Skip to content

Falafel time

March 26, 2010
tags:

The last time I went to Trader Joes I found their tzatziki sauce in their refrigerator section. Knowing that I had a box of falafel mix at home I threw it in the cart.


IMG_5639.jpg

I tried making falafels from scratch a few months ago but was completely unsuccessful. My blender wasn’t working with blending the ingredients correctly, I needed a food processor and that is a kitchen appliance I do not happen to own. The end result wasn’t too tasty, but rather too dry and crumbly. When I was at the grocery store a few weeks ago I spotted a box of falafel mix in the ethnic aisle. I checked out the ingredient list and was pleasantly surprised.

“Ground fava beans, ground chick peas, corn meal, flower, dehydrated onion, parsley, cracked wheat, baking powder, sodium bicarbonate (baking soda), salt, spices”


IMG_5630.JPG

Most times when I make falafel at home I try and bake them. They just don’t exactly hit the spot. My favorite it from a hole in the wall restaurant that gives you the best falafel you’ve ever tasted. Frying them would be the only way to satisfy my craving. If you’re going to have fried foods you might as well make them yourself! You mix water into the falafel mix and let everything sit for an hour. After the hour is up you’re ready to form the balls and throw it in the oil.


IMG_5633.JPG

After they were perfectly brown and crispy I laid them on a few paper towels on a plate and let some of the oil drain off.

IMG_5636.JPG

Add the tzatziki sauce on top and it’s like I had my own little Mediterranean tapas restaurant in my own home.


IMG_5638.JPG

Falafel craving?


Completely satisfied.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 5:02 pm

    My, what beautiful falafel! I will have to keep my eye out for that TJ’s tzatziki.

  2. March 26, 2010 5:29 pm

    oopah! these look great, you little greek goddess 🙂 *muah!*

  3. March 26, 2010 5:34 pm

    Looks Yummy! I have not had falafel in so long.

  4. March 26, 2010 5:56 pm

    Although I have never had falafels, I do love and often crave that tzaki sauce. Looks really delish.

  5. March 26, 2010 6:59 pm

    mmmmm…falafel..

  6. March 26, 2010 9:09 pm

    wowwww that looks amazing! I struggle finding good tzatziki i need to go to TJ’s in union square, i suppose!!
    xoxo
    s

  7. March 26, 2010 10:03 pm

    i saw you tweet about this! totally jealous and wish i could have stolen some from you. LOL.

  8. March 27, 2010 2:11 am

    “If you’re going to have fried foods you might as well make them yourself!”
    I never thought like that but so true!

    Your falafel looks delicious!

  9. March 27, 2010 9:39 am

    I was so disappointed when I asked them at TJ’s if they had falafel and the didn’t. 😦 That’s a great idea to check the ethnic aisle at the grocery store – I’m going to do that next time! Yours looks SO yummy.

  10. March 27, 2010 10:15 am

    i have a style crush on LC too and feel no shame.

    love these falafel !! totally looks like restaurant quality tapas- do you know it says “flower” instead of flour! haha.

    happy weekend love!

  11. March 27, 2010 10:56 am

    falafel + tzatziki is one of my favorite things. it looks like yours turned out beautifully.

    hope you have a great weekend!

  12. March 27, 2010 8:09 pm

    i love falafels too but i hate that they are fried. oh well…sometimes you just have to give into the goodness. at least you when you make them at home, they are pan fried, and not completely submerged in oil and deep-fried!

  13. March 28, 2010 12:19 am

    And now I have a falafel craving.

  14. March 28, 2010 3:02 pm

    OMG!
    I know they´re fried… But they look OH-SO-GOOD!
    😉
    Have a great week, girlie!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  15. March 28, 2010 4:33 pm

    I have never had a falafel before but I have ALWAYS wanted to try one! and I am really surprised/impressed with that ingredient list as well…very short and simple. glad they came out more to your liking this time! Also- check out my latest blog post-i finally ventured over to one of your favorite spots…and it did not let me down!

  16. March 28, 2010 5:33 pm

    Beautiful falafel! I had a falafel fail a couple weeks ago that I credit to trying to not fry them. I just don’t think you can make good non-fried falafel.

  17. March 29, 2010 7:16 am

    it’s 8:15 in the am and i’m now hungry for a falafel! i’ve never ventured to make them at home, but you’re encouraging!

  18. charmcitykim permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:49 am

    I love falafel!

  19. March 30, 2010 2:30 pm

    Dannng those falafel’s look so perfect! I’ve never had a good falafel, and as a result i don’t think I like them!!! They’ve always been dry and crusty to me, so I think i need to eat some of yours…topped with TJ’s sauce. I’ve seen those around and always wondered if they were tasty. 🙂 Now i know!!!

  20. March 30, 2010 8:07 pm

    I LOVE making falafel from a mix like this. I was pleasantly surprised the first time I made it out it just hit the spot. Mmm…it’s been a while…I might have to add that to the cart next time I hit TJ’s!

Leave a Reply

