Skip to content

Meetup, girls, and masks

March 1, 2010

Good Morning and Happy March 1. I can’t believe it’s March already, this year is already flying by. I ABSOLUTELY love though when the first of the month falls on a Monday. It just feels like a mini clean slate again.

This weekend was filled with fun. Friday night was spent going to a hot vinyasa class and practically feeling like I jumped in a pool fully clothed. It was an incredibly hard class but of course I left feeling accomplished and completely refreshed. Camille kills me every time. After yoga Jami, Meg and I went out to grab a bite to eat then called it a night.

Saturday morning was the morning of our long run. 7 miles was in store. I had another oatmeal party at 9 then we started our run off at 10. It felt a lot harder than the 6 miler the previous week but we pushed on and completed the 7 miles in 1:12. It’s been pretty cold here during the week, but luckily for us the past two weekends we’ve gone running the sun has been shining and the weather mild. 7 miles is the furthest i’ve EVER run before and i’d only done it once before Saturday. I cant’ wait till we go for 8 miles, making new personal records is an amazing feeling.

Saturday for dinner was spent in Clarksville, MD at a BLOGGER MEETUP at a vegetarian restaurant called Great Sage. Lauren put together a meetup for local DC/VA/Baltimore bloggers all got together to spend hours talking non-stop and eating delicious food. Great Sage is really close to where I grew up, and I actually used to work in the restaurant that previously had been at that location.

I got there a little early so I went to the natural grocery store next door to do a little browsing before dinner. I ended up finding some coconut butter and also bought the newest Michael Pollan book.

I’d always wanted to try Great Sage but just never got around to it. Perfect opportunity. What’s funny is how easily it is to talk to everyone, when you’ve never actually met them in person. You already have so much in common the conversation just naturally keeps going. We had some delicious bread at the beginning of the meal

I opted for the Butternut Squash bread pudding. Savory bread pudding with roasted squash, sage, garlic and a hint of lemon, topped with sautéed shiitake mushrooms. Served with a saffron tomato sauce. Absolutely delicious. My plate was licked clean.

Dessert was a no-brainer for me and after reading the menu and listening to the specials Anne and I decided to go for the dessert special of the day. Sweet potato pie with a scoop of vanilla coconut ice cream. OOOOOh this was good and the perfect choice. Great ending to the meal!

Luckily after our meal the waiter was kind enough to take pics for all of us lol. He snapped a great one though, here’s all the bloggers! Aurora, Kat, Lauren, Matt, Sana, Anne, me, and Jacquie.

Everyone was amazing and I can’t wait to do another meet-up. its a must.

After dinner I drove back to Baltimore to meet up with my girls for a fun night out. Field hockey girls reunited once again for an amazing night. I always feel so blessed to have such great friends.

 I headed on back to Columbia for a day of quality time with my mom. She made a loaf of fresh baked bread and while it baked we did a little shopping. By the time we got home there it was, the perfect most delicious loaf. I sliced a piece almost immediately and ate it the best way I knew how. Butter, cinnamon and sugar. Heaven

Welp, thats all for now! hope everyone had a great weekend and have a wonderful start to your week and to March!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 8:31 am

    Sounds like another busy but enjoyable weekend. Love those! I’m so jealous of your blogger meet-up!

  2. March 1, 2010 8:35 am

    Man, I was in the area this weekend but didn’t know about the meetup! It looked like so much fun. Your entire weekend looked really fun actually.

  3. March 1, 2010 8:37 am

    Mmmm….that butternut squash bread pudding looks amazing. YUM.

    Isn’t AVAM wild? We are designing a table for the Uncorked event there in two weeks – make sure to pop over and check out pictures.

    Happy Monday!
    Jennifer

  4. March 1, 2010 9:18 am

    ooh – I’ve been dying to try Great Sage! But being in Baltimore – it is so tough to get me out of the city. 🙂 Now I’m def. going to try it!

    and I totally remember the feelings of running a new distance milestone. congrats on your 7 miles! 8 will be a piece of cake.

