Skip to content

Run it

February 16, 2010

Good Morning! If you haven’t been already, please check out my sister’s new blog she just started yesterday πŸ™‚ she’d love to have you!! Run Hokie Run!

This morning I started off on the right foot with a bowl of steamy oatmeal. I used half a cup of oats, 1 c of almond milk, 1/2 a banana, and a new ingredient I picked up this past week at Whole Foods. Organic cacao powder with Maca. I put 1/2 tsp in because I didn’t want to overpower the flavors. I will gradually add more, this was pretty good! I then topped the bowl off with 2 dried California Figs.

Last night at the gym I hit a milestone. I ran 4 miles on the treadmill in 39:50. I’ve never been a fan of the treadmill but with this weather there is no where else to run. I think 3 miles has been the furthest i’ve run on a treadmill before. Last night I knew I wanted to hit 3.5 and when I got there I dug down deep and knew that I could push for just 5 more minutes. and I DID ITTTTTT! On my week’s training plan, I have my long run this weekend being 6 miles. I’m going to aim for this and hopefully I’ll attain it. Having a month off of the training plan has been tough to jump back into but I can’t wait to run this race. I’ve also signed up for the Baltimore 10 miler on June 19 and am really excited for that one too! If you’re in the area you should DEFINITELY sign up, i’ve heard great things!!! http://www.Baltimoretenmiler.com

We can all have a little blog meet-up πŸ™‚

Yoga and a short run are on the agenda tonight, with the Chinese New Year being this past weekend, it’s almost like it’s a second chance to get your resolutions straightened out, and re-focused. I needed that. Have a wonderful dayyyy!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 8:55 am

    oh girl do you realize how much I admire you?! you possess so much inner strength and perseverance. You inspire me! love you love you xoxoxo

  2. February 16, 2010 9:16 am

    Congrats on the treadmill achievement! It’s not easy to run 4 miles on that thing, haha!

    Fun new addition to the oats!! Can’t wait to check out your sister’s blog!

  3. February 16, 2010 9:36 am

    I think I will consider that race actually! I was looking for something shorter than a half sometime this summer. This looks perfect!

  4. February 16, 2010 10:30 am

    Congratulations!!! That’s such an amazing accomplishment! I suuuck at the treadmill so I’m always amazed by you guys!!

  5. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:35 am

    Awesome job!! I hate the treadmill to.. Isn’t it amazing how you can run so much further outside?

  6. *Andrea* permalink
    February 16, 2010 11:04 am

    great job on the dreadmill πŸ˜‰

  7. February 16, 2010 1:45 pm

    I might be running that 10miler depending on my knee status.

    p.s. I tried Liquid Earth this weekend, yum!

  8. February 16, 2010 2:03 pm

    Great job on the treadmill! Running on the treadmill can be tough but you seem to have a good attitude about it!

  9. February 16, 2010 6:34 pm

    Yum! Cocoa and figs sounds like a fab combo!

  10. February 16, 2010 8:40 pm

    great job on the treadmill run! they are really tough for me too, but once you are done, it is a great feeling.

    I am definitely thinking about running the baltimore 10 miler too! πŸ™‚

  11. February 16, 2010 8:46 pm

    hey, was wondering if you could help me (at all) with creating my blog! OR if you knew of any good reliable resources!!?!!?! Thanks!!

    • February 22, 2010 7:20 am

      sure girl!! send me an e-mail at dailygoodsblog AT gmail DOT com and i’ll help you no problem! πŸ™‚

  12. jamijoy permalink
    February 16, 2010 8:55 pm

    Ash- lets get a shirt order going for the 10 miler. Congrats on the great run last night! KEEP IT UP!!!

  13. February 16, 2010 10:22 pm

    Congrats on your treadmill PDR. That’s great!

  14. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:50 pm

    congrats on the run! that is great. and your breakfast looks delicious ❀

    xoxoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. Molly permalink
    February 16, 2010 11:50 pm

    Which 10-Miler are you currently training for? I am training for the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler and the Maryland Half-Marathon, but am having trouble finding a training plan I like. Do you have any recommendations?

    • February 22, 2010 7:22 am

      i’m training for the cherry blossom 10 miler too!!! πŸ™‚ I’ll send you an e-mail about diff training plans!

  16. lowandbhold permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:12 am

    Yay for setting a PDR on the treadmill!

  17. glutenfreecitygirl permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:16 am

    Hey Ashley! I haven’t commented in a loooong time, but I don’t know if you remember, I’m the girl from Baltimore who also plays field hockey (for the Hons!)…..I’ve been reading your blog, just sort of fell out of writing in mine and commenting on peoples’. Buuut, I just read that you’re running the Baltimore 10 miler in June…so am I!! I’m so excited and nervous. I hear it’s really hard, very hilly. It’s actually really close to my house (in Hampden). Maybe we can meet each other before or after the race! πŸ™‚ Oh and I love love your pictures from CR. I went there a few years ago and it was so amazing.

  18. February 18, 2010 8:00 am

    go you! great job pushing yourself on the treadmill Ashley! Love the figs! Happy New Year ( late!)

  19. February 18, 2010 1:34 pm

    yummmmy! that oatmeal looks awesome!
    yay for the Baltimore Miler! i would go but i for sure.. WILL NOT be running! lol id much rather have some bubble tea and cheer everyone on.. haha

  20. February 18, 2010 10:59 pm

    Congrats on the extra 0.5 mile! That’s how I always push that extra distance, I just think about it in 5 minute increments πŸ™‚

  21. Arianne permalink
    February 19, 2010 12:55 am

    Hey Ashley! It’s been a while since I commented! I wanted to let you know that I tried your squash and leek pizza tonight! I had to make some changes though; I used pepperjack cheese and white thincrust dough. It was really good – I was a little nervous because I bought leeks for the first time about two weeks ago… then I got the stomach flu and had to postpone making a dish with them. This was a perfect meal! I am going to make it for Benjamin over spring break, hopefully this time with whole wheat pizza crust. Too bad we don’t have a Trader Joe’s here in Blacksburg. Okay, happy posting!!

    • February 22, 2010 10:17 am

      so glad you tried the recipe and liked it!! nice twist you added, love me some pepperjack cheese!

  22. February 19, 2010 1:22 am

    Sounds like a great run, Ashley! I haven’t had a run like that in so long, but remembering when we were both training for the 10K and reading your blog is making me want to run again. Struggled to finish 2 miles on the treadmill today 😦 I know it will come back, though!

    I will definitely check out your sis’ blog!

    Never thought of Chinese New Year as a new beginning like that. I like it πŸ™‚ Gung Hay Fat Choy!

  23. February 20, 2010 3:56 pm

    Does that Caco Powder just add a chocolate flavor to your foods? Great job on the run btw!

    • February 22, 2010 7:21 am

      yes, and it was great πŸ™‚ maca plain is a little strong to me, so the combo of maca and cacao was perfect!

  24. February 21, 2010 8:55 pm

    I gotta try the maca!!! That bowl looks glorioussss πŸ˜€

Leave a comment