Skip to content

early bird

February 24, 2010

Morning!

So happy today is already Wednesday. Halfway through the week and i’m feeling good. The fridge and cabinet are starting to get a little bare so yesterday for lunch I grabbed my newest favorite sandwich at this great little spot by my house called Beach Bums. They have amazing sandwiches and have their own home made ice cream.  I’ve recently fallen in love with the sandwich Spanky’s Gang. My friend Emily who I met in Costa Rica told me that was her go-to sandwich at beach bums so I knew I had to try it. Sprouts, tomato, herb cheese, and sweet muenster cheese  on whole wheat bread. I asked that the bread be toasted and have avocado added. MMM this is good. Fresh and simple with great flavor. I love that there are good veggie options close by.

After work I dragged my butt over to the yoga studio. I hadn’t been in I guess around 2 weeks? Camille made sure to play my favorite hip hop playlist, and I remembered why I love yoga so much. I completely zone out and am focused for a full 90 minutes on nothing but the class. I remember when I first started taking classes 90 minutes seemed like 10 hours, always looking back at the clock and thinking, how am I going to do this for another 45 minutes??? But now by the time we get to the floor series I know the class is almost over and I can’t believe it’s went by so fast. It felt good getting back in the studio, I must make a conscious effort to balance both my running and my yoga.

For dinner I had been craving pancakes so that was exactly what I made. I used the last of my whole wheat pancake mix, and decided to try to use some chia seeds in the batter. I whipped up the batter before yoga, threw in the chia seeds, some vanilla extract and some cinnamon, then covered the bowl and threw it in the fridge. When I came back after class to make my pancakes the batter had thickened up quite a lot from the chia seeds. The pancakes ended up being pretty dense, and had a nice crunch to the insides. I liked the addition of the chia! I topped my two pancakes with some almond butter, blackberry preserves, and a drizzling of agave.

My friend Jami and I had decided to go on a run this morning since it’s supposed to get nasty over here in Baltimore later tonight. Since I have to be at work at 7, we had to start our run at 5. I can’t tell you how many times i’ve tried this before, but somehow I just press that snooze button every 9 minutes it goes off until I have to get up. Knowing that I had someone there waiting for me was a huge motivation to drag myself out of bed and get going. I laid my clothes out next to me so that I wouldn’t have to bother searching for what I was going to wear.  We set out at 5:00 on the dot for our 4 mile run. It was mild out surprisingly so it felt great to be out there. I did however have a side cramp for about 75% of the run, not sure exactly what thats about? Because I ran on an empty stomach? Any advice from morning runners?

I’d love to start running in the morning during the week more often. It sets you up for results seeing that sometimes when I get home from work I just don’t have the energy or the motivation. Great start to the morning!  feeling GOOD.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Eliza permalink
    February 24, 2010 9:15 am

    That could definitely be from not eating anything before. Try eating half a banana or something small before exercise in the morning.

  2. February 24, 2010 9:16 am

    We’re getting the crappy weather here in Boston now, yuck! I love running/working out in the mornings. It makes me feel so amazing and accomplished. I do it almost every day and when I don’t I feel off and tired all day.

  3. meyergirl permalink
    February 24, 2010 9:27 am

    For me, I’ve learned tha I need around 100 calories for morning workouts. Any less and I’m hungry, any more and I get stitch.

  4. February 24, 2010 10:29 am

    That sandwich looks sooooo good!

    The few times I have run in the morning, I have done so on an empty stomach.
    If I run more than 5 miles, I have to eat at least a banana. It requires getting up earlier though, so it can digest before the run.

  5. February 24, 2010 10:42 am

    Spanky’s gang – what a name! Haha! It looks delish though! Boo to side cramps!! I used to get those all the time when I was still in my sport and one of my trainers taught me to breath in through my nose and out through my mouth to make it go away.

