Skip to content

cookie monster

April 1, 2010

Happy Thursday! The sun was shining bright this morning and couldn’t have put me in a better mood.

The warmer weather has been putting me in a lighter foods mood. I’m upping my salad intake and loving it. A simple spring time salad of lettuce, sliced button mushrooms, toasted walnuts, dried cranberries, and a sprinkle of parm alongside a vinaigrette that I came across on Ryan’s Foodbuzz dinner menu.

I also baked the other day. I was lucky enough to receive some Kodiak Cakes products to review and was ecstatic to dive into the boxes and try them out. I decided to make the oatmeal dark chocolate cookies. The only added ingredients needed to turn it into a delicious dough was butter and an egg. There was also a tip saying you could substitute 1/4 c. applesauce for half of the butter so I’d figure i’d try that out and see how they turned out.

They turned out to be perfectly chewy and had the right amount of sweetness to them. Of course I loved that they were absolutely filled with dark chocolate morsels and melted in my mouth. Next up! Brownie mix and pancake mix 🙂

A few weeks ago I walked into a local hair salon to buy some hair products. As I was checking out I noticed a jar with tickets next to the cash register. They were doing a raffle for complimentary haircuts, so I filled out tickets for my mom, my sister, and I and went on my way. Well I got a call that my mom and I had won so tonight we’re going in for our complimentary haircuts and I can’t wait! I’m in desperate need for a cut, so this came at a perfect time, plus it will be so fun to have a mom and daughter night. After we get out hair done we’re going to get dinner at a local Thai restaurant that is absolutely amazing. I’ve gotten takeout from Thai Arroy before and it’s been delicious so I can’t wait to have her try it out as well.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 6:51 am

    Yummy cookies! That is so cool about a free haircut! I never won anything like that before. In fact – I never won anything until giveaways on blogs…lol!

  2. April 1, 2010 7:09 am

    Love the cookies! That is so cool that you won the raffle. I never enter those at hair salons and restaurants because you never hear of people winning – I guess I need to start! I desperately need a hair cut too. Have fun on LI this weekend 🙂

  3. Jil permalink
    April 1, 2010 7:21 am

    Aww, yay for winning a raffle!! (and that added plus of your mom winning, too!!) There’s nothing like a haircut to just kind of put a fresh perspective on things for a minute. 🙂 Perfect for the change of seasons!

  4. April 1, 2010 7:48 am

    Free hair cut!?! Awesome. I love free stuff. LOVE. [well, who doesn’t?]

  5. April 1, 2010 8:50 am

    Yum! Those cookies look awesome. I have been wanting to try some Kodiak cakes for awhile now.

  6. lauren eliza m permalink
    April 1, 2010 10:14 am

    When I was probably about 11, I entered a raffle at a local hair salon for a huge basket of biolage hair products. I WON!

  7. April 1, 2010 10:38 am

    Those cookies look amazing!

    Enjoy your free haircut – I am also in desperate need of a haircut – I’m embarrassed to say the last haircut I got was in November!

  8. April 1, 2010 10:58 am

    That’s so exciting you won a free haircut!!! I never win anything lol. And what a fun thing to do with your mom. I’m so excited to move back to Massachusetts so I can be closer to my mom. Even though I’ll miss Baltimore fo suuuuure!! We need to meet before I move! Perhaps a run around the harbor sometime? Are you playing summer fh? And I think you’ll do great on the run 🙂 Your adrenaline and excitement will be pumping…and if you feel slow, just enjoy the cherry blossoms around you! I wish I was picked in the lottery to run this….so jealous hehe

  9. April 1, 2010 11:16 am

    Woohoo on free haircut. Lori got one the other day, and now I desperately need one! You are going to rock your race next weekend, you are in good shape that a little less running shouldn’t hurt you. ; ) Have a great weekend!

  10. April 1, 2010 11:17 am

    Have a great weekend with Chase’s family! I’m sure you’re going to rock the 10-miler 🙂 XO

  11. April 1, 2010 4:37 pm

    Great looking salad and cookies! Toasted walnuts (or any nut) are so good in salads (or anything). I love beets, too! I can’t believe both you and your mom won free haircuts! What a great way to have some mother/daughter bonding time. I hope you ladies have a blast! Can’t wait to see the new ‘do!

  12. April 4, 2010 2:29 pm

    I love Kodiak Cakes pancakes. I MUST try the cookies, YUM!

Leave a Reply

