Skip to content

wardrobe essentials

March 25, 2010

Spring is finally here. After a long and snowy winter it’s finally warmed up and the sun has come out of hiding. When spring comes around it always makes me eager to store away my winter turtlenecks and sweaters and bring out the light and breezy items. I always am ready to give my closet some new additions but what is most important is focusing on key pieces. Pieces that will last and not go out of style next season. They can be incorporated into several different outfits and give you a sense of sophistication.

Tim Gunn is my man. Love him on Project Runway, love him on his Guide to Style.  He knows style and he knows it well.

He has his Guide to Style checklist of 10 must have items to own.

1. Basic black dress – I bought a beautiful basic black dress at Ann Taylor a few months ago that had been marked down tremendously. I didn’t own a simple black dress and knew that it needed to be in my wardrobe. A classic cut and fabric it is the perfect addition. Not to mention the great deal. I’m slightly obsessed with Ann Taylor’s new lines of clothing. They have really upped their game and have some beautiful pieces.
2. Trench coat – I have been coveting a trench coat for a few years now. Never finding one that fit me perfectly, I was determined to wait it out until I eventually did. Last year I went to Jcrew and tried on their classic trench. It had just come to the store and was beautiful. Quite pricey, I decided to wait for a sale. I believe you can get anything you want at Jcrew eventually on sale. Thats when I buy. They had a promotion in the winter for 40% off of coats and jackets and thats when I snuck in and made the purchase. In a classic beige it is a piece that will be a long lasting item in my closet.
3. Classic dress pants – I have a good amount of dress pants for work so this one was already covered. It is difficult however for me to find a really good fit in dress pants. I am still on the search.
4. White shirt – a white button down shirt is a timeless piece that can dress up a simple pair of jeans and give yourself a little sophistication. When I see a nice crisp white shirt I love it.
5. Jeans – I do believe in investing in 2 pairs of good quality jeans. One you can wear with heels and one that you can wear with flats. My favorite pair of jeans I own are my dark denim Citizens of Humanity jeans in the straight leg Ava cut. By far the most versatile jean. I can wear them with flip flops, with heels, with boots. They’re amazing. In such a dark wash they are also a dressy jean.  I advise you to go to a nice store to try on the brand and see how they fit. I know my size in citizen of humanity, so I will buy them when they are highly discounted on sites like Ruelala and Hautelook. I bought this pair of jeans a few years ago and they still look brand new and keep their shape. A great investment.
6. Cashmere sweater – I currently do not own a cashmere sweater. Hopefully one day!
7. Skirt – An A line skirt is what is usually suggested. I am still in the search for a good A line skirt.
8. Day dress – A pretty day dress can put an extra spring in your step. It makes you feel feminine and beautiful and nothing beats that. I have been loving the large floral prints in style this season and also the ruffles.
9. Blazer – I have a style crush on Lauren Conrad. I love how she always looks so put together in a simple yet chic way. She has a collection at Kohls now that I’m simply obsessed with. I believe that every single piece right now is on sale. I have been searching for a cute boyfriend blazer and decided to make the jump for the LC collection blazer. I bought it in 2 different sizes because i’m not sure how they will fit so i’ll just return the one after it comes in. I’ll let you know how I like it! It was a steal at $39.99. I’ll take it 🙂
10. A comfortable alternative to the sweatsuit – Something relaxed yet still has some style. Must find this asap.

What is your favorite piece in your wardrobe that you can not live without?

Mine is definitely my Citizens of Humanity jeans. In love with the perfect fit.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 7:48 am

    I’ve heard great things about Lauren Conrad’s line at Kohl’s….I want to check it out!

    I am not a huge spender when it comes to clothes/shoes, but the ONE exception is jeans. I have a pair of Sevens and Hudsons that I LOVE. And they last forever!

  2. March 25, 2010 7:54 am

    I adore all things fashion! There are more than a few pieces that I couldn’t live without but my top 3 are leggings, boyfriend blazer and flowy tops. If you’re into fashion you should check out this blog: mode.feber.se.. It’s my go to fashion spot! Stockholm fashion is my favorite.

  3. March 25, 2010 8:00 am

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

  4. Ali mcdonough permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:05 am

    I need to go shopping so bad ash !! Maybe an outing when you come down to charleston ? 🙂 xoxo love u

  5. Jacquie permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:20 am

    Love this! My top thing is my 7 for All Mankind jeans. They may be a little pricey, but they fit my perfectly and so to me, they’re worth every penny 🙂

  6. March 25, 2010 8:21 am

    Blazer = my piece. I have a fun, relaxed yet slim fitting boyfriend blazer that i wear with EVERYTHING and always get compliments on 🙂 I also love scarves, i wear them in every season!
    xoxo
    S

  7. March 25, 2010 8:38 am

    I couldn’t live without my leggings and extra large rugby shirts!! How grown up of me.

