Skip to content

Beauties

March 4, 2010

I got a question on my formspring about any late loving beauty products and I thought i’d use that question for my post this morning.

I’m a reformed beauty product junkie. I used to buy so much and always wanted to try the latest and greatest products. I tended to waste a lot of money. Since then I’ve found tried and true products that I use daily and really get their moneys worth.

Here are a few of my ultimate favorite products that I use every single day.

I’ve fallen in love with Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer. I used to use Bobbi Brown’s but this one takes the cake. The finish is amazing, and is part of her flawless face collection. It also has an SPF 20 which I appreciate.  They have lots of different color options so you’re most likely going to be able to find one that suits you perfectly.

For Christmas I got a gift card to Macy’s and knew exactly what I was going to spend it on. I’d been coveting Dior’s 5 color palette eye shadows for as long as I could remember but couldn’t justify buying it. Once I got the gift card I literally flew into the makeup counter and bought it promptly. Best decision I could have made. I bought the Earth Reflections palette, #609 and I couldn’t have been happier with my purchase. It’s got some sheen to the colors but it is so natural looking and really just enhances your own beauty. It is subtle but beautiful and it really looks good on everyone that has tried it. If you’re going to buy one eyeshadow palette this should be it. Since i’ve bought it I haven’t used any other eyeshadows. Really, it’s just that gorgeous.

I know that I put this on my last beauty product post but I had to bring it back. Nars blush in Orgasm. This color is just perfect and I haven’t found a higher quality blush. It wins beauty awards time and time again and deserves every bit of recognition it gets. It brightens your face up without looking like you have too much on. It really just brings out your natural glow which we all know and love.

Hope you enjoyed my newest list.

I also wanted to let you guys know about 2 websites that I refer to a lot to read reviews of products before I buy them. They’re great resources so you don’t go into a new purchase without any information. Makeupalley and Total Beauty are both great sites to check out.

What is the one beauty product you can’t live without?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 7:59 am

    Like you I’m a beauty junkie and tend to waste alot of money. I’m already ready to go out and buy these products. Right now I’m a Bobbi Brown tinted moisturizer girl with her aruba bronzer. I’ve been eyed the Orgasm blush but have been hesitant by the price. Time to splurge!

    • March 4, 2010 8:08 am

      The blush seriously lasts forever, i’ve had it about a year I guess and still haven’t gotten to the bottom of the container. It’s DEFINITELY got it’s worth! 🙂

  2. March 4, 2010 8:18 am

    I have been using Cover Girl tinted moisturizer forever, mostly because it was cheap and worked great. I may have to step it up and try the Laura Mercier.

    Cant live with out my Bare Minerals eye shadows. Work both as eye shadow and liner, either dry or wet for a dramatic look.

  3. March 4, 2010 8:29 am

    I don’t really know much about make-up at all. When I wear eyeliner though, I like Mac’s Fluidline. That’s about my only tip!

  4. March 4, 2010 8:45 am

    I am a reformed beauty junkie too. Less is always more… I have been eyeing Laura Mercier products at Sephora but I have never tried any.

  5. PinkSass permalink
    March 4, 2010 9:06 am

    I’m so happy you posted this. Since we talked on Twitter I have really wanted to try Laura Mercier products and I’ve heard nothing but good things about the tinted moisturizer and powder. I myself am using Bareminerals right now and I just feel like it’s lacking something.

    What color did you get in the Laura mercier products? Were you able to get samples to try out first?

    Oh and Nara Orgasm is hands down the most amazing blush. Pure happiness!

    • March 4, 2010 9:10 am

      In the tinted moisturizer i’m Sand, and in the powder i’m Rich Vanilla. I didn’t get samples but I tried a few colors on my face to make sure it was the right one for me. Or you can ask the Sales Associate, but where I bought them I just did it on my own. you’ll LOVE it, I agree with what you said about Bare Minerals, it just started getting lackluster. Let me know if you buy these and what you think !

  6. Jil permalink
    March 4, 2010 9:11 am

    I’m a beauty junky, too — I just love trying new stuff. I have yet to find a face wash that I really love though — many of them are somewhat effective for me…but not nearly enough.

  7. March 4, 2010 10:13 am

    I’ve been meaning to try tinted moisturizer for a long time now! When you use that do you still use cover up just for spots or does that take care of everything? I rarely break out but I use a concelear for the random times that it happens.

    • March 4, 2010 10:19 am

      if you’ve got a few spots I would still use a little bit of concealer because the tinted moisturizer is pretty sheer but it does provide some coverage to create a clean palette. If you go to the makeup counter i’d try some on and see how you feel, you can use more or less depending on your needs.

  8. Jordan permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:02 pm

    That LM tinted moisturizer is the BEST! Have you used the Dior Show mascara? Good stuff. More a Saturday night mascara than a workday one though 😉

  9. March 4, 2010 1:11 pm

    i’ve been dying to get a new moisturizer because all the ones i’ve used just end up feeling too greasy. my skin is def combo…do you think this will be good? does your skin feel light? haha just wondering!

    • March 4, 2010 1:20 pm

      I have normal/combo skin as well. This is a good weight moisturizer inside. I never feel like it’s too heavy or anything. However if you want an even lighter one, they do have an oil free version which would be good if youre concerned about getting too greasy. You can test them both out at the makeup counter and see which one feels good on your face. But I didn’t think I needed the oil-free version, this one feels good for me.

  10. March 4, 2010 3:27 pm

    I am so lame when it comes to my makeup — I just stick to concealer, foundation, eyeliner, and mascara, and bronzer if i’m feeling adventurous. Oh man, I need you to be my own personal makeup artist 🙂

  11. March 4, 2010 4:52 pm

    I absolutely LOVE NARS Orgasm blush. It’s my one beauty splurge, and the rest I usually just go pretty basic because my make-up skills aren’t up to snuff. I have the combo of their bronzer/blush and it’s the absolute best! Also, Smashbox Primer is awesome to apply before beginning with foundation. Keeps me less shiny down here in humid Florida!

  12. March 4, 2010 6:00 pm

    NARS Orgasm blush is the best! want to hear something fabulous? my grandma uses that!

    thanks for all the make-up finds – laura mercier is my queen!

  13. March 7, 2010 7:44 pm

    After reading this post this morning, I went out and bought the tinted moisturizer after my yoga class! I use Bare Minerals for daily makeup, but I really needed something on days when I just want light coverage. Can’t wait to try it!

    I love Benefit’s Perfect 10 blush/bronzer. It’s light and adds color without looking fake.

  14. March 8, 2010 7:47 pm

    I really love this post! I’m needing some new products. I never take the time/spend the money to find good stuff. Although, I do have the Nars blush, but don’t love it like everyone else in the world does. The quality is amazing, but the color just isn’t right on me.

  15. March 9, 2010 8:01 am

    smashbox primer. Seriously, I wear this even w/o makeup cause it’s matting (is that a word?!) effects are AH mazing.

Leave a Reply

