Skip to content

I’m a Fitblogger

March 22, 2010

Fitbloggin was really something that came at the perfect time for me. I was starting to slack in my blogging, not really pay much attention to it, and wasn’t creating posts that were of much meaning. This conference really helped me get that oomph back that I was missing and I know that it has taught me to be a better blogger and to really embrace the blogging community.

It was ridiculous how easily we all got along and how we all became instant friends. I mean we practically all know each other now anyways so meeting in person was like the cherry on top.

Saturday was the big day of Fitbloggin and it started off bright and early.

The first session I attended was Blogs, Accessibility, and SEO: Dispelling the myths. SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization. Basically how to get your blog more traffic and bring people to your site.

The biggest thing I learned from this session was : KEYWORDS. Use keywords in your title of your post, your picture descriptions, and in your URL for your posts. This will help bring people in who are searching for like terms. Also, download a plugin from wordpress. It’s the All in one SEO plugin pack. I still have yet to do this.

I never really worried about SEO at all. Honestly, it’s never even crossed my mind. This really opened up a new chapter for me and helped me realize how to market myself and my blog and take it to the next level.

I then went to the WordPress from .com to Self Hosted: An in Depth look at some of the most popular Blogging software out there. I am not self hosted and don’t even have my own domain. This really made me want to buy my own domain. Got to research to see what’s available.

For lunch there was an amazing spread of goodies. The soup was amazing. It was a mushroom and green onion soup with pumpernickel croutons. I don’t think i’ve ever had mushroom soup before like this and I loved it.

IMG_5595.jpg

There was an amazing salad with blue cheese, roasted beets, and a vinaigrette. A whole tray of grilled veggies and a veggie pressed sandwich. Everything was so tasty and fresh. I wasn’t sure exactly what I was expecting for lunch but this was the best lunch i’ve had in a while. So delicious.

IMG_5593.JPG

Dessert was healthy for us fitbloggers. Fresh fruit plate. I love juicy pineapple… even though it makes my mouth itch. I think means i’m a little allergic?

IMG_5596.JPG

During one of the breaks we had to get a picture of some of the girls. Luckily I snabbed one of the guys working there and he was kind enough to take our pic. With all 5 of our cameras πŸ™‚

IMG_5598.JPG

After lunch I went to Beyond the Blog: Getting Published. It was neat being able to hear the panel’s success stories and how they managed to launch themselves into the published world. Caitlin was really inspirational and made sure we knew that each and everyone of us could do what she did if we have the drive and the passion. Can’t wait to read her book when it comes out.

For the last session I went to Using Social Media to Reach Goals. The Power of an Online Community. I was excited for this session too but about 15 minutes into it my cramps got the worst of me. I had to go home and lay down. I walked on home and relaxed. I’m sad I missed out on the end of the conference but I seriously had the best time. I left with more pep in my step and not only learned more about the blogging process from experienced individuals, but also made real life connections with long time friends. You’ve got to love this community we have. There’s really nothing like it and we’re so lucky to be a part of it.

And you know what? It made me do something a little crazy…. and buy this. I’d been dying to get one for the longest time, and after this weekend I knew it was time. I’ve always been a mac girl and have the Imac but I was in desperate need for a laptop, so finally I finally bought my beloved macbook.

IMG_5611.JPG

Thats what you get for attending a blogging conference πŸ™‚

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 9:51 pm

    Great review and great pics! So jealous that you went – looks like such a fun time and a great BIG blogger meet up. Yummy eats too. And WHAT??! You bought that laptop?! Awesome!

  2. Jacquie permalink
    March 22, 2010 9:58 pm

    Can we play again soon? I think it should be in order πŸ™‚

  3. March 22, 2010 10:06 pm

    HOORAY for your new toy! and you ladies are beautiful inside and out πŸ™‚ wish i had been there.

  4. fromatopink permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:31 pm

    You got one!!! What do you think?! Thanks for hanging out with me at the conference πŸ™‚

  5. March 22, 2010 11:40 pm

    Awesome ideas, and I love the new toy πŸ™‚

  6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:27 am

    ahh yay love macs!! and fitbloggin sounds so fun πŸ™‚ all the conferences sound really informative.

