Skip to content

Thai for all

April 2, 2010

HAPPY FRIDAY!!! Couldn’t ask for better weather to ease into the weekend. I know lots of you have off today, lucky ducks. I’m working but after work i’m off to NY. Gives me something to look forward to at the end of the day!

Yesterday was ridiculously gorgeous and in the morning I packed my gym bag so I could sneak in a run during my lunch break. I ran around the harbor and back and couldn’t have been happier. Last year I ran  a lot during my lunch breaks so this was my first lunch run of 2010 and will be the first of many more.

When I got back from my run I had an Amy’s burrito with my little sides of sour cream and salsa. I hadn’t bought any Amy’s products in a while and they really are perfect for when you are strapped for time. I need to buy some of her veggie pizzas, they’re my favorite.

notice my nork? haha, I got this in the goodie bag at the Foodbuzz Festival. A knife on the side of a fork. Couldn’t get any more convenient. I keep it at work so I don’t have to re-use plastic ware.

After work I met up with my mom and we took Eden to the dog park for a little bit before we headed off to the hair salon. My stylist ended up putting a lot more layers in my hair and cutting my angles in front of my face shorter than i’ve gotten before so that will take some getting used to. My mom’s hair ended up looking FABulous though! She looked amazing walking out of that salon.

I did end up buying a small bottle of this Moroccan Oil. Any  one use this? I’ve heard amazing things and had it put in my hair yesterday and my hair feels so silky and smooth.

After our cuts we headed over to a small local Thai spot by my house that is always busy and packed to the brim. Thai Arroy is amazing and i’ve gotten takeout a few times but never sat for dinner. We were lucky enough to snag a table as soon as we walked in.

We ordered some appetizers, some spring rolls and some tofu that came along with crushed peanuts in a sweet chili sauce. I stuck to the tofu, but they weren’t greasy at all!

and for the main course? Tofu pad thai!! For all the times i’ve  been to a Thai restaurant, i’ve only ordered pad thai. I tend to find things I like and stick with them. I debated back and forth about ordering the red curry but of course by the time the waitress came I quickly resorted to my favorite dish. It did not disappoint, and i’m happy because now I have the leftovers for lunch today.

What about you? When you go out to eat at restaurants do you tend to always order the same thing? Or do you like switching it up?

I tend to be a creature of habit and when I find something I love I stick with it. Not all the time, but a good amount.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 6:36 am

    Sometimes if I really love a dish, its hard to order other things! For instance, I LOVE pad thai so much, that I can rarely order anything else when we eat Thai!

  2. Jil permalink
    April 2, 2010 6:39 am

    Ohh, your eats look amazing – and I agree…lucky ducks who have today off!! I wish I could!! Sadness…esp cuz it will be b-e-a-uuutiful! Stuck inside at a desk…nooo thank you! That hair oil sounds divine. I think my hair needs a little spring pick me up after winter.

  3. Jordan permalink
    April 2, 2010 7:06 am

    Sounds like a wonderful day! I bet your hair looks great and I have heard great things about that oil too. So happy you got a seat at Thai Arroy, their drunken noodles are really good too. Have a safe trip to NY and a wonderful weekend!!!

  4. April 2, 2010 7:57 am

    I tend to stick to the same dishes too. Once I find something I like, I stick to it. I need to be more adventurous but eating out is such a treat I don’t want to ruin it with a bad meal, ya know?

  5. Sarah permalink
    April 2, 2010 8:02 am

    I love Moroccan oil! I have been using it for a year and still have some left from the bottle that I first purchased. I was wondering if you ever got that “boyfriend” blazer from Khol’s? I have been looking for one and wanted to know if you liked it!

    I always order salmon when I go out to dinner. I can’t help myself 🙂

    Have a great day!

    -Sarah-

  6. April 2, 2010 8:25 am

    Mmmm…Pad Thai!! I don’t get Thai often, luckily I’ve found a pretty good frozen version.

