Skip to content

Post Swap – Stephanie’s Top 10 Foods

April 13, 2010

Thank you all SO much for your congrats on the race πŸ™‚ You sure know how to make me smile!

Today I have a special treat for you. Stephanie from 9 Weight Loss and I are doing a post swap. We are both listing our top 10 foods of the moment on each others blogs. Go visit her blog at www.9weightloss.com

Stephanie is a food therapist and is an amazing resource. Her food thoughts are right along with mine and I always love her posts. She’s trying to spread the word on holistic weight loss.

Everyone, welcome Stephanie and her top 10 foods!

1. Van’s Gluten Free Waffles.

I tend to be anti-grain in the morning. For me, scarfing carbs at breakfast means a setup for cravings for the rest of the day. But for some reason, Van’s waffles leave me full and happy, rather than fiending for sugar. I don’t think many of us are too good at digesting wheat, so I opt for the gluten free, which are just as tasty. I top them with coconut oil and organic maple syrup, and I always have them alongside some protein. Today it was two eggs scrambled with half a sausage, half a red pepper, and a few mushrooms. Yes, I like me a big breakfast.

2. Coconut Oil.

Ah, coconut. Anti-microbial, anti-fungal, and proven to raise your metabolism. Plus it tastes great. This oil is stable at high temperatures, so it’s good to cook with (vegetable and nut oils are more fragile and break down when heated, compromising their nutrition). Aside from being a staple for sautees, baked goods, and waffles,Β Β it’s also functioned as my moisturizer, deodorant (it works!) and lip balm. Take yourself to the tropics and drench your next stir fry in this delicious treat.

3. VEGA Whole Food Health Optimizer.

I work with women on their relationship to food – I’m a psychotherapist and holistic nutritionist. I’m the Boulder Chapter Leader of the Weston A. Price Foundation, an organization dedicated to reintroducing traditional, nutrient-dense foods to the mainstream diet. My favorite activity = brunch (yoga’s a close second). Translation? I love chewing. And I’m suspicious of “meal replacements”. But VEGA truly has it all. Plant-based proteins from brown rice, hemp, and yellow pea. 100% of your RDA of your vitamins and minerals. Chlorophyll, probiotic, maca, Omega 3. Sweetened with my beloved Stevia. And oh yeah – it tastes really good. What’s not to love? I blend it with – you guessed it – coconut milk, and use it as an on-the-go meal when I’m in a rush.

4. Eggs.

Eggs? How boring, you might be thinking. But I beg to differ. They are the perfect protein. Versatile as all get-out – scrambled, fried, hardboiled, poached, baked, or even raw. In fact, one of my favorite recipes involves brown rice pasta, olive oil, sea salt, pepper, garlic, wilted beet greens and a raw egg, all mixed together. You may be hesitating. And yes, food poisoning’s a scary thought! Here’s what I do: I love to get my eggs fresh from nearby farms where I can be sure the conditions are extremely sanitary – and humane. Indulging in some irregularly shaped, orange-yolked, and SUPER-nutritious farm eggs is also an awesome way to support your local food community.

5. The plants in my garden.

Speaking of conscious eating…what’s more local and organic than food from your own garden? Ok, ok, so it’s not blooming yet. In fact, as I write this, the ground is covered with snow (and the tiny starts in the garden with a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles blanket). Once the sun comes out full-time, we’ll be eating from our yard from late May till the first snow. We’ve got all the standards like lettuce, kale, chard, carrots and tomatoes…and I’m exploring some natives like jalapenos, chiles, Aztec spinach and pumpkins. Don’t have a garden? Get an herb box. Fresh basil in the summer is a non-negotiable!

6. Liver.

Wait for it…wait for it…EEEUUUU!!! Ok. How many of you have actually HAD liver? When it’s cooked well (and organic, of course!), it’s actually delicious. In fact, for most of our time on this planet, humans ate nurient-dense organ meat…and the liver is the most nutritious of all. Many cultures had a “sacred food” they’d give to pregnant women and children, and very often it was liver. Packed with protein, vitamin A and the B vitamins, it’s also a great source of minerals. Which is probably why it’s also known to be a good hangover cure. I don’t know that from experience or anything.