  8. March 25, 2010 8:43 am

    thanks for the tip about Ann Taylor’s new line. i don’t usually shop there, but i am looking at the website right now, and they have some cute stuff!

    i bought a kaki trench a couple years ago at the Banana Republic outlet on sale. i didn’t realize how much i needed that coat until i got it. i was a great buy!

    jeans that fit right are the most important piece in my wardrobe since i were them almost everyday. i used to have some citizens (and loved them) but they got a bleach stain on them :(. i haven’t replaced them yet.

  9. March 25, 2010 9:19 am

    Look at you posting all the time! I love it!!! This was very helpful-I feel like I am so challenged in the fashion area. Can’t wait to see you soon!

  10. March 25, 2010 10:11 am

    I’m totally a day dress gal. I love sundress weather!

  11. March 25, 2010 10:16 am

    My wardrobe is pretty boring. I’d say my most versatile piece is my black turtleneck sweater. It’s the perfect canvas for scarves or chunky jewelry.

  12. March 25, 2010 10:22 am

    I love Tim Gunn and have tried to acquire all the items on the list.

    Right now my favorite pieces are my citizen jeans as well and my black boyfriend blazer. Love love.

  13. March 25, 2010 10:24 am

    I LURVE the LC line at Kohls.

    • March 25, 2010 10:27 am

      Do you own anything from it? I haven’t seen it in the kohls by my house. I want to try everything on !

      Ashley

  14. Jil permalink
    March 25, 2010 10:38 am

    Ahh, I have a style crush on Lauren Conrad, too. I love her look in the new Kohl’s commercials!!!

  15. March 25, 2010 10:58 am

    I love my little black dress too! Whenever I have an event, I don’t have to stress over not finding something in time. I can always fall back on my black dress!

  16. March 25, 2010 1:00 pm

    Great post! I love reading posts like this.. I need a lot of what you mentioned haha. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect ‘little black dress’ forever, can never seem to find it. I love Lauren Conrad’s style too!

  17. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 25, 2010 4:04 pm

    HE IS MY IDOL!!! & yes, i totally agree- a good pair of jeans & a black dress especially, they are my favorite. My genetic denim jeans fit so well, i love them!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  18. March 25, 2010 5:19 pm

    I love Tim Gunn too–he knows his style! Thanks for posting the list; I am missing a few items from the list, so I have a perfect excuse to go shopping now:)
    Favorite wardrobe item these days is my belted black blazer (it’s the one I’m wearing in my blog photo).

  19. Sweet and Fit permalink
    March 25, 2010 5:27 pm

    hey lovey! this was such a great post! you should do more fashion/style posts, i loooove your style, lol

    one thing i can’t live without are my jeans, sevens, citizens, R&R’s – love them all! I can dress em’ up and dress down.

  20. March 25, 2010 5:59 pm

    I WANT TO MARRY TIM GUNN!!! though there are about 2390 reasons why that is completely impossible, I don’t care. He is so fabulous!

    Love this post! I just bought a new blazer from forev21, can’t wait to wear it!

  21. March 25, 2010 9:20 pm

    favorite wardrobe pieces are cardigan sweaters…i own maybe 15?! i love vintage, old schools sears sweaters, and one of my current faves is a cableknit gray sweater. addicted? yes!

  22. March 26, 2010 12:52 am

    i dont know about a single piece but i need my jeans and a white t. i can wear this everyday forever if i had to.

  23. March 26, 2010 8:44 am

    So funny, I am in a SERIOUS shopping mood today! I think it’s the spring weather! I might check out LC’s line at Kohl’s…I’m not a big fan of hers but she does have great style and always looks her age and so pulled together and feminine. So glad you suggested that!

  24. March 26, 2010 9:45 am

    I totally want a trench coat right now and a nice blazer/jacket.

    Favorite item right now?

    Dark skinny jeans. Love, love, love.

  25. March 26, 2010 10:33 am

    I’ve been obsessing over a trench coat for awhile now!

    I love Tim Gunn. Seriously – in my head, Tim and I are best friends.

  26. March 26, 2010 11:09 am

    I wish my wardrobe was more interesting. I just wear t-shirts and jeans a lot. And then jeans and nicer shirts if I’m going out.

  27. March 26, 2010 10:47 pm

    Ooh I clearly need to check out this new line at Kohl’s!

    I have a boyfriend blazer that was a bit of a splurge but I am finding ways to work it into the wardrobe – looks AWESOME with shorts and pumps or skinny jeans. I also got a heck of a steal on a Michael Kors trench coat from a vintage shop here in town that sells all high end product – maybe you should try one for a good steal?

    I’m on the hunt for a pair of skinny jeans that fit my Beyonce curves. I can’t ever seem to find the right cut!

Leave a Reply

