Skip to content

10 miler recap

April 12, 2010

I feel like when it’s my friends and I going to something planned, craziness has to happen at some point.

Saturday night was a big sleepover at my house before the big race. I woke up early and made us all oatmeal and some chia fresca to fuel us for our run. I also realized that my ipod wasn’t connecting to my computer, so no ipod and playlist for me. We ended up leaving a little later than planned and I was zooming on 95 to try and get us there in time.

Somehow we managed to miss every metro as they passed us right as we walked up to the platform. This probably added on another 15-20 minutes onto our lateness. By the time we got off the Smithsonian stop we ran the quarter mile till we reached the race location. We ALL had to use the porta pots before the race began so we rushed over and each went in. While we were in there we heard the man on the loudspeaker say ” YOU HAVE ONE MINUTE TO GET PAST THE STARTING LINE OR WE SEAL OFF THE COURSE AND YOU CAN NOT RUN. PEOPLE IN THE PORTA POTS, YOU BETTER HURRY!”

We zoomed out as quick as we could then started running towards the start. For some reason it ended up being way further than we thought. The announcer says “20 SECONDS TO CROSS OR YOU CAN NOT RUN”

We sprinted as fast as we could and passed the starting line with less than 10 seconds to go. Probably not the most ideal way to start off your 10 mile run.

Already winded and still caught off guard, we realized we had started at the VERY end with the last wave of runners. We couldn’t get through anyone hardly and were trying to dodge through people but couldn’t since it was so packed. The entire time during the run and it was packed the whole way.

The miles seemed to go by pretty quickly in the beginning, and the scenery was so pretty even though all the cherry blossoms had already died. No blossoms to be found at all! By mile 5 I knew I was halfway through and was going to finish this 10 miles. By mile 7 I knew I had about a 5k left. 8 miles, and 2 miles were all I had to push through. 9 miles, the furthest i’ve ever run and 10 mile mark was only slightly beyond my reach. My legs felt heavy but with a quarter mile left I picked it up and pushed through the finish line feeling so happy it was beyond words.

I was the girl during field hockey who would dread every single run on the weekend. The girl who never thought a 5k was possible, that 3 miles would very well kill me. The girl who was inspired by all the runners and signed up to run a half marathon last year and was sidelined and discouraged due to my hamstring.

The girl who decided that she wanted to complete this 10 mile run and finished it proud. You really can do anything you put your mind to. You just need to decide what your goals are and know that you will do anything to get there. You can push yourself beyond what you ever thought possible, and finish feeling triumphant.

I did it, and I’m proud of myself πŸ™‚

DC Cherry Blossom 10 miler finished in : 1:45:06

IMG_5733.JPG

IMG_5735.jpg

IMG_5736.jpg

IMG_5737.jpg

IMG_5739.jpg

IMG_5747.jpg

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Cara permalink
    April 12, 2010 11:55 am

    CONGRATULATIONS! Seriously, awesome job. I know how you feel being a new-ish runner also, and bet you were just beaming all day! Have a good week!

  2. April 12, 2010 11:59 am

    Yay ASHLEY! A PR is always a huge high, especially during a race! πŸ˜€

  3. April 12, 2010 12:08 pm

    I really wanted to run the Cherry Blossom! We went into the city to check out the blossoms on Saturday and were also really disappointed to see all of them had fallen off! It looks like you had fun even without the blossom around. Great job on reaching a new PR!

  4. April 12, 2010 12:28 pm

    Congrats to you girl!!!!!!!! That is awesome!! πŸ™‚

  5. lowandbhold permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:38 pm

    Yay!! I’m so proud of you girl! Sorry about the hectic start, but AWESOME job pounding out the 10 miles!

  6. April 12, 2010 12:59 pm

    Oooh – I hate when I run late for a race (and of course when you’re running late, you have to pee).

    Congrats on the run, though! it is an amazing feeling to complete a distance you’ve never run before.

  7. April 12, 2010 1:09 pm

    Congrats!!! That is awesome and what a stressful race start!

  8. April 12, 2010 1:26 pm

    Congrats on the 10 miler! You did awesome despite a hectic start! I don’t know how you did it, I’m one of those people that needs tons of time before hand to relax and get mentally prepared for a race!