  6. February 24, 2010 10:53 am

    I don’t know if this trick will work for all side stitches, but someone just filled me in on this gem last Saturday… I’ll try to explain it. I had a stitch on the right side which is apparently due to breathing in and impacting on the right side at the same time, which squishes the liver. OW, don’t need that organ getting hurt! Anyway, since it is tough to switch breathing, you just do a little hop thing with your legs. Like land on the same foot twice, a little hop/gallop move. Does that makes sense? It’s much easier to demonstrate… 😛

  7. February 24, 2010 10:58 am

    so glad you’re feeling good, missy! And glad you’re enjoying your yoga. I personally don’t (and am physically incapable) of doing anything creative in the a.m.

    I love the sprouts on the sammy!

  8. February 24, 2010 12:30 pm

    I love working out in the morning too. There’s been too many times I’ve tried to save it for night time and then end up skipping it 😦

  9. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    February 24, 2010 12:35 pm

    I really need to start getting up in the mornings.. I have been slacking.. AWESOME JOB!

  10. Jacquie permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:14 pm

    Happy Wednesday!!! I got up this morning to go to yoga and I love it! I wish I could go all the time, but my body isn’t ready for that-haha! See you Saturday 🙂

  11. February 24, 2010 1:26 pm

    Hmmm…I never ran with food in my stomach, and I hardly ever got cramps. The times I did, I think I was dehydrated. Are you drinking before your runs?

    And, um, why did I not think to add preserves + PB to pancakes?! Genius!

  12. February 24, 2010 1:30 pm

    woah, good for you for getting up at 5am to run! That’s so early, especially in the winter….I really wish I was a morning workout person, but my ideal time to run is around noon or 1pm. It fits with my schedule now b/c most days I don’t work until 5pm so I’m lucky! Do you run around the inner harbor and Fed Hill? When I lived near U of Md, I used to love running in Fed Hill 🙂

  13. jilianmarie permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:46 pm

    Ohh, ALL of the food looks amazing!! That sandwich looks so yummy, and the pancakes…yummm. I like the idea of adding chia.

  14. February 24, 2010 2:37 pm

    ah there’s nothing like getting back to the “yoga grind” after taking a little while off 🙂

  15. lowandbhold permalink
    February 24, 2010 3:25 pm

    That sandwich looks amazing. No tips on the morning running from me. I feel like my legs just refuse to run in the morning, haha.

  16. February 24, 2010 3:42 pm

    oh my goodness what delicious pancakes and sammy and yoga! I know what you mean about at first thinking it was soooo long but now you adjusted!

    I LOVE when someone is there waiting for me at 5 am or whatevs… it seriously makes you go but then while you are running its awesme, and then you are done before you know it. It makes the day just feel awesome! I might start recruiting running buddies…maybe even a Male one.. oh la la!

  17. February 24, 2010 6:09 pm

    That sandwich looks perfect–good call on the avocado addition!

  18. February 24, 2010 6:31 pm

    OMG that sandwich looks straight out of cali with the sprouts and avo’s it looks drool worthyyyy!!! when you were in costa rica did you try cafe britt coffee?? thats my uncles company! well now my oldest cousin is taking it over but yes, family buissness, I read costa rica in your post and just had to ask!!

  19. February 24, 2010 6:32 pm

    Good for your for that early morning run!!! And your yoga classes getting “shorter and shorter”. 🙂 I need to jump on the yoga bandwagon. It’s so good to know that I sometimes go through the same struggles you do – the “OMG how am i gonna do this for another 40 minutes?!??!?! ahrghhghghg” teehee

  20. February 24, 2010 8:09 pm

    That sandwich looks really good. Those avocados!

    I’m impressed at the 5am wakeup. I have tried a million times to become a morning worker and it doesn’t work.

  21. February 24, 2010 9:29 pm

    That sandwich looks so so good! YUM!

    AND WHAT?! You started your run at 5am? Does that mean you were up at lik 4:30/4:45? That is INSANE!

  22. February 24, 2010 10:30 pm

    I can barely put my feet in my houseshoes before 6:45 a.m. Good job on the early morning run! I keep thinking that getting up early will come easier with age…but that seems very far off still!

  23. February 24, 2010 10:58 pm

    wow that sandwich is amazing, love avocados 🙂

  24. February 25, 2010 8:19 pm

    WOW!
    That sandwich looked really amazing…
    😀
    Have a great night!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  25. February 25, 2010 9:31 pm

    do your legs feel better girly?!

Leave a Reply

