Skip to content

Tofu and Shrimpies

April 22, 2010

I remember when I was younger my mom would make egg salad and we’d eat it on a slice of freshly toasted bread.  Mom always made it best and the tub of it would be gone before you could ask for more.  Somehow I never get around to hard boiling eggs. I’ve found an easy and delicious substitute for the classic egg salad that can practically be made in about 2 minutes flat.

You will need some firm/extra firm tofu and cut a block of however much you want.
Smash the tofu with a fork
Add a dollop of mayo, a heavy squirt of yellow mustard, some fresh cracked pepper and sea salt
Top your slices of toast with your tofu “egg” salad, and sprinkle some paprika, the finishing touch

This weekend I bought a bag of frozen peeled, deveined, tail on shrimp.  Having no idea what to make last night I consulted twitter and got so many ideas and responses. I wrote them all down and will be using them in the future since the bag is massive. Endless shrimp.

I really was in the mood for something spicy.

I made a batch of brown rice in my 5 c rice cooker. My mom bought me this rice cooker when I moved into my new apartment last September.  It is such a great appliance, and has different settings for different types of rice.  The long grain brown rice that I bought recently has a nice bite and chew to it.

I soaked a handful of shrimp in some water until they defrosted.  I gathered my ingredients. My own version of firecracker shrimp.

Sriracha sauce, sweet chili sauce, olive oil, and a clove of garlic.

I should have remembered that this was a single serving, because my hand went heavy on the sriracha.

I added all the ingredients into the bowl with the shrimp, mixed it together and let it sit in the fridge for about an hour to marinate.

I grilled them on a pan and served them with a side of sweet chili sauce ( from TJs, amazing. You need to find this ) and with the brown rice.

I love spice but this was no joke. There was so much sriracha that I could feel my nose and eyes burning. The flavor was delicious but the heat was unbearable.

I think next time i’ll add in MUCH less sriracha, much more sweet chili sauce.

Cooking is all about experimenting. Finding out what works, what doesn’t, new additions, new ideas. You won’t always create something amazing but that’s what’s so fun about it. Trial and error, and figuring out a recipe that you perfected and created. Have fun with what you are cooking, don’t worry too much about the specifics.  Add in things that you believe would enhance the flavors, take things out of recipes that you see no need for.  Experiment and enjoy your meals.

Bon Appetit

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 6:51 am

    I love that TJ’s sweet chili sauce! Only a week left until I see youuuu!!! 🙂

  2. April 22, 2010 7:29 am

    Ohh – I’ll have to look for that chili sauce – it sounds great!! I agree I tend go accidentally go a little squeeze-happy with the bottle of sriracha…woopsie. haha

  3. April 22, 2010 8:05 am

    I love your tofu salad sammie. It looks just like an egg salad sammie. 🙂

    Also, I used to thing rice cookers were kind of pointless because rice could easily be amde on the stove, but now that I have less time to sit and watch the rice cook I am really digging the leave it and forget philospohy behind a rice cooker. 🙂

  4. April 22, 2010 8:36 am

    I have an almost empty bottle of the TR Sweet Chili Sauce in my fridge! I like to dip potstickers in it! Ps. I want to try your version of tofu salad, I made some earlier in the month that was super bland and mushy from picking up the wrong type of tofu.

  5. April 22, 2010 10:02 am

    oooh those shrimpies look mucho fabulous! Love sweet chili sauce – favorite add-in to my fried rice!

  6. April 22, 2010 10:11 am

    I didn’t realize how much fun experimenting with new food recipes can be until I started reading blogs like yours. Sometimes it doesn’t work out quite right, but mixing it up sure does keep meals exciting and you never know when you will find a real winner!

  7. April 22, 2010 11:38 am

    Thanks for the reminder of how much I need to buy a rice cooker (I had an old one, but had to give it away b/c I don’t have enough space) and also how I need to try TJ’s sweet chili sauce. Love your simple, yet tasty and healthy, recipe. YUM!

    BTW, is the color of your granite counter tops “uba tuba”? That’s what I have! But, I know it’s quite common 🙂

    Hope you are having a good one!

  8. April 22, 2010 6:22 pm

    I like your version of egg salad. Looks much faster and easier than using eggs, and you still get a complete protein source!

    I just discovered a love for sweet chili sauce after using it for kim bap this week. Now I’m completely addicted to the stuff.

  9. April 22, 2010 6:40 pm

    Girl you are so right about cooking is all about having fun in the kitchen and trying new things no matter what the outcome will be. That is how we all learn 🙂 Keep up the great work in the kitchen!!!

  10. April 22, 2010 8:34 pm

    #1…love the word shrimpies…I use it all the time, hehe
    #2…love your tofu egg salad sammie…it’s one of my fav’s to make
    #3…tanks for your comment today..love you too and miss you; hope to see you soon
    xoxoo
    Happy Earth Day
    xo
    Aims

Leave a Reply