  5. Jordan permalink
    March 1, 2010 9:29 am

    What a FUN weekend! So glad you liked Great Sage, I hope I can be there for the next blogger meet up! Congrats on your run and your pics from AVAM are hysterical 🙂

  6. Jacquie permalink
    March 1, 2010 9:35 am

    Hi,

    I have given you a Beautiful Blogger Award! Yay! See it here and then pass it to others…
    http://sweetestthingdc.wordpress.com/2010/03/01/beautiful-blogger-award/

    Have fun! ❤

  7. March 1, 2010 9:38 am

    Bread pudding, savory or sweet, always sounds so tasty! Nice choice for dinner!! I’m dying over that cinnamon/sugar bread too. YUM! Looks like you had a great weekend! LOVE the masks – hahah!

  8. March 1, 2010 10:51 am

    wow I had no idea today was March 1st. a yi yi, where has my life gone?!?!

    ahhh those masks are hysterical! personally, I think you are working that hat 😉 love you!

  9. March 1, 2010 11:01 am

    ah, such a fun weekend! i love the masks! too funny!

  10. March 1, 2010 12:37 pm

    awww so much fun! you are gorgeous in those pics!

  11. March 1, 2010 7:09 pm

    Great meeting you this weekend!

  12. March 1, 2010 10:40 pm

    Congrats on the 7 miler girl. Look at you, going up a mile every week!

    Your mom’s bread looks so good, so moist!

  13. March 1, 2010 10:54 pm

    Ah what fun pics! Love the masks (while creepy – still loves!) and you and your girls look like you had lots ‘o fun with our brewskys!

    Love that you had a blogger meet up – we’ve got to do another one in ATL soon!

    I’m SO happy to hear how well all of your running is going – so cool!!

  14. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 1, 2010 11:36 pm

    that meet up looks SO FUN! and i agree ,i love how march 1 starts on a Monday- perfect 🙂 annd good job with the 7 miler- you are doing great! love that u met up wtih your field hockeky friends…that sounds so fun and you and chase are ADORABLE

    i used to eat my bread like that when i was a little kid!!! aw

    xooxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. March 2, 2010 8:24 am

    I love that you have such a full and happy life. It makes me happy! I miss my girlfriends when I read about your fun times.

  16. March 2, 2010 8:36 am

    Hello! I just found your blog, and I’m loving it! I actually live in Baltimore as well…I’d love to be included in the next meet-up if you’re looking for another blogger 🙂

  17. March 2, 2010 10:17 am

    Haha I LOVE museum gift shops. They always have the coolest stuff!

  18. March 2, 2010 10:58 am

    Your blogger meet-up looks like it was so much fun! I’ve been to Great Sage once and it was amazing, so yummy and fresh!!

    Great job on your run….I’m hoping to get outside for some runs soon (instead of the mostly boring treadmill). The snow has finally melted!! Cheers to Spring 🙂

  19. March 2, 2010 12:51 pm

    Congrats on your 7 miler!

  20. March 2, 2010 3:58 pm

    Congrats on the great run, girl!
    I love when the Moday´s the first day of a month, too 😉
    That loaf looked truly divine, by the way!
    🙂
    Have a great week, girl!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  21. March 2, 2010 6:52 pm

    Ahhh! It all looks like so much fun!!! That food sounds amazing…I love bread pudding – and I have NO doubt in my mind that I would love savory bread pudding. And your mom’s bread looks amazing!! Wish I lived in the Baltimore area – I so would have been all about that meet up.

  22. March 3, 2010 10:22 am

    Love the Michael Pollan book! Such a great and quick read!!

  23. March 5, 2010 10:11 pm

    I can’t believe someone took the time to decorate a bus like that. I can’t even imagine how long that must have taken

  24. March 9, 2010 8:04 am

    I haven’t been by your blog in awhile but it’s great to see your training is going fab-o. I’m really proud of the improvements/endurance you’ve gained. And of course, you are always gorgeous. 🙂 Great blogger meet up. East coast ladies represent!

Leave a Reply

