Skip to content

juicy weekend

April 19, 2010

What a relaxing weekend. I spent the weekend in Columbia at my parents house. Friday after work I scooped up Eden and drove down 95 en route to Columbia. My parents ordered take out from the local Afghan restaurant Maiwand Kabob. My favorite thing to eat when i’m home. We got a vegetarian platter, a chicken kabob platter, and some samosas appetizers with a yogurt sauce. Delicious every time. We ate out on the deck while the dogs played.

IMG_5768.JPG

IMG_5769.jpg

IMG_5770.JPG

Bailey’s still tiny compared to the Hershey and Eden but she’s getting bigger. She’s definitely not afraid to play with the big dogs and jumps right in the middle of them.

IMG_5775.JPG

Saturday morning I woke up bright and early and talked myself into going for a run. You know those days when you know that once you get outside and your feet moving it’l feel great, but that entire time leading up to that moment you have absolutely no motivation? That was Saturday morning for me. I told myself i’d run a loop around the neighborhood but ended up going for an extra mile and finished up 4 miles feeling good.

Once showered and changed I headed on over to the mall with my mom in time for the Macy’s one sale day. I have been wanting to get a juicer for a while now so I wanted to see the options. I ended up buying an unknown brand for a good price and once I went to the store and grabbed from fresh produced I rushed home to try it out. Of course I used my parents as taste testers too. I LOVED being able to combine different flavors and felt so good when I had finished drinking the fresh juice. I did come to realize that the quality wasn’t that great, you get what you pay for it always turns out. I have decided to go ahead and purchase the Breville Juice Fountain that is for sale online at Costco. Costco always gives you a good price for an excellent product and they have such a great customer satisfaction plan. If anything ever happens to your product you can always take it back for a refund, no questions asked.

My favorite combo so far (granted its been 2 days) has been

1 beet
2 carrots
1 celery stalk
1/2 cucumber
2 small apples or 1 regular sized apple

IMG_5786.jpg

that is a powerful juice.

What flavor combos do you guys like? I’m a newbie at this, so all suggestions are welcomed!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 7:56 pm

    I have been contemplating a juicer, and wasn’t sure if I should for the big shebang. Good to know. Now I just have to convince my hubby that we need another kitchen appliance.

  2. April 19, 2010 8:04 pm

    1. Bailey is just so frickin cute. 2. The color of that juice is absolutely stunnning! and it sounds delicious.

  3. April 19, 2010 8:45 pm

    Bailey is so adorable!! πŸ™‚

  4. April 19, 2010 10:45 pm

    The Afghan food looks sooo good! I have been eyeing the Breville juicers too, they look like a decent product.

  5. April 20, 2010 5:26 pm

    Is Maiwand Kabob a chain? I think there is one near Arundel Mills.

    As for the juicer – I still need to get one. I love fresh juice. They’re just so expensive that I’m afraid to bite the bullet!

  6. April 20, 2010 6:23 pm

    I like carrot, apple, cucumber, spinach, ginger juice.

  7. April 21, 2010 6:29 pm

    Your dog is sooo cute and I’m super jealous of that amazing looking juice! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

