Skip to content

footsie

March 5, 2010

Happy Fridayyyyy! This week went by pretty fast actually and i’m glad the weekend will be here in no time.

Yesterday I had a mid day treat and got myself a tea and a scone from one of my favorite places to go by my work called Teavolve. They have the most amazing selections of tea and the food is always so fresh and delicious. They source a lot of their ingredients locally and I love that aspect about them. They also freshly bag their own tea when you order. I got a Rooibos Chai hot tea and a mini white chocolate chip apricot scone. The perfect treat.

Yesterday during lunch I headed on over to Whole Foods to pick up the necessary ingredients to make Annes fANNEtastic granola bars! I’d been dying to make these but was missing a few things. Luckily whole foods solved my problem. I followed her recipe exactly except subbed almond butter, ended up buying puffed wheat instead of puffed rice, and then added some shaved chocolate from some baker’s semi sweet chocolate squares I had in the cabinet. I love the bulk section in Whole Foods. I was able to get a small amount of raw pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and unsweetened coconut for a fraction of the price of buying a whole bag.

Anne, these are amazing, definitely better than any store bought granola bar, and so quick and easy to make. These will from now on be a constant in my house!

For dinner I roasted some kabocha squash in some olive oil, sea salt, and pepper. I threw it on a salad filled with cucumbers and avocados and dressed it in zesty italian dressing. Kabocha really goes with anything.

After I left work yesterday I got an awful pain in my foot. It was really random since it started hurting as I was walking out the door, nothing had happened? I tried to walk Eden and it was a terrible pain. It was all along the left side of my left foot. I considered the factors that I was wearing these really flimsy flats, and that maybe I should invest in some new running shoes. I bought mine before Christmas last year, and the inserts had probably been worn out too. I headed on over to Charm City Run and got some opinions and then left with a new pair of Asics 2150 and new inserts.

I woke up this morning and my foot felt 100 times better but then when I started walking again it started to hurt again. Has this happened to any of you? I’m confused and would really like my foot to feel better. Of course i’m freaking out at every possible option, thinking omg is it a stress fracture? So hopefully i’m just freaking out for nothing and it just starts to feel better soon. I would really like to go on my 7 miler planned this Saturday. Well if you have any advice/opinions I’d love to know. Thank you SO much and have a HAPPY friday!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 8:23 am

    Oh no, hope your foot feels better. Did you ask the people in the running store what they thought it might be?

  2. March 5, 2010 8:36 am

    Love the shoes! It is so fun to get a new pair of running shoes πŸ™‚

  3. March 5, 2010 9:09 am

    I tend to get knee and foot pain if I run in old shoes. Hopefully that was the only cause! You may want to just take it easy this weekend though to play it safe. (but you don’t have to listen to me!) πŸ™‚

    I love Charm City Run (and TeaVolve).

  4. March 5, 2010 9:48 am

    I have been reallllllly itching to make my own granola bars but for some reason I feel like mine would be a total flair. Thanks for the inspiration, my love πŸ™‚ xoxo

  5. March 5, 2010 11:05 am

    Be careful, you don’t want to make any injury worse. Is it a muscular pain? A dull ache? Or more of a pinpoint pain? I have way too much experience with stress fractures…and the best thing I can say is don’t let the pain go on for too long unchecked.

  6. Erin permalink
    March 5, 2010 11:29 am

    That happened to me in September. I just woke up one morning with an awful pain in my foot and ankle and I hadn’t done anything! I let it go for a full day and by the next morning I was in so much pain that I went to the ER. After a day of X-rays with no conclusions, they suggested it could be cellulitus. I had never heard of it before but it is an infection that you can get from anything really. A tiny cut, a bite, anything that allows bacteria into your body. I was on antiobiotics for 10 days and was just told to stay off it. Very weird, but it is a possibility.

  7. March 5, 2010 11:37 am

    I hope your foot feels better!! If it keeps hurting you might just wanna go and get it checked out; better safe, I guess. Although — once, I’m fairly certain I had at the very least fractured my foot, and the doctor I saw (not my normal MD) made me jump up and down on said foot to see if it was broken…yeh. It was BLUE and I couldn’t move any of my toes…pretttty sure I did something bad but he didn’t give a rats booty. Anyway — enough about me — your eats look fab and I looove Rooibus! Those granola bars look fantastic, as well!

  8. March 5, 2010 2:13 pm

    Ash if it continues to bother you, DEFINITELY go see a doctor. For now though, it rest your feet!! And wear padded shoes – not flats because they don’t support your arches. Hopefully it’ll go away in a few days. 😦

    The granola bars look FANTASTIC!

  9. March 5, 2010 2:59 pm

    Oh, no! I’ve had a stress fracture before and it *sounds* like it could be that, but you never know. Maybe take a few days off (or a week) and do low impact things, and see how it feels? Hopefully the new shoes will do the trick!

  10. Melissa permalink
    March 5, 2010 4:57 pm

    Make sure you are getting enough calcium and vitamin D (600 mg of calcium and 400 units of vitamin D twice a day), in case it is a stress fracture.
    I also like the Phiten products. They aren’t too expensive. I have the necklace, but you can wrap it around your wrist or ankle if you need it there. Paula Radcliffe and Kara Goucher use them.

  11. March 5, 2010 6:58 pm

    Those granola bars look amazing!! Sorry to hear about your foot issues – sounds very aggrevating! LOVE the new kicks though πŸ™‚

  12. March 5, 2010 9:18 pm

    I hope your foot gets better soon!
    Amazing pics, btw πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend, girl!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  13. March 6, 2010 9:47 pm

    I had that problem last year. My foot hurt so bad after wearing a pair of flats. It actually ached and woke me up in the middle of the night. I stayed off of it for a week, and it healed itself.
    Hope it feels better soon!

  14. March 7, 2010 12:15 pm

    Whenever my feet start to hurt I usually go buy new running shoes and that fixes the problem. I hope it works for you!!

  15. March 7, 2010 9:36 pm

    I bet with some rest your foot will (hopefully!) feel better! Your new shoes look amazing, there’s nothing like a new pair of Asics! Definitely gives me motivation to run further and faster.

  16. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 7, 2010 11:53 pm

    those are great shoes – i used to always get asics but i just switched to nike- not sure why?? and delicious eats too- especially the scone, yum!

    xoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  17. March 8, 2010 8:47 pm

    i just checked out the menu- looks AWESOMe. and i love me so good tea too πŸ˜‰ haha definiately going to be my next lunch spot! thanks for the suggestion! nice running shoes too! i have the same color as you but mine of the 2150s- very close…wearing them now actually. haha. random question. do you know any good psychics in baltimore area? like legit ones? haha

  18. March 18, 2010 7:08 pm

    i was just visiting anne’s site and saw your’s too..good luck on your run..i am training right now too… I’m also making those bars right now! lol!

Leave a Reply

