Skip to content

Grab a fork

April 20, 2010

Berger cookies and Baltimore go together like peas in a pod. If you’re ever in the area, you’ve got to pick up some of these delicious cookies. They are a thick buttery vanilla cookie topped with an equally thick layer of delicious fudge.

If you watch the Food Network you may have seen a local Baltimore company on the channel. Dangerously Delicious Pies, a pie shop that is a block away from my house.  They make homemade pies from scratch, both sweet and savory and have been on the Paula Deen show, just recently featured in Bobby Flay’s Throw Down, and i’m sure will get recognized just like Ace of Cakes, another Baltimore show.

On the show “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” (which i’m obsessed with by the way) Duff from Ace of Cakes explains his love for a certain pie.

The Baltimore Bomb.

“This pie has quickly climbed to a top selling position.  Created especially for Baltimore by one mean Dangerously Delicious Pie slinger, it’s loaded with Berger Cookies (a local specialty) that melt down and swirl into a sweet vanilla chess filling.  This pie could be the ultimate of decadence”

The pie was cold when we ate it, but i’m thinking if it was warmed up it would have been even better. I guess that means i’ll have to go back and ask for it heated. Nothing like berger cookies being melted into a pie.

They also opened up a location in DC. I love how small specialty bakeries are gaining popularity so quickly and really making a name for themselves.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 6:35 am

    Oh em gee. I’m moving.

  2. April 20, 2010 7:10 am

    OK, I know I keep making requests, but can you PLEEEASE bring one of these up here next week? I don’t know how I lived in Baltimore and never heard of one (??) let alone had one. I will repay you in laughter and pasta. xoxo

  3. Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies permalink
    April 20, 2010 7:13 am

    OMG….roadtrip!!!! haha

  4. April 20, 2010 7:16 am

    O my…. I need this asap. I have not had this Dangerously Delicious Pie, but their other pies are amazing!

  5. April 20, 2010 7:22 am

    hahah i so obsessed with the best thing i’ve ever ate- glad to know i’m not the only one!

    ps. love berger cookies

  6. April 20, 2010 7:22 am

    OH wow, that looks awesome.

  7. April 20, 2010 8:44 am

    Um, YUM? How awesome that the little shop has gotten so much clout? Those cookies – and the pie – look freaking amazing

  8. Megan permalink
    April 20, 2010 8:56 am

    Berger cookies are amazing!! I can’t even imagine what it would be like combined into a pie… ahh! I must go there NOW!

  9. Jacquie permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:19 am

    Ummm can we go there or can you bring me one and I’ll pay you back?!?!?! I heard that they have a location here but it’s kind of a hassle to get there without a car, but that looks delicious and I’ve been wanting to try his pies.

    Oh berger cookies…

  10. April 20, 2010 9:20 am

    Best. Sweets. Ever.

  11. April 20, 2010 11:24 am

    Berger cookies!!! I’m originally from Baltimore & I grew up with the owner of Berger’s sons. Small, small world! Last summer my Mom sent me a care package & I was so stoked to find Berger cookies in it. I miss them something fierce.

  12. fromatopink permalink
    April 20, 2010 3:36 pm

    That place IS dangerous! But so worth it. I have yet to try that pie, but it sounds too good not to – and I loooove Berger cookies. 🙂

  13. April 20, 2010 5:25 pm

    There is a Berger cookie pie?!?! I think I just gained 5 lbs thinking about it… can’t imagine the damage I’d do if I actually purchased one. 🙂

  14. April 21, 2010 10:08 pm

    Oh my gosh I LOVE Berger cookies and this looks AMAZZZZING. Maybe they could do a Berger cheesecake next…

  15. April 23, 2010 9:05 am

    Berger. Cookie. Pie. WTF. How did I not know this existed before?

    This is on my list of “to-eats” when I come home next. For sure.

Leave a Reply