  7. lilybeans permalink
    April 2, 2010 8:34 am

    I love that place! The curry is good, try it next time! I also love the sushi place next door. Glad you had a good time with your momma:)

  8. April 2, 2010 8:48 am

    You use your nork??? I keep meaning to – but having it in the office sounds like a good plan. Might be adopting that.

    I tend to be a creature of habit – I like what I like, ya know? Why risk potential disappointment?

    • April 2, 2010 8:51 am

      I keep the Nork in my drawer but yesterday was its first official use! Haha

      Ashley

  9. April 2, 2010 9:33 am

    I’m a huge fan of Moroccan Oil. Although I find it expensive. I just started using this Garnier product that makes my hair feel just as good as the Moroccan Oil.

  10. Katie permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:03 am

    LOVE Moroccan hair oil. I have fine hair and unlike a lot of other hair oils I’ve used, doesn’t weigh it down at all.

  11. April 2, 2010 10:48 am

    I’m totally a creature of habit. If it aint broke, don’t fix it, right? Although I’m sure I miss out on some great food with that philosophy!

  12. April 2, 2010 11:59 am

    im the same way in thai places! i love spring rolls and pad thai, never fails, never disappoints- you can’t go wrong : )
    i read about the moroccan oil, my hair has been crazy frizzy and dry lately, and i’ve been buying stuff and then returning it because it doesn’t work.. i wonder if that stuff would do it!

  13. April 2, 2010 3:15 pm

    Mmm I’ve never tried Amy’s burritos but have to make a note to do so! I use Moroccan Oil and sadly, it only works sometimes in my hair… I have very hard hair to please though! Glad you like it 🙂

  14. fromatopink permalink
    April 2, 2010 3:57 pm

    Mmm Thai Arroy is so delish. And dangerously close to my house… Uh oh.

  15. April 2, 2010 4:58 pm

    I agree-Amy’s products really are great for those days when you run out of time!
    That Tofu Pad Thai looks amazing!

  16. April 2, 2010 5:55 pm

    you’re coming to NY this weekend!?

  17. April 2, 2010 8:56 pm

    A lunch run sounds so fun. If you run during lunch, do you have time to take a shower or how do you do that?

    I love Thai food, and I always get pad thai. It’s good no matter what restaurant I eat at!

  18. April 3, 2010 11:02 am

    i also tend to be a creature of habit… when you know what love…why not stick to it? the worse is when you decide to switch and up and are disappointed. but every once in awhile its nice to do a switcharoo haha….i love amy burittos by the way!

  19. April 3, 2010 11:05 pm

    Ahhh another Moroccan Oil and Thai lover – there can only be, what, six of us in the whole world?!?

    I tried the oil back in January on a trip to your lovely state and bought a bottle about two weeks later. As I’m sure you know, a little goes a LONG way. It’s pretty groovy stuff, if you’re into that whole shiny, soft, good-smelling hair thing.

    So when you come up, you can leave your bottle at home! And then we’ll go to Thai Me Up in the South Side of Pittsburgh (yes, it’s real) and have everything on the menu EXCEPT lentil curry dip. Sa-weet!

  20. April 4, 2010 11:06 am

    I can’t really tell there’s knife of the side of the fork, but still think its an amazing idea!

    As for restaurants, I tend to always order the same thing. At least once I find something I love on a menu. Once I know its there, I find it hard to say no.

  21. April 4, 2010 4:35 pm

    Yuuuum – such delicious eats!
    I’ve never tried Thai food, but I’m pretty it tastes amazing 😉
    Have a great week, girl!
    Brazilian xoxo’s ,
    Gabriela

  22. April 4, 2010 9:57 pm

    Nork? Hehehe super silly! I have never had Thai food, but from the look of this post I am going to be having some ASAP! I deff still want Greek food! I have no time to treat myself 😦

  23. charmcitykim permalink
    April 5, 2010 8:05 am

    I am notorious for ordering the same thing.

    When my husband used to live in Fed Hill, we used to go to Thai Arroy. Now I want some tofu!

  24. April 6, 2010 5:07 pm

    What do you think of the Moroccan oil? I have heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

