Skip to content

Chia, The Mighty Seed

April 8, 2010
tags:

I will admit that I tend to like to follow the latest healthy trend. When I hear something is good for you, tastes great, makes you have more energy, etc… i’ll search it out at the health food store to try it myself.

Chia seeds are a great example of this. I remember hearing about chia seeds via different blogs a while ago. Hearing they were a great source of nutrition, and often hearing it compared to the flax seed. They could be made into puddings, they turned into a gel like substance when immersed in liquids. I was intrigued. I searched high and low until I finally found the mighty seed.

I wasn’t too sure what to do with them once they were in my possession. I had seen people put them into their oats, I tried that out. I saw bloggers add them to their green smoothies, I tried that too. Knowing they were “good” for me, but not knowing much at all about them.

Recently I purchased the book Born to Run and chia seeds were mentioned. They went a little into the history of the seed and what they were used for. They mentioned making chia fresca. I wanted to learn more. I began researching and found out some amazing information that I thought you might want to know as well. Here’s a look a little deeper into the chia seed.

chia.jpg

Chia seeds come from a desert plant called Salivia Hispanica. They were a main part of the Aztec and Mayan diet. They believed that 1 tbsp could sustain a person for an entire 24 hours.

Adding 2 tbsp of chia seeds to your daily diet adds in a huge nutritional punch.

7 g dietary fiber
4 g protein
205 mg calcium
lots and lots of vitamins and minerals
5.2 g Omega 3’s
1.7 g Omega 6

That’s 5x more Omega 3 than supplements and 8x more than salmon.

If you are vegetarian or vegan this is a great option for you.

Chia seeds are richer in Omega 3’s and antioxidants than flax seeds. Unlike the flax seed they don’t deteriorate and can be stored for several years without ever going rancid. They do not need to be ground for the nutrients to be released into the body. I love flax seeds and believe they are a great addition to your diet, but chia seeds are an excellent option to pursue as well.

Another advantage of the chia seed is when added to water and allowed to sit the seeds form a gel. This also takes place in your stomach which slows the process where digestive enzymes break down carbs and turn them into sugar.

Well how do these little seeds taste? They have an extremely mild flavor, some find it nutty. I don’t really taste anything but a crunch. Since they have practically no flavor they can be added to almost anything. You can make chia fresca, add it to yogurt mixes, put some in your cereal, add it to oats, add to baked goods. I personally love adding it to pancake batter.

Chia Highlights

  • Nutrient dense
  • Can soak up to ten times its weight in water, helps you stay hydrated longer and retain electrolytes
  • Easily digestible
  • Enhance endurance, great to have before sports/exercising
  • Gives you energy
  • Gluten free
  • Healthy skin, hair and nails. They are more than 60% essential fatty acids
  • Low glycemic index

These really are tiny, mighty seeds. Even Dr Oz and Dr Weil think so

  

Hope you enjoyed this healthy dose of info!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 9:58 pm

    Thanks for the information. I was debating on picking some up next trip to the local health food store but I wasn’t sure. This has convinced me!

  2. April 8, 2010 10:20 pm

    YAY for chia seeds!
    Thanks for sharing all that information, girl!
    😀
    Have a terrific Friday!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  3. April 9, 2010 2:49 am

    Very interesting! I also bought some chia seeds a while ago and yeah, I don’t really know what to do with them sometimes. Thanks for the suggestions!

  4. April 9, 2010 5:42 am

    I love me some chia’s!

  5. Jil permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:08 am

    Love this – though I’ve seen chia’s pretty much everywhere in the blogosphere – gotta admit didn’t know that much bout ’em!

  6. charmcitykim permalink
    April 9, 2010 8:11 am

    Can you buy chia seeds at Whole Foods?

    • April 9, 2010 8:17 am

      I haven’t seen them there 😦 they have them at davids natural market in Columbia. I bought them online through chia seeds direct. If you want to try some I can give you some to see what you think!

      Ashley

  7. April 9, 2010 11:11 am

    OK, I’m sorry but these just look like little driveway rocks to me. I can’t bring myself to buy them! Perhaps yours can make the trip with you in a few weeks? I am just scared to try something I might not like and waste the moolah on it! That’s what friends are for!! xoxo

  8. April 9, 2010 12:15 pm

    Where can I find these seeds?? I’m guessing they won’t be at my local Kroger…where do you get yours?

    • April 9, 2010 12:19 pm

      I got mine online at chiaseedsdirect.com. They are much less expensive this way, because when I found them at my local health food store they were so pricey for such a small amount. If you aren’t sure if you would like them or not, i’d look to buy them at your local health food store first so you don’t have to buy too much in case you aren’t fond of them. Chiaseedsdirect was great though!

  9. April 9, 2010 1:12 pm

    I love adding chia seeds to everything. I don’t really notice a taste in them either, just a crunch!

  10. April 9, 2010 4:18 pm

    Chia – it’s more than just an 80s gimmick. 😉 It is a super super food. I love that it’s a native too. We have a blog post on it from a while back…
    9 weight loss

  11. April 9, 2010 5:03 pm

    Great info–guess I need to dig out my canister of chia!

  12. April 10, 2010 8:50 am

    For more information about chia seeds, and some recipe ideas, check out my website: http://www.chiativity.org

  13. May 19, 2010 10:01 am

    You can buy Chia Seeds of High Quality in
    Chia Seeds

    Chia, Seeds, Pure, Mayans, Energy, Healthy, Life

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