7. WishGarden Herbal Tinctures

These aren’t food, but you do put them in your mouth. WishGarden is, like me, out of Boulder, CO. They’re best known for their KickAss Immune, a powerful immune-booster. They also make remedies for respiratory conditions, digestive issues, hormone support, pregnancy, PMS, and perhaps the most popular, stress. I’ve sampled quite a few of their products and found them extremely effective. Sleepy Nights slows my mind down so I can get some shut-eye, and Deep Stress helps me deal with my taxes! My cupboard is bursting with their remedies. If you’re interested in natural approaches to health, do yourself a favor and try them out.

8. Blue Diamond Unsweetened Almond Milk.

I’ve been working intensely on my digestion for the past year, and it’s improving (if you want to know more about this process, visit me at www.9weightloss.com and we can discuss further). However, I still have a hard time doing much dairy. Almond milk is a staple in my fridge. I try to avoid sugar, so I make sure to get the unsweetened kind. Dripped into my tea, poured over my oats, or blended in the weirdest smoothies you’ve ever hear of (almond milk, red beans, avocado and Stevia, anyone?), it’s truly a lifesaver. I keep meaning to make my own but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

9. Stevia!

Hi, I’m Stephanie, and I’m a sugar addict in recovery. In fact, my own healing journey with food is what led me to shift my career towards helping others with the same issues. My sugar consumption is a shadow of what it used to be, but I still need sweet! Enter Stevia. My favorite sweetener. What would I do without you? Made from a South American plant, it’s the only sweetener that actually has the effect of stabilizing your blood sugar. It’s incredibly powerful, and a little goes a long way. Some say it has a slightly bitter taste. I usually suggest trying a flavored kind if that’s the case – my local health food store has vanilla and coconut.

10. Muir Glen Organic Tomatoes

All day long, I talk, read, blog and think about food. I get very fooded out. I’m generally good about planning ahead. But there are always those crazy busy days when it’s suddenly 6 pm and you’re staring at your cupboards thinking “what can I eat??”. For me, on those days, canned tomatoes are a life saver. A tried-and-true basis for a stew, they can handle the wilting odds and ends of your vegetable drawer: the last bits of chard, some elderly mushrooms. I’ve always got some kind of protein hanging around – smoked oysters, sausage, cheese – so I add that along with some herbs and garlic, and voila, instant sauce.

Stephanie Small received her BA from Yale University, her MSW from Smith College School for Social Work, and her Certificate in Nutrition Education from Bauman College of Holistic Nutrition and Culinary Arts. In 2008 she foundedwww.threesistersnutrition.com, a phone-based practice helping women create a positive relationship with food. She happily blogs on holistic approaches to weight loss, nutrition, recipes and food politics for www.9weightloss.com. Having spent so many years enslaved to sugar, she is committed to helping others find freedom through their food choices. She is also pro-fat and pro-carb.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 12:15 pm

    What a wonderful list! I’ll be sure to pop over to her site to check yours out. πŸ™‚ Would not have expected liver…but it does make sense. I’ve never tried it so I can’t say that I don’t like it…haha

  2. April 13, 2010 1:18 pm

    Great list! I’m not so sure about that almond milk smoothie, but I’ll take your word for it πŸ˜‰

  3. April 13, 2010 2:17 pm

    Does coconut oil alter the taste of the food you cook it in? I always cook my eggs in canola oil because I don’t like the taste of olives (from olive oil) that infuses in the egg when I use it since it’ isn’t strong enough to mask it out.

  4. April 13, 2010 2:34 pm

    your breakfast sounds super delicious! big breakfasts are awesome :). i love this list. i’m about to go check out your blog!

  5. April 13, 2010 5:13 pm

    All great choices! I am a huge fan of a lot of those products.

  6. April 14, 2010 2:35 am

    Hi all i want to express that i really like this blog, i just google and i found it..

    thanks

  7. April 14, 2010 10:03 am

    Hey Antonia – I am not a fan of canola oil, as it is usually pretty refined. Coconut oil does change the taste of your food a bit. I like the taste but some may not! May I suggest butter for your sauteeing needs? Like coconut oil, it’s stable at high temps, and a wonderful and satiating fat source. Just don’t forget to do organic πŸ˜‰
    Everyone else – thank you for your kind comments!
    And Ashley – thanks again for the opportunity to post! Hope you had fun w/ Michael Pollan.

  8. April 14, 2010 10:21 am

    Loving the list. How do you like almond milk in comparison to soy milk. I love soy but have never tried almond.

  9. yoda permalink
    April 17, 2010 1:52 am

    It’s nice to see stevia on your list! I use SweetLeaf brand of stevia for pretty much whatever I want to sweeten ( I do like honey on my bread with my smart balance spread).

Leave a Reply

