Skip to content

Friends, yoga, and food

March 24, 2010

After my rough day a few days ago I vented a little to one of my best friends before I went to sleep. It’s good to get things off your chest and tell someone who knows what you’re going through and can be there for endless support. I went to bed and things turned around the next day. When I came home during my lunch break I saw a bouquet of flowers at the door. My best friend Ali had them delivered to me the very next day.

IMG_5626.JPG

Her card read “Wanted to send a little sunshine your way”.

It’s friends like these that make the world go around. Reaching out to a loved one when they need it and showing that you care. I don’t know where i’d be without my girls and I know that i’m extremely lucky to have such a great group of friends. Love you Ali, you have no idea how much you touched my heart.

My good friend and yoga teacher Camille is hosting another day retreat on May 1. It consists of 2 yoga classes, one hard class ( you won’t believe how sore you’ll be after), a vegetarian lunch, and a yin yoga class accompanied by a live musician.

Camille asked me if I’d like to do a food workshop after lunch and before the yin yoga class. She said she could give me a half hour to do/say whatever i’d like. I’m stumped. I’m not sure exactly what i’d like to do, or what would even interest people. If any of you lovely readers have any suggestions or ideas for me i’d really appreciate all your help. I’m thinking about showing them how to make green smoothies? Show them some of my favorite healthy eats and how to incorporate them into your diet? I love that Camille has asked me to be a part of her workshop and am excited that i’ll get to share with others what has worked for me and what I am passionate about.

If you are a Baltimore local, or live close I highly recommend going to her retreat. She’s amazing. I’ll be designing her flyers so i’ll let you know when there’s additional information.

during partner yoga in Costa Rica

This picture was during a partner yoga class in Costa Rica.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 5:57 pm

    Love the yoga pic!!

    What a great friend you have!! I have some close girlfriends and I don’t know what I would do without them!!

  2. March 24, 2010 6:47 pm

    Aww she sounds like such an awesome friend! Hang on to her : )

  3. March 24, 2010 7:05 pm

    You’re right- friends as special as your friend Ali truly do make the world go around! I hope you are having a better day today!

  4. March 24, 2010 7:52 pm

    The flowers are so sweet.

    Maybe do something on quick and easy healthy meals. I know that a lot of people will go to a fast food restaurant or whatever because it’s easier. Although, people attending a yoga workshop probably wouldn’t do that.

  5. March 24, 2010 7:54 pm

    What an amazing friend you have! Lucky gal, good friends are few and far between. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. March 24, 2010 8:16 pm

    It’s absolutely amazing when friends do something special for you like that – how sweet! Also, I am definitely interested in yoga retreat on May 1st. Keep me posted. As for the food workshop, maybe you can pick 4- 5 healthy, easy items that we could all incorporate into our diets for a healthier diet. LOVE the green smoothie idea because every single person wrinkles their nose when I tell them there is spinach in it. BUT, everyone who has tried it, loves it!

  7. March 24, 2010 8:20 pm

    What a great friend!

    I am totally in for the yoga retreat! Is it open to all levels?

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 25, 2010 1:36 am

    what an amazing friend- that is so sweet. & that is sweet that you were asked to speak about that!! yo could jsut talk about some of your go-to meals and grocery buys

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. Jordan permalink
    March 25, 2010 7:47 am

    Wonderful gesture from your friend ๐Ÿ™‚ And how great is the yoga and food workshop? get it girl! Maybe pick some foods to go with the style of yoga? Gentle yoga and foods that are easy to digest? Power yoga and good recovery foods? Sign me up!

  10. March 25, 2010 9:19 am

    How sweet of your friend! Those flowers are gorgeous!

    I think the green smoothie idea is great!

  11. March 25, 2010 9:22 am

    What a great friend!!! And the retreat sounds amazing, wish we could attend. You will do great!!

  12. March 25, 2010 10:59 am

    Wow!! How you got that partners yoga picture i don’t know, but i had NO idea you could do partners yoga!!!! How fabulous.

    What a fabulous opportunity to speak at a yoga retreat. I think you’d do AWESOME. Definitely show ’em green smoothies and talk about how they’re good for your health! Win ’em over with some of the dishes you’ve created and how you strive to maintain balance in life/through blogging/eating/yoga! ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ll charm ’em all girlie, i know it!!

  13. March 26, 2010 10:36 am

    That’s awesome that you’ll be a part of the retreat! I think chatting about the green smoothies is a good idea. I drink one everyday and love it!

  14. March 27, 2010 6:06 pm

    It’s so awesome to have friends like that in your life. The yoga retreat sounds cool. I can truly say that I have never done yoga before. I think it’s time I give it a try.

  15. March 28, 2010 12:15 am

    Very cool that you’ll get to do a mini-seminar at the yoga retreat!

Leave a Reply

