Skip to content

back to you

February 4, 2010

Hi loves! i’m sorry I haven’t posted in a bit, things had been pretty crazy for me once I got back from Costa Rica, I was just really busy and didn’t end up having the time to get to a good post. I’m back though, and ready to finally catch up in all of your blogs as well! My google reader looks like mount everest right now, but i’ll plow through.

The other day I had lunch at Liquid Earth. I’d been dying to eat there as long as I can remember, and had only once gotten a sandwich and juice to go. Liquid Earth is a vegan/vegetarian restaurant right by my work that consistently gets great reviews, and big meat lovers even enjoy their meals there. It’s cozy and cute and I eagerly browsed the menu and could have picked about 10 things I wanted to try. I will HAVE to get a group together to go when people are down for Fitbloggin. You guys will love it.

I decided to start with a butternut squash chili soup that came with a side of bread. This was exactly what I needed on a cold windy day and it warmed me right up. I will have to come up with my own version of this soup at home, it was a winner.

For my main meal I got the Reuben. I haven’t had a realย Reubenย in so long and this was the item that I knew I had to get. It was marinated tofu, with cheese,ย sauerkraut, and thousand island dressing. The tofu tasted exactly like corned beef, it was surreal. This sandwich was gone in about 2 seconds flat.

I decided to leave with their in-house baked vegan cookies. I went for the oatmeal raisin and it was just as chewy as I would have wanted it to be. Jam packed with plump golden raisins, it was a great ending to a lovely meal.

I loved the restaurant, they had a full chalkboard wall with their drink specialties listed. They also had a ton of different juices available, I’m going to have to find one that I enjoy.

I’ve got to gush about a recipe I found on Avery’s blog. She had a recipe recently for chocolate chip cookie dough bites. The ingredients sounded too good to be true. Cashews, oats, maple syrup, and chocolate chips. I decided I had to make them, and polished them off by rolling them in some unsweetened coconut I had on hand. I threw them in the fridge and let them chill. Once they had chilled long enough (or as long as I could handle without busting into the fridge) I tried them and they were heaven in my mouth. Chase is also obsessed, I’d say even more than me. He practically polished off the entire container in one sitting. Successful recipe if i’d say so myself! Thanks Avery ๐Ÿ™‚

The other night I decided it was time to make some Super Charge Me cookies from Eat, Drink, and be Vegan. I’ve made these cookies once before and they were pretty tasty but mine came out kind of dry. Once I started making them I realized that I didn’t have any flax seed. I put my thinking cap on and tried to figure out different things to make these cookies still good. I ended up adding about another 1/4 c. of quick oats, and then added a good amount more of almond butter. I switched up a few ingredients and added sweetened coconut shreds ( they taste just that much better than unsweetened, its worth it), some chopped FIGS, and then pretty much stuck to the original recipe for the rest. They came out MUCH better than my first batch. I made sure to put my different steps down in the cookbook for future baking. I love when you can make a good recipe your own and it turns out great.

I got on a fig kick after that. They were delicious. This was actually my first time trying figs! I found a container of dried California figs at Trader Joes and decided to give them a whirl. They are amazing. The next morning I made a bowl of oats with half a banana, and then added some chopped figs, almond butter and some toasted coconut. This was almost dessert like, it was delicious but way too sweet for me in the morning. The flavors melted together so well though, decadence at breakfast for sure.

For my final creation in the kitchen, last night I set out to make my first ever soup. I’m always in the mood for soup when it’s cold out but have never actually gotten around to making one before. This past weekend at Barnes and Nobles I picked up a new cookbook that was in the bargain books section. Great recipes and pumpkin soup was one my list of things to make. I ended up making half of the recipe since I didn’t think Chase would eat any. I used half of a kabocha squash and it turned out amazing! It needed a shake of salt and pepper and it was perfect. I’m definitely going to be making a lot more soups now, especially since it seems like more snow is coming our way this weekend. Soup time for sure.

On the exercise front, things have been going great. I ended up going to yoga 5 times last week and couldn’t have felt better. My practice is becoming so much more than it once was, and I get excited for each class. I bought a small journal at Barnes and Nobles to write about my journey more in depth. After each class i’ll write about how it went, different things I could do, couldn’t do, and so on. I’m excited to keep track and to see my progress ๐Ÿ™‚

Runningwise, this week was my first week back. I hadn’t run in an entire month due to my knee sprain. I finally felt like it was good enough to run on but i’ve decided to take it slow. The Cherry Blossom 10 miler also sends out a virtual training plan, and the beginner one seemed perfect for me at this stage. Walk/Runs this week which is exactly what I needed to get back into running. I want to ease my knee back into it, I can’t afford to hurt it again. I’m excited to get back into the swing of things and can’t wait for this huge goal to be accomplished.

Well thats all for now, time to catch up on everyone else! bye now!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 7:51 am

    I have been dying to try Liquid Earth! I’m glad it’s as awesome as I imagine it to be!

  2. February 4, 2010 7:58 am

    oh that looks like a fantastic restuarant! where in b’more is it? i’m going to have to go there when I visit home in June!

