Skip to content

caught me by surprise

April 21, 2010

Ann Taylor had always been that store that I would only go to if my mom was shopping.  Nothing in the store appealed to me, and the only things I remember them having in stock were skirt suits, and they had a particularly large petite section.

How things have changed. Ann Taylor recruited a new designer Lisa Axelson and she has really turned things around. Sleek and elegant, the pieces are items that you will last.  I tend to look for items that can be used in multiple outfits and that outlast the trends. Timeless is the word i’m looking for.

To add to Ann Taylor’s new amazing collection, the sales are what keeps me buying. They always seem to have some type of sale going on. Extra 25% off sale items, 40% off everything in the store. You can get great deals on quality beautiful items.

I now have 2 pairs of the perfect pump. Nude and black they are perfect for any occasion, the ideal heel height, and believe it or not are actually comfortable.  Both bought for a good deal on sale.

The jewelery? I can’t even begin to explain how much I love each piece. The necklaces in particular always grab my attention.

Here are a few of the items that caught my attention recently.


Favorite stores to shop in? Any that you’ve recently come to love?

P.S. I bought the domain http://www.dailygoodsblog.com thanks to all of your advice! I still have to get the kinks out but i’m hoping to get it up and running by the end of the week fingers crossed. 🙂

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 8:52 am

    I love that dress and the navy shirt… wow, who knew?! I know Kelli (my co-blogger) has been going there for cute work clothes but I had no idea Ann Taylor was getting so stylish.

  2. April 21, 2010 8:57 am

    I’ve shopped at Ann Taylor and the Loft for many years. They really do have some great classic (but still modern) styles. Just wish AT wasn’t so expensive!

  3. Sarah W. permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:30 am

    AT is a little too pricey for my budget, so I prefer what Loft has to offer. Plus I feel like Loft is geared more toward my current work dress (business casual). When its time to put on more suits and such, I will probably have to suck it up and hit up AT. But for now, I LOVE everything Loft has to offer. Just wish I had endless $$ to spend!

    I’m with you on timeless.

    Slowly beefing up my wardrobe again, wearing things more age appropriate and getting rid of stuff that looks cheap, is worn out or doesn’t fit right 🙂 hooray for spring cleaning.

    here’s what I’ve snagged at Loft this season (my mom gave me birthday money that I’ve been slowly spending)

    http://www.anntaylorloft.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=25006&pCategoryId=3359&categoryId=1720&Ns=CATEGORY_SEQ_1720&loc=TN&N=1200003&defaultColor=Aluminum&defaultSizeType=Regular (shirt and shorts)

    http://www.anntaylorloft.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=24905&N=1200003&pCategoryId=3359&categoryId=1720&Ns=CATEGORY_SEQ_1720&Nty=1&No=30&loc=TN&defaultColor=Deep Blue&defaultSizeType=Regular (basic white cardigan)

    I also picked up a khaki jacket, a casual summer dress and a casual more for work dress.

    Plus a black shell sleeveless tank and a coral tank 🙂 and the floral shorts

    i love to pick up cardigans and jackets when they are on sale because you can really change an outfit and get more distance from items. I can wear the white cardigan and khaki jacket with anything for any look I desire.

    I TRY to wait until loft does a 30% off coupon/sale before I buyu things, but sometimes I can’t wait!

  4. April 21, 2010 10:24 am

    Yay for having your very own domain name, how exciting!

  5. April 21, 2010 10:52 am

    Believe it or not, I LOVE Ann Taylor and even more LOFT. I usually get most of my clothes there because they are professional and fun so I can wear them to work or like on weekends. Still a little mature for a 25 year old, but I find things that work. And they have great sales.

  6. April 21, 2010 11:37 am

    Congrats on your new domain name! I really think AT may be getting up there w/ J. Crew. 🙂 I also like Loft, which is a little more affordable.

  7. April 21, 2010 12:38 pm

    LOVE AT! I don’t have the figure for a lot of trendy, cheaper places (hellloooo…hips!) so I end up having to shop at more “mature” place which can be frustrating at time. AT is definitely pricey, though.

  8. April 21, 2010 1:44 pm

    I agree – Ann Taylor is reallllly good for accessories. I’ve always seen it as a more “mature” type place but they definitely can have some really cute pieces…especially dresses!

  9. April 21, 2010 3:42 pm

    It’s all so cute, I couldn’t pick just one thing to like the most 😀

    Yeah for buying your domain – good luck!

  10. April 21, 2010 4:37 pm

    Congrats on the domain purchase, I adore Ann Taylor. I really don’t branch out much from them, Banana Republic and J. Crew.

  11. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 21, 2010 4:42 pm

    i love ann taylor and am a huge fan of ann taylor loft too – glad you bought that domain =)

  12. April 21, 2010 5:15 pm

    I totally agree–Ann Taylor wasn’t really on my radar until recently. Such cute things!
    I really like White House-Black Market and Banana Republic:)

  13. April 21, 2010 9:54 pm

    Heyy girly! Just came across your blog and I absolutely love it! You now have a new follower!!

    xo

  14. April 21, 2010 10:22 pm

    I JUST picked up a few really cute summer tops there for serious markdowns…$35 for two.

  15. April 21, 2010 11:38 pm

    I have had similar thoughts about Ann Taylor & Ann Taylor Loft recently! I used to only go in when I needed “mature” outfits–but I love their stuff lately, especially the jewelry! Love the pieces you picked out–you have great taste 🙂

  16. April 22, 2010 7:14 pm

    Oooh I am liking the next to last outfit here – right up my alley with a low neckline and ruffles. And that necklace with the flowers – to DIE. I do peruse Ann Taylor Loft from time to time and I feel as if I have a dress from Ann Taylor? (It was a last minute wedding purchase) but I have to swoop through and check them out again!

Leave a Reply

