Skip to content

Crepes and Eggs

April 15, 2010

The other night when working the desk at the yoga studio I tried to figure out what to get for dinner. A crepes restaurant opened up in Federal Hill not too long ago called Rubens Crepes and Mexican food so I walked on down and picked #10.

A savory crepe with feta, spinach, pine nuts, mushrooms, mixed peppers and italian dressing.

IMG_5764.JPG

IMG_5765.JPG

They make everything right there in front of you with fresh ingredients and the crepe was out of this world. The prices were good as well. They have daily special crepes that are all $4 but the rest of the menu ranges from $6-$9. I have my eye on one of the sweet crepes. They have combinations like banana, peanut butter, chocolate syrup, marshmallow and other combinations like strawberry, blueberry, cinnamon and sugar. They also have the typical nutella and fruit combos which make my mouth water when I think of it. One of the sweet ones will be picked on my next visit. Not only do they serve crepes but they also have mexican food on the menu as well. Tacos, tamales, quesadillas and burritos everything is made in house and looks amazing. Great find and I hope they do well enough to stay around for a while!

Lately my kitchen has been pretty bare. I’m getting down to the last of my groceries and am in desperate need of some food shopping. Luckily I had a few ingredients that made up one of my favorite quick and easy meals. Eggs and tomatoes. Eggs with canned diced tomatoes, chopped garlic and basil topped off with goat cheese and a piece of buttered toast. This always hits the spot.

IMG_5767.JPG

This week i’ve let my legs rest with running. I’ve been to yoga once and have done the Core Fusion Body Sculpt dvd twice. I’m hoping to get a few runs in this weekend. I haven’t done Core Fusion in a while and I almost forgot how sore it really does make me. I’m hoping to incorporate it more often into my workout routine. I’m also planning on buying the arms and abs as well as the glutes and thighs dvd at some point. I truly believe that their workouts are effective and target your muscles in a completely different way than we’re used to.

So happy tomorrow is Friday. It’s been a long week and i’m ready for the weekend.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. lowandbhold permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:23 pm

    Wow those crepes look fantastic.

    I’m so happy tomorrow is Friday too, I think this has been the longest week ever!

  2. Liz Rockey permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:30 pm

    Mmm…the crepe looks delicious! I stopped in there a few weeks ago and just got some coffee, but my boyfriend got a fresh lemonade—which was amazing! Rubens really is a hidden gem. I’ll have to go back their and get their crepes or try some tacos!

    You might like Sofi’s Crepes, too if you haven’t been before: http://www.sofiscrepes.com/

  3. April 15, 2010 7:31 pm

    That crepe looks amazing! I love savory crepes!! People always think sweet…but oh, so many possibilities are out there!

  4. April 15, 2010 8:23 pm

    I have to go to yoga with you so you can teach me the ways!

  5. April 15, 2010 9:35 pm

    I freaking love crepes. Yum.

  6. April 15, 2010 10:24 pm

    Mmm, crepes!

  7. April 16, 2010 2:48 am

    That crepe looks amaaaaaaaazing.

  8. April 16, 2010 7:54 am

    Oh my gosh that looks absolutely divine!

  9. April 16, 2010 8:21 am

    Ruben’s Crepes AND Mexican food? What a rando combination…never would have thought that crepes and mexican go together…but YUM!!!! looks sooo yummy!

  10. April 16, 2010 10:00 am

    Eggs in Tomatoes is one of my favs too! Too me it looks better than the crepes, though that still looks delicious!

  11. April 16, 2010 10:00 am

    I’ve only had sweet crepes but I’m dying to try a savory version. Yours looks delicious! Glad to hear that you like Core Fusion – it sounds like a great buy!

  12. April 16, 2010 10:35 am

    I’ve been dying to try that place! A friend of mine ate there last weekend and had good things to say. Seeing another good review just solidifies my need to go there. 🙂

  13. April 16, 2010 12:35 pm

    Wow, that crepe looks sooooo good! Crepes and Mexican food, interesting combo for sure!

  14. April 16, 2010 2:30 pm

    Dang, both those meals look so good! I’ve been kind of obsessed with eggs lately, so perhaps I’ll try them with tomatoes like you did 🙂

  15. April 16, 2010 11:01 pm

    I can’t believe you met polan- so cool- love the photos/post you did.

    Anyway- to this post- eggs n canned tomatoes look bangin

    not as much as that scrumptious savory crepe – i mean seriously- that is one hella good pancake.

    😉 Happy Weekend!

  16. April 18, 2010 12:39 am

    I’ve never had real crepes before! I made “crepes” one time using egg whites (since I figure they barely have flavor) and I added nutella and bananas. It was danng good I must say 🙂

    The savory crepes looks good too. I love love love doughy things and that crepe shell looks nice and chewy to me!

  17. Jessie (your cuz) permalink
    April 18, 2010 1:06 pm

    Hey you!! Got your blog info from Mom (she wanted me to see Bailey)! Love the blog!! Love Bailey and Eden too of course!!

  18. April 19, 2010 9:05 am

    That crepe looks awesome! I think I might try making crepes this week – maybe I’ll try to make both sweet and savory!

    Hope you have a great day!

  19. April 19, 2010 12:45 pm

    i like dat boom boom POW

  20. April 19, 2010 1:26 pm

    I am definitely a savory person, and this crepe looks so so good. My bf loves crepe nutella, but I love all the savory combination’s. Spinach and feta? yes please!

  21. April 19, 2010 2:41 pm

    I’ve only had sweet crepes. I wonder how easy (or not easy) they are to make.

  22. April 19, 2010 6:00 pm

    My mouth just started to water! That looks AMAZING

Leave a Reply