    Oh, and WELCOME BACK! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. February 4, 2010 8:15 am

    Welcome back!! Everything looks amazing! Liquid Earth sounds like a foodie dream!! Those cookie dough bites look pretty good themselves too ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. February 4, 2010 8:23 am

    I have been meaning to try Liquid Earth for the longest time! It looks wonderful! And a Reuben made with tofu sounds divine! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. February 4, 2010 8:24 am

    ok i may need to go to fitbloggin if just for that reuben sandwich! missed you chica!!

  6. February 4, 2010 8:25 am

    I LOVE Liquid Earth! I feel like it doesn’t get enough attention (like it should). Its so good.

    And now I want some figs! I love figs!

  7. February 4, 2010 8:32 am

    ahhh liquid earth my love! haha i havent been there since september…must go back soonnnn!!!

  8. February 4, 2010 8:45 am

    Good luck tackling that Google Reader, mine piles up so quickly lately!

    That vegetarian version of a Reuben sounds cool, glad you enjoyed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope your transition back into running this week has gone smoothly.

  9. February 4, 2010 8:57 am

    ah google reader post-vacay is always ridiculous. I definitely encourage you to
    “accidentally” click mark as read ๐Ÿ˜‰ you’ll be glad ya did!

  10. February 4, 2010 9:30 am

    That restaurant looks awesome! Both sets of cookies look SO good, too! I love the idea of a yoga journal – I need to try doing that (either in a book or online) to help me track my progress and transition.

  11. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    February 4, 2010 10:01 am

    mmmmmmm those cookies look delish!!!

    I am going to be in Baltimore at the end of March visiting my brother I will have to check that place out!

  12. February 4, 2010 10:04 am

    That restaurant seems really cool and that oatmeal cookie looks delicious!
    Also, I like your idea of a yoga journal

  13. February 4, 2010 10:10 am

    Those cookies look awesome and professional – love!

    I’m glad you’re loving the yoga so much – I hope the transition back into running goes smoothly!

  14. Megan permalink
    February 4, 2010 10:12 am

    Ahh that’s really exciting you made it to liquid earth! Now it’s my turn to get down there!! That sandwich looks amazing!

  15. February 4, 2010 10:21 am

    Welcome back, lovey! Missed you!! Those eats look delicious!!! and that veggie Reuben is crazzzy! It really looks like corned beef!!!

  16. February 4, 2010 10:42 am

    Wow, that tofu Reuben looks incredible! Welcome home, I’m sure you had lots of fun on your trip. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. February 4, 2010 11:25 am

    so glad you’re back! I miss you too – my blogging has been sporadic. I just started another blog to track my weight loss before the wedding (and after that…but that’s my short term goal). Feel free to stop by – I need someone to read so I don’t quit posting! ๐Ÿ™‚

    yay for our races being on the same weekend! I wish we could run together!! You will do great – one piece of advice….don’t give up on the race if your training doesn’t go as planned…I only ran 7 miles before my first 1/2 and I did great. (couldn’t walk for a week after…but that’s besides the point ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    Take care!!!
    Kaneil
    (new bloggy is kaneil.blogspot.com….this is tacky, I know…but you’re my friend..hahah)

  18. Jordan permalink
    February 4, 2010 11:35 am

    The Hippy Lippy smoothie at Liquid Earth is fantastic, as are all of their juices. Love it there!

  19. February 4, 2010 1:20 pm

    I loooove restaurants like that. Your meal looked so good!

  20. February 4, 2010 4:59 pm

    good luck running again! i hope the knee holds up! i’m trying so hard to let mine heal right now; it’s driving me crazy!

  21. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 4, 2010 5:05 pm

    liquid earth sounds really good ๐Ÿ™‚ i love reubens too so that sounds fantasticc..good luck w/ running ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  22. February 4, 2010 5:41 pm

    Their bread alone looks like it was a worthwhile restaurant trip!

  23. February 4, 2010 7:03 pm

    Figs are wonderful. I always liked Fig Newtons as a kid, but never had a real fig until a few years ago.

  24. February 4, 2010 11:55 pm

    I’m such a big soup person, especially on a cold day. But I can’t say I’ve ever tried actually making one

  25. February 5, 2010 9:40 am

    I feel ya on Reader being Mt. Everest – I’m currently hiking up that thing myself! That reuben looks fantastic! I used to love turkey reubens back in the day so this version has me craving one. I NEED to make Avery’s recipe for cookie dough balls, everyone loves them! Glad you’re back to running (and taking it easy)!!

  26. February 5, 2010 2:10 pm

    nice! i have been wanting to go to Liquid Earth for awhile now. The last time we tried to go for dinner and they were already closed. I HAVE to try that reuben – it looks awesome!

    Stay warm this weekend!

  27. Alyson permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:18 pm

    Wow, what a post, everything looks fantastic! I just made my 1st soup recently too but used butternut. I haven’t tried figs yet, but this is definitely encouraging!

  28. February 5, 2010 9:24 pm

    That restaurant looks wicked good!!

  29. February 7, 2010 10:50 am

    yo yo yo .. wigedy wack welcome back! daily goods in da blog-housee!

    I’m so weird sometimes. I must try these TJ figs! Are you snowed in? My sis is, stay warm! Gather firewood incase you need to build a fire ( jk ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

  30. February 9, 2010 8:03 pm

    I left you a little something on my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

