Skip to content

Girls girls girls

February 22, 2010

This weekend was glorious. Saturday morning my girlfriends Lauren, Megan, and Jami came over at 9 for an oatmeal escapade. I made us a big batch of oats and put out a set of different topping options. I put out a banana, almond butter, nutella, agave, and some chia seeds.

We each made our own bowls to our liking and chatted it up while our food digested. Saturday was our long run day. So far in training for the 10 miler i’ve only reached 4 miles and that was twice last week. Saturday we set out for 6 miles and with the sun shining we knew it was going to be a good run. We ended up running from my house down to Fort McHenry and then back up and finished in the inner harbor. Our final milage was 6.15 miles in 1:03. We finished, and finished strong together. I loved running with a group of us and having each other to talk to pushed you stronger and further. Hitting the 6 mile mark was a huge step forward and gives me more confidence that I can finish this 10 miler, and finish it well.

After the run I quickly jumped in the shower because my parent’s were coming down for lunch for my Mom’s Birthday! ❀ She wanted to go to the Abbey Burger Bistro right down the street from my house. I’ve raved about this burger joint forever, their veggie burger is hands down the most delicious veggie burger i’ve eaten. Fresh veggies for the patty with a yogurt sauce and chili mayo, lettuce, tomato, avocado with a side of sweet potato fries. This is one of my favorite meals in the city.

After lunch I went back to Columbia with my parents to spend the day with them. Nothing better πŸ™‚

Later that night I ventured back up to Baltimore for a night out with the girls! We headed to Jami’s for a pregame then out to the bars. Girls nights are always so much fun no matter what we do.

Sunday was spent being a complete bum until about 3 PM.

I had some Morningstar buffalo chicken nuggets for lunch alongside with some yogurt ranch dressing and some celery. Those nuggets are SPICY but they’re absolutely delicious!

Dinner was simple and delicous. I sauteed some kale in some olive oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes. I also made a eggplant, sabra supremely spicy hummus, and goat cheese grilled wrap. Japanese eggplant are so easy to quickly grill on the Forman and throw into anything. They’re light purple instead of the deep purple that regular eggplant is. A pickle on the side and dinner was served!

Hope you all have a nice start to your Monday!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 10:37 am

    hey idk if ive ever commented before but i lovey your blog! congrats on the 6 mile run, sounds amazing. and girls nights out are alwaysss fun!!
    amy<3

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 22, 2010 12:32 pm

    yay for a 6 miler!! you are doing fabulously. Looks like you had so much fun with your girls- you are all so beautiful. That veggie burger looks awesome.

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    February 22, 2010 1:35 pm

    Awesome job on the 6 miles girl!! I love the inner harbor!! I still haven’t picked a weekend but I am soon!!

  4. jilianmarie permalink
    February 22, 2010 1:38 pm

    The food looks amazingg!! And you look gorgg, hun!! That color is so pretty on you!

  5. February 22, 2010 3:15 pm

    I agree, girls nights are ALWAYS fun! Glad you had a great time! That veggie burger/sweet potato fry meal sounds perfect!

  6. February 22, 2010 3:17 pm

    girls girls girls girls, girls I do adore (Jay-z reference?) especially ones name ashley who are so dang beautiful! glad you had such a perf weekend!!!

    p.s. so jealous of your marantha score at costco!

  7. February 22, 2010 3:54 pm

    Hi Ash!! Look at youuu and your long runs! I’m glad that your confidence is goin’ up!! You deserve to know you can do it, because you DEFINITELY can. I would love to be able to run 6 miles. πŸ™‚ DUDE that burger has some awesome looking fries!!! hahah Sweet potato fries ROCKS.

  8. February 22, 2010 6:54 pm

    Congrats on the run!!! That’s so awesome.

    I’m glad you had such a great weekend with your girls – your oats get together is adorable!

    I saw those at Trader Joe’s and almost bought them – but hadn’t heard anything about them. So glad to hear they’re fab!

  9. February 22, 2010 8:22 pm

    Great run! You are going to totally rock the 10-miler! And don’t you just love running around the inner harbor and fort mchenry? I especially love running there during the summer!

  10. lowandbhold permalink
    February 22, 2010 8:52 pm

    I love that you had a oatmeal party with your friends. How fun!

    Those Morningstar nuggets are seriously one of my favorite foods. I could eat them every day.

  11. February 22, 2010 10:01 pm

    Great job on the 6 miles!! You look so gorgeous in all of the pictures πŸ˜€

    I have some chia seeds- I can’t wait to try them soon!!

  12. February 22, 2010 10:33 pm

    OH and I left you an award on my blog!

  13. February 22, 2010 10:42 pm

    I spy a Maryland flag in the background.

    I’ll secretly always be a Maryland girl.

  14. February 22, 2010 11:32 pm

    how fun~ the oatmeal bar is such a good idea! you and your ladies are the prettiest ever πŸ™‚ xoxo

  15. February 23, 2010 8:57 am

    Spice girls for LIFE!!!! hahahha

    I love the way you can see chunks of veggies in that burger. House-made ones are the best! Don’t even get me started on sweet potato fries… They may be one of the most perfect foods there is!

  16. charmcitykim permalink
    February 23, 2010 9:27 am

    Great job on your run! I remember those days… oh how I long to run again. πŸ™‚

    And that veggie burger looks amazing.

  17. February 23, 2010 4:09 pm

    Congrats on the 6 mile mark girl! I feel like that’s my wall. Once I pass 6 miles, I can do another mile or 5. You’ll do awesome in the 10-miler, I’m sure of it!

    I actually don’t like running with other people. Running is my release so I don’t like having to keep up with other people or slowing down so they can keep up.

    I need to try those buffalo nuggets. They do look good. Man, I haven’t had buffalo wings in FOREVER! And I love how you had celery with it, just like you’re supposed to πŸ™‚

    • February 23, 2010 4:45 pm

      I used to HATE running with other people because I wasn’t very good at it so I never wanted to be the slow one. Since i’ve gotten better at running now I feel like i can finaly keep up with everyone and my confidence has gone up! omg the buffalo nuggets are amazing the next time you see them youve GOT to try them!

  18. February 23, 2010 9:38 pm

    Great eats!!

  19. February 24, 2010 12:07 am

    hey ash! thanks for the comment πŸ™‚
    I remember you recommended abbey bistro to me before- i gotta go this place- that looks delectable! im pretty sure id just order the very same thing as you because i love veggie burgers and love sweet pot fries

    speaking of that… have you ever gone to red star bar and grill in fells? great great place. i got a bison burger with sweet pot fries last weekend– melt iny our mouth good! hahah ive also got the veggie burger- very good as well!

    • February 24, 2010 8:15 am

      Red Star is sooo good! its right by my work! I need to try their veggie burger! i’ve had their ALT, avocado lettuce tomato, so delicious.

Leave a Reply