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. March 23, 2010 6:26 am

    I am happy to hear that you found your passion for blogging again. I think that all of us go through our up’s and down’s with blogging.. I know I do! Sometimes I feel like I have the words flowing generously though my fingers and others.. I got nothin’! SO exciting that you got a macbook! I have been a PC user all my life and switched to a mac in November when my PC broke…. and I will never look back! I love my laptop! I think all mac user’s are obsessed with their electronics πŸ™‚

  8. March 23, 2010 7:46 am

    Thanks for sharing such great advice from the conference. PS. your impluse buy is making me want a new laptop. I still have mine from college and it’s almost unusable. haha trying to hold back though

  9. charmcitykim permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:49 am

    I tried to download that plugin but didn’t understand it. Clearly I’m not very good at this SEO stuff. πŸ™‚

    I’m also trying to revamp my blog – I’ve been feeling very blah about it.

    But I think you’re in a good position – you have a nice layout, good readership and you have a more focused topic. I can’t wait to see where you take this blog!

  10. March 23, 2010 8:24 am

    I’m sad I missed out on this opportunity. How do I get on this emailing list of upcoming blogger events?

  11. March 23, 2010 8:58 am

    Congrats on the new macbook!! I just took the plunge a couple months ago and converted from a PC to a mac! I’ll never go back : )

  12. March 23, 2010 9:01 am

    Wow that food looks so good!

    All in one SEO pack for WordPress is awesome! It made a huge difference once I started using it!!

  13. March 23, 2010 9:18 am

    Looks amazing! So glad you guys had a blast πŸ™‚ I restarted my blog in a new ‘vein’ πŸ™‚
    xoxo
    Sara
    http://eatmanhattan.wordpress.com

  14. March 23, 2010 10:26 am

    Yay for your new laptop! That’s exciting!Have I mentioned how excited I was to meet you? Yeah, I think I have.

  15. March 23, 2010 11:15 am

    I have a macbook too and I love it! I also have one of those old lampshade imacs which is from like 2002 but still works!

  16. March 23, 2010 12:44 pm

    I am so jealous of your new toy. btw, I just switched to selfhosted and it took like six hours, but I think it’s totally worth it. If you need some help with the feed, Jim Doran [the .com to .org speaker] is yo man! He helped me considerably.

  17. Cara permalink
    March 23, 2010 3:41 pm

    I’m with you on that one: made me realize I really need to step up my game with the blog! We’ve got to make time to plan blogger meet-ups more often!

  18. March 23, 2010 3:45 pm

    you are an animal!!!! new computer?!?!! ahhh! congrats!

    Also, pineapple makes my mouth itchy too- it is an allergy thing.

  19. March 23, 2010 6:04 pm

    OHMiGOSH!!! I didn’t know you bought a new baby!!! Congrats lady!!! I like to refer to mine as my second born (Blackberry was the first) since the dang thing is so expensive. But YAY!

  20. March 23, 2010 6:29 pm

    Sorry I missed fit bloggin – looks like it was a blast. and maybe I would have been motivated to go out and buy a mac book! ha. completely jealous of your new toy!

  21. March 23, 2010 8:27 pm

    I wanted to go to this. Maybe next year…or when I’m more fit. πŸ™‚

  22. March 23, 2010 8:50 pm

    Congrats on the iMac, girl!
    Hahaha πŸ˜‰
    Amazing pics!
    IΒ΄m sure FitBlogging was TONS of fun!
    πŸ˜€
    Have a great day!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  23. March 27, 2010 2:14 am

    Blogging is such a time-consuming full-time job that you really have to have the passion for. I have my fitness blog which I started in January which I’d love to promote but it’s anonymous. Most of my time use to go to my main blog which I’ve totally neglected … so hard to find time to commit to both of them!

  24. March 28, 2010 12:10 am

    It’s too bad none of these conferences happen north of the boarder, or in say, Seattle. I would be interested in going to one, just to hear about all of these things, but flying across the continent is definitely not in the budget. Sounds like you learned alot of useful things.

Leave a Reply

