Skip to content

Snow day pizza

February 10, 2010

Today is officially my first snow day since graduation! The weather has been absolutely crazy here, and the weather guys are saying that we could have up to 50 inches of snow from just two snowfalls. The roads are a mess, really the whole city is a mess. I’m glad that work closed because it would just cause more accidents, nothing is plowed.  

I took the day to do some cooking in the kitchen.  The day before I went to my local produce market to pick up some veggies for the upcoming storm. I saw some leeks and snatched them up. I’d always wanted to try them and thought this would be the perfect opportunity.

Saturday I realized that the only recipes I could really find was potato and leek soup. Seeing that I had no potatoes I had to go a different route. I figured it was time that I came up with my own recipe.

And so my  Squash, Leek, and Goat Cheese Flatbread Pizza was born.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb squash ( I used half of a kabocha squash) diced into cubes
  • 2 leeks sliced thinly on the white sections and only an inch into the light green section, then thoroughly washed
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • as much goat cheese as you like 🙂
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove finely minced
  • 1/2 tbsp dried thyme
  • pizza dough

I roasted my cubed squash at 375 for approx 30 minutes, and flipped them once or twice during cooking time. Make sure they are tender. I added some salt to them before they went into the oven as well.

While your squash is looking in the oven its time to cook the leeks. Heat a pan on medium heat then melt the tbsp butter in the pan. Add the sliced leeks into the pan and cook while frequently stirring for 10 minutes. Add some salt and pepper to the mix for a little seasoning.

I had some frozen pizza dough from the last time I made my own from scratch and thawed it out until it was ready to be rolled out. I personally think the ones you can buy from Trader Joes for $.99 are amazing.

Mix your one chopped clove of garlic with the 3 tbsp of olive oil in a small dish.

Once your pizza dough is rolled out, spread the oil and garlic mixture on the dough evenly as your “sauce”, then add on top the sauteed leeks and sprinkle on the dried thyme.

Once your squash is roasted you can add them on top as well as our preferred amount of goat cheese. Me, I like a lot 🙂 After you take your squash out, turn your oven temperature to 450.

Then throw your pizza in the 450 degree oven for approximately 10 minutes until the crust is golden.

The flavor combos on this flatbread pizza was perfect and I was so happy with my end result. This will be remade time and time again!
Hope everyone is being safe if you’re in an area that got lots of snow!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 8:56 am

    yayay for snow days! your pizza puts mine to shame! that is a great alternative to sauce!

  2. Megan permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:28 am

    Yay for snow days! The snow really is crazy here though…

    That pizza looks amazing too!!

  3. February 10, 2010 9:55 am

    That looks amazing!! Enjoy your snow day!

  4. February 10, 2010 9:56 am

    ooh that pizza looks wonderful! I hear you – I heart the .99 TJ’s dough!!

    Love the pupper/snow pic!!!

  5. February 10, 2010 10:39 am

    ah, i’ve never had a snow day…or any day off for weather stuff! i’ve only had fire days…

    the pizza looks great! awesome creativity with the leeks!

  6. February 10, 2010 10:39 am

    The flatbread pizza looks fantastic! Enjoy your snow day and keep warm. xoxo

  7. February 10, 2010 10:46 am

    Aww Eden! I love seeing the puppies frolic in the snow – it makes me want to play with them! Enjoy your snow day!!

  8. February 10, 2010 11:07 am

    woo woo — snow day over hurr too.. lovez it! stay warm and toasty 🙂

  9. hhhhheidi permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:46 am

    I wish we got some snow in Seattle this year. We got absolutely zero. Bummer, it looks like a lot of fun (aside from going out in on the roads)

    Your pizza looks super yummy!!!! Yay for leeks!

  10. February 10, 2010 12:14 pm

    Stay warm!!

    Do leeks taste like onions? I don’t know if I’ve ever had one. I sort of think of them as a big green onion, but don’t know if that’s really what they are.

  11. February 10, 2010 1:03 pm

    Yay snow days! So are you getting the crazy winds etc? I hear the snowpacalypse up in B’more is pretty intense! I miss snow…but I do not miss 3 feet of it!

  12. February 10, 2010 1:06 pm

    Woo! Snow day!

    Aww, Eden is so cute!! That pizza looks so yummy!! Stay warm and safe!!

  13. fromatopink permalink
    February 10, 2010 1:08 pm

    That looks delicious! Do you make pizza deliveries? 😉

  14. February 10, 2010 1:30 pm

    I ❤ snow days. They come few and far between, enjoy! But I do hope that the weather clears up for you guys soon, I bet it isn't fun with such massive amounts of snow.

    Stay warm and safe!

  15. February 10, 2010 1:46 pm

    Mmmmm LOVE unique pizzas like that!!

    EDEN IS ADORABLE! How well does that harness work? Jules, our husky, is totally fine on a leash with her normal collar but our clydesdale, oops I mean our bulldog Jax, is HORRIBLE on a leash and practically drags me EVERYWHERE!

  16. February 10, 2010 2:44 pm

    i freakin LOVE your pics!! they look so good and always leave me cravvving whatever you make!

    stay warm!

  17. February 10, 2010 2:52 pm

    The pizza looks awesome!

  18. Allison permalink
    February 10, 2010 2:58 pm

    i miss eden, but i miss hershey more 😦 so i was thinking maybe to get into to the groove of things with this 10 mile race we have coming up in June (possibly for me?) I could start up a blog for some inspiration? what do ya think? miss you like crazy, this is the longest i think we will be apart 😦 with china and costa rica, school, and me staying at school this summer, so visits need to be arranged asap!

  19. February 10, 2010 3:12 pm

    oooh love the idea of a cheesy squash pizza! im going to plagiarize this 🙂

  20. February 10, 2010 3:26 pm

    Beautiful pizza!

  21. February 10, 2010 7:57 pm

    gorgeous pizza!!! I love Eden!! I have been so eager to adopt a dog, not sure yet when but I will! glad she liked the snow, hope you are staying warm up there and power and everything! 🙂

  22. February 10, 2010 8:52 pm

    ya’ll are really getting slammed with that snow, my goodness and I thought we had it bad here in Richmond! the pizza looks fantastic – I’ve never cooked with leeks either but have been curious to try doing so soon 🙂

  23. charmcitykim permalink
    February 10, 2010 8:53 pm

    I love playing with different pizza toppings! Nicely done.

  24. February 10, 2010 11:28 pm

    Hooray for a snow day. Would have loved one here. Your flatbread pizza sounds divine. Glad you enjoyed the day!

  25. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:36 pm

    that pizza truly looks sO good! enjoy your snow day 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  26. February 11, 2010 3:18 pm

    I hope you enjoyed your snow day. The snow has been crazy hasn’t it? Your pizza looks incredible as usual. I need to try this recipe since I make a lot of pizzas and am always looking for something different.

  27. February 12, 2010 12:06 am

    I think that looks like a perfect snowy day pizza! It was awfully resourceful, and as always looks delicious

  28. March 23, 2010 10:59 am

    Get at me if you’re interested in a guest blogger spot

Leave a Reply

