to help people figure out how they can love their visit as much as possible.

The group of people in this program are amazing, fun, and excited.  We met last night on a yacht docked on the Inner Harbor for our kick off event.  We got to meet all the members, drink a few cocktails, eat some delicious food and learn more about what we are getting ourselves into.

The food was amazing, I had to try a little bit of everything!

Ahi Tuna apps

soft shell crab sushi

fajita bar

eggplant, mozzerella, roasted red pepper, and zucchini stacks

salad bar with eggs in a hole (bullseyes)

amazing berger cookie desserts

my plate 🙂

heaven in a cup

Remember that baltimore bomb pie made from berger cookies? welp, this is a berger cookie in chocolate mousse. ahhh

fellow buzz brigaders

Such an exciting new adventure and a way to get myself out meeting new people, making new relationships, new friends, and fun experiences.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Cara permalink
    April 23, 2010 6:58 am

    What a fun new gig! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  2. April 23, 2010 6:58 am

    I definitely need to come back and tour! How cool is that??! And what in the world is that chocolately delicousness? It looks insane.

  3. April 23, 2010 6:58 am

    That sounds like so much fun! 🙂
    And the food looks delicious 😉

  4. April 23, 2010 7:09 am

    How fun! I’m sure you’ll meet some pretty interesting people. Plus you get to eat great food -yeah!

  5. April 23, 2010 7:16 am

    Keep having fun with your new undertaking. Wow, your dessert does look like heaven in a cup. What exactly would it be?

    • April 23, 2010 10:50 am

      chocolate mousse with a berger cookie and a chocolate stick! a berger cookie is a baltimore cookie that is a buttery vanilla soft cookie underneath with a thick layer of FUDGE on top 🙂

  6. April 23, 2010 7:27 am

    Congrats on being a Buzz Brigade member! Sounds like a perfect job for a food blogger. If I’m ever in Baltimore, I’ll be sure to ask you for suggestions. 🙂

  7. April 23, 2010 7:27 am

    That’s awesome! That sounds like such a fun thing to do.

  8. April 23, 2010 7:44 am

    OMG all of the food looks so good! what a fun time!!

  9. April 23, 2010 8:21 am

    Congrats on scoring the gig! And now I’m happy that a blog I read regularly will give me the scoop on things I might actually care about in Baltimore! 🙂

  10. April 23, 2010 8:40 am

    What an awesome opportunity! That dinner spread looks amazing as well.

  11. Jordan permalink
    April 23, 2010 9:23 am

    This is AWESOME! I must admit I’m a smidge jealous 😉 but I can’t wait to hear about everything you get to do. Congrats, I’m sure it’ll be a blast. And you know I’m there if you need a ‘research’ partner!

  12. April 23, 2010 10:02 am

    Congrats! Sounds like a great (and fun) gig!

  13. April 23, 2010 10:32 am

    Wow! That sounds like such a cool opportunity. Congrats!

  14. April 23, 2010 10:58 am

    No wayyy!! What a fun fun fun thing to be involved with!! I’m so excited to you!! i would TOTALLY apply for something like that if it were in Chicago. hahah Oh,except I won’t be living in Chicago much longer.

    I cant wait to see all the cool places and events you get to go to!!!!

  15. April 23, 2010 12:16 pm

    This sounds like to much fun!! Congrats. 🙂

  16. April 23, 2010 1:08 pm

    Congratulations, Ashley! This sounds like a blast! 🙂 I’ll have to check out your reviews of restaurants next time I’m in Baltimore!

  17. April 23, 2010 2:41 pm

    Congrats on being selected!
    Those desserts are so elegant!

  18. April 23, 2010 3:05 pm

    Umm, seriously – that food looks freaking amazing!! Congrats on being chosen!!

  19. April 23, 2010 4:02 pm

    What an amazing opportunity!

  20. April 23, 2010 6:12 pm

    Wow, that food looks sooo good 🙂 I bet you are super happy you have filled out that application!

  21. April 24, 2010 1:11 am

    That is SO cool!! Congrats that you got into the program thing. Isn’t that nice, when you fill something out a long time ago and then poof, surprise!! And a good one too.

    All the food looks sooo fresh. I love seafood so I’d be all over that ahi tuna. And what is that godly mousse looking cookie dessert? Hope you had fun!

  22. April 24, 2010 10:33 am

    What a great opportunity for you! I can’t wait to hear more about it. And that food all looks amazing, definitely a great perk to the job

  23. April 24, 2010 12:44 pm

    Wow that is so cool! Congrats on landing that opportunity!

  24. April 24, 2010 8:31 pm

    Wow!
    Congrats, girl!
    You´re so lucky 😉
    Terrific eats, by the way. Baltimore people know how to do it!
    Hahahahahahaha.
    Have a great Sunday!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  25. April 25, 2010 11:11 am

    wow, what a fun opportunity! I wish they had that kind of thing in CA! Or maybe they do and I just need to look for it!

    How exciting!

Leave a Reply

