Skip to content

enchirito

March 3, 2010

Happy hump day! Its a dreary day already but the weekend forecast is looking bright and sunny so that’s always something to look forward to.  My sister is coming back to town for her spring break, so I can’t wait to see her. Lots and lots of catching up to do.  She just got finished a ton of exams so hopefully she can get back to posting!

The other night I had a ton of ingredients on hand and wasn’t exactly sure what to do with them. I decided to make some enchiritos. A mix between an enchilada and a burrito, but with fillings really random and delicious. I sauteed some kale with olive oil and cumin, microwaved a sweet potato then cubed it, sauteed some onions and black beans with more cumin and mixed them all together with some green enchilada sauce. I then put them into burrito sized flour tortillas placed them in the pan and threw more enchilada sauce on top before popping them into the oven. Not your typical mexican meal, I had no cheese on hand but they were absolutely delicious. I loved the flavor combinations of the filling and you didn’t finish your meal feeling overstuffed and exhausted. Great new recipe that i’ll continue to use.

I also had some fresh avocados on hand so I made a quick homemade guacamole. I didn’t have jalapenos which would have made it even better but I made do with the ingredients I had on hand. Chopped up some onion, mashed the avocado, added salt and pepper and a squeeze of lime. The lime is KEY and really makes the flavors pop.

I have a run planned for later today and am hoping the weather holds out. I haven’t run since Saturday, my legs have just been so tired. Cherry blossom 10 miler is about 6 or so weeks away!! Getting close!

A group friends and I have decided to sign up for the Kickball league in Baltimore. I’m REALLY excited to get this going because it always sounds like such a fun time. Games start next Wednesday, i guess it’s about time to go buy some warpaint.

I decided to follow the trend and create a formspring page. So if you have any questions you would like answered go on ahead and ask away 🙂 Love you all!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 7:33 am

    Mmmm! Looks so good. It’s dreary here, too — but there are snowflakes in the air – which amazingly enough, brighten things up a bit. haha I agree so many times citrus is what makes an entire recipe pop – esp. guac. Love it. Hope you have a fab Wednesday, girl!!

  2. March 3, 2010 8:34 am

    mmhmm sounds great- I love the mix! I never have tortillas on hand, i really should go buy some!

  3. March 3, 2010 8:37 am

    Wow. Your enchirito looks amazing. It’s cold and dreary here this morning too, but it’s suppose to be high 50’s – low 60’s this weekend!!! I am so ready for spring weather- I can’t wait!

    Hooray for fitbloggin being so soon!?!? Can’t wait to see you lady.

  4. March 3, 2010 9:30 am

    YUM! That meal looks divine and I love that it is cheeseless. I’m totally borrowing this recipe. 🙂

  5. March 3, 2010 10:25 am

    I’ve never heard of an enchirito….yours looks so yummy!

    Haha I sucked at kickball. 😦 But it sounds like so much fun!

  6. March 3, 2010 11:04 am

    Ooh, that enchirito looks great! I love kale and sweet potatoes together.

  7. March 3, 2010 11:35 am

    YUM! I have never heard of an enchirito, but yours sounds so good…and HEALTHY! Kale and sweet potato?! Leave it to you to make Mexican food health food 🙂

  8. March 3, 2010 12:13 pm

    Ohhh whooaaa I can just imagine the bursting flavors inside…those black beans are SUCH a teaser!!!

    I recently started running (meaning, 2 weeks ago) and it DEFINITELY makes your legs soooo sore. I have a WHILE before i can get to 10 miles…ahhh you’re my inspiration Ash!! Except I am deathly afraid of dodgeball because those freakin’ balls seem to love making contact with my face. *sigh* hahaha

  9. March 3, 2010 3:35 pm

    yummmmmmmmmmy! im jealous of your weekend! looks like tons of fun and hope your run goes well!

  10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 3, 2010 5:23 pm

    seriously this recipe is really really creative- sounds dELICIOUS. you seem like such a fabulous little chef 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  11. March 3, 2010 6:23 pm

    ah this is a hybrid of my two favorite mexican foods. Look bueno, mi amor!

  12. March 3, 2010 10:24 pm

    I did kickball for like three years. It was a ton of fun and I made a lot of friends!

  13. March 3, 2010 11:02 pm

    You are sooo right. I squeeze lime on EVERYTHING remotely “mexican-inspired.”

  14. Sweet and Fit permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:58 am

    that enchirito looks like something straight out of a mexican restaurant, delish! I really miss you and can’t wait to meet-up at fitbloggin!

  15. March 4, 2010 11:42 pm

    That looks SO good!

  16. March 5, 2010 2:21 pm

    The green enchilada sauce caught my eye. Since I’m not a tomato sauce person, I avoid enchiladas like the plague. I should pick up some of that and give it a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