  9. April 12, 2010 2:00 pm

    Great job lady! What a fun race, especially with all your friends πŸ™‚

  10. Meg Pow permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:00 pm

    HI πŸ™‚ Congrats on your run! I had so much fun! πŸ™‚ I’m dead today

  11. April 12, 2010 2:04 pm

    What a story! Can’t believe you had to sprint to the START line! There’s a way to begin a race!

    CONGRATS, girl! I am so proud of you. I feel like I’ve followed your running journey for the last year or so, and these pictures and the story made me so happy.

  12. April 12, 2010 2:10 pm

    Congratulations!!!! Esp with such a hectic start! I bet it got your adrenaline pumping though!

  13. Megan permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:13 pm

    Congrats on an awesome race!!! The weather was perfect for a race this weekend… and it looks like you guys had SO MUCH FUN!

  14. April 12, 2010 2:15 pm

    Yay, girl – congratulations!!! You all look so happy in the pictures, and what a gorgeous day!

  15. *Andrea* permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:16 pm

    congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. April 12, 2010 4:18 pm

    you are a hero!

  17. snackface permalink
    April 12, 2010 4:43 pm

    AHHH!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!! You’s a beast!! This post has made me realize two things. One: I could not be a runner. Two: I miss you.

  18. April 12, 2010 4:56 pm

    Congrats girl!! Your amazing!!

  19. April 12, 2010 6:49 pm

    that is so impressive, i wish i had your will power! awesome job!

  20. April 12, 2010 8:02 pm

    Congrats on the run!!!

  21. abbynormally permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:20 pm

    Awesome race even with a less than awesome start! Looks like you had fun too, which is the most important!

  22. April 12, 2010 9:05 pm

    Aw Ash, this post just warmed my heart. I love reading encouraging HAPPY stories, and love them even more when they come from lovely people who deserve to feel great and be great. Isn’t the human body amazing? I think it’s absolutely mind boggling to push yourself from someone who can’t to someone who can. Like the famous Nike ad, “And you will tell them YES.” The way you pushed through the hectic start and crowded route is admirable – and you kept it up the whole way! You are ready for a half marathon now!! πŸ™‚ So glad to read good news…now hurry up next three weeks!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  23. April 12, 2010 9:21 pm

    MANY congratulations! Love all of the celebratory pics out at the mall – such a beautiful space! Can’t believe the crazy start to your race but you sure pulled it out girl – i’m so happy for you and so glad you ended up having a great race – AND that you made it on time!

  24. April 12, 2010 11:15 pm

    Congrats on the run girl! I’m so proud of you! πŸ˜€ You look adorable btw.

  25. April 13, 2010 6:27 am

    Congrats on finishing your 10 miler strong! That’s such a huge accomplishment, and you should be super proud of yourself. Maybe a half marathon next?! πŸ™‚

    • April 13, 2010 8:17 am

      I’m thinking the rock n roll philly half! you should join! πŸ™‚

  26. April 13, 2010 8:13 am

    Sorry about all the craziness getting to your race but a big congrats on the result! Your post is very inspirational, thanks!

  27. April 13, 2010 10:14 am

    congrats on the run beautiful!!! sorry for the crappy start, but you finished with a great time!!!

  28. April 13, 2010 11:08 am

    Oh man – I can definitely imagine how panicked you all must have felt crossing that starting line! glad you made it and congrats!!!

  29. Jordan permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:55 am

    Crazy start to your race! BIG congrats for gettin it done out there! and great time! Looks like you all had a blast!

  30. April 13, 2010 12:17 pm

    Y E A H! Congrats. That is a funny story. I love how you had to sprint out of the Port A Potties…

  31. April 13, 2010 7:15 pm

    congratulations!!!! GREAT JOB! Now, when’s the half marathon?!?!! πŸ˜‰

  32. April 16, 2010 10:58 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    I am so proud of you especially with all the training issues from the past race sign-ups! HOORAY! You did so well and you should be very proud of yourself as I am sure you are. Way to Go Ashley!

    ( p.s I mean every word but it does feel kinda weird writing a “normal” comment instead of my usual random’s)

    Peace Out Wha Wha

    Ima Be Ima Be.. Ima Be Ima BE Puttin it on da blog, rockin like dis my job
    πŸ˜€ ahh much better

Leave a Reply

