Skip to content

pura vida! the food and the yoga

January 27, 2010

I couldn’t have asked for anything better foodwise. I fell in love with every meal I ate, and practically licked my plate clean after each meal. Vida Asana strives on using local food. Most of the ingredients came from their own garden. Fresh food, mostly vegetarian, and so many amazing flavors. No lie, I was obsessed with everything I ate.

Breakfast every morning was served at 7AM. Fresh fruit including pinapple, bananas, papaya, and watermelon were options every morning. Toast, eggs, and my favorite of all, gallo pinto was also served. Gallo Pinto is Costa Rica’s signature dish. Rice and beans, but so much more than that. The flavor was incredible, and I didn’t go a day without it.

Fresh fish caught that morning, curried cauliflower and broccoli, salads at every meal, the most amazing garlic bread, and barley.

This was the first time i’ve eaten barley as a side dish. I’ve only ever had it sometimes in soups. I LOVE it. I’m going to the grocery store today to buy some, I enjoyed how it was a little crunchy and had some bite to it. An amazing grain.

Barley cakes from the leftover barley, brown rice, these sesame crunchy things, meatless meatballs, salad

FLAN! i pretty much just ate the dulce de leche on top. Their caramel is out of this world.

Couscous with veggies, salad, more delicious garlic bread, and some vegetable soup that was to die for.

Spinach crepes!!

Sauteed green papaya, roasted garlic potatoes, yucca cakes, grilled PLANTAINS (HEAVEN) cabbage salad, brown rice

Their type of pad thai, tofu skewers

tacos! Everything was so fresh and delicious. The pico de gallo I could have eaten by the tubfull.

barleyyy, cheesy potatoes, veggies, garlic bread, grilled plantains with cheese!

Pasta night. marinara, and pesto pasta and ceviche. Couldn’t get fresher than fish caught that day.

Not once after eating any of this food did my stomach hurt. Eating whole foods, fresh foods, and local foods was an amazing addition to this trip. Β Each meal lasted me through the day to the next without feeling like I was starving. I also bought a half gallon of coconut water at the store for $3 which was perfect for keeping me hydrated through all of our activities.

Now onto the yoga….

Yoga was twice a day usually, 10 AM and 6PM. The class was either taught my Camille or Heather. I’d never been to one of Heather’s classes before, but Camille told me they had similar styles…. which meant that it was going to be an intense week.

I would definitely have to say I was probably one of the least experienced yogis there. I haven’t been doing yoga for that long, but I felt like thats what made it even more special to me. It showed me a whole level of yoga that i’ve never known before. It showed me how practicing could make me feel amazing, powerful, and strong. Β I tried postures i’ve never even considered trying before. Falling is the worst that can happen, so when you do, you just pick yourself up and try it again. I learned how to go from crow into a headstand, that was a huge accomplishment for me. There were times when I literally thought my body could do no more, and I wouldn’t be able to have a successful class, but somehow… my body adjusted and I got through the 90 minutes of class and felt better than when I started. After 6 days in Costa Rica my body now craves yoga. I want to go through the postures, I want to develop my practice, it just makes me feel good. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I grew as a person while I was there. I learned that I can be thrown into a new situation, with new faces, and I can thrive. I can make new friends, new relationships, and in turn it helps me strengthen the ones I already have. I couldn’t recommend enough that you do something like this for yourself at least once in your life. You deserve it, you deserve to be selfish and do something for you and you alone.

Thank you Camille and Heather for leading me on the trip of a lifetime ❀

pura vida

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 1:37 pm

    What an incredible trip and journey! I might have to sneak into one of your yoga classes with you. It’s now definitely piqued my interest!

    • January 27, 2010 1:39 pm

      now that you’re by towson you should go to their towson location!! and the other teacher that led the retreat teaches there. they’re having a special for new students, $40 unlimited for your first month… i would def go. charmcityyoga.com you’ll love it girl πŸ™‚

  2. January 27, 2010 3:01 pm

    OH MY GOSH!! droolingggg over that food! that is awesome!

  3. January 27, 2010 3:23 pm

    Everything looks so delicioussss!!!

  4. January 27, 2010 3:34 pm

    OMG ash your trip looks and sounds AMAZING….so glad u enjoyed costa- i can’t wait to go back now!!! Gallo pinto, plantains and yucca are definitely staples- aren’t the people so friendly too??

    • January 27, 2010 3:49 pm

      oh girl, the people were absolutely amazing! i loved every single thing about it πŸ™‚

  5. January 27, 2010 4:54 pm

    oh. YUM! the food just may trump the beach photo πŸ˜‰

  6. January 27, 2010 5:08 pm

    Oh my god, those pictures literally made my mouth water. It all looks so delicious!! πŸ™‚

  7. January 27, 2010 6:55 pm

    I just read all three of your posts. Your trip sounds absolutely amazing!

  8. Megan permalink
    January 27, 2010 7:10 pm

    Ahhh I just read all your recaps of your trip.. it looks like you had an absolute BLAST!!!!! I’m so jealous πŸ™‚

  9. January 27, 2010 8:07 pm

    What an amazing experience. Especially with the food, not gonna lie. Those photos had me drooling!

  10. January 27, 2010 8:55 pm

    Wow! I’m so glad you had a great time! I went to a yoga retreat in CR in 2008, and after your pictures, it is making me want to go back soooo badly!

    Pura Vida!

  11. January 27, 2010 9:35 pm

    Yummy pictures. Do you know about these yoga books?

    http://www.yogavidya.com/freepdfs.html

  12. January 28, 2010 11:45 am

    Everything looks delicious!!

  13. Jordan permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:52 am

    That ceviche looks fantastic!! All the food really…
    The horseback riding (great pic of you with the horse!), yoga, beach, zip lining, it all sounds so wonderful. I don’t know if I could hang with you in a yoga class but I’d be up for trying! All about individual effort right? πŸ™‚
    I give you a lot of credit for doing something like this, leaving the country alone for a new experience is a frightening thought, but very enriching in the end…I just have to get over that hump πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for sharing your journey!

  14. January 28, 2010 3:13 pm

    i just caught up on your trip. WOW. seriously, what an awesome experience. i can only imagine how amazing it was! from the food to the people to the scenery to the yoga…you are so lucky!!! must be super weird being home LOL.

  15. January 28, 2010 10:22 pm

    Sounds like an amazing experience. So proud of you for getting out of your comfort zone and going! The food looks delish, and I love how everything is right near the water…looks like a welcome relief after winter’s cold weather.

    I agree that sometimes we just need to do something for ourselves. πŸ™‚

  16. January 28, 2010 10:27 pm

    I definitely agree that the food was worth its own post. It all looks so delicious!

  17. January 28, 2010 10:31 pm

    I just finally got a chance to look through your vacay pics. I remember zip-lining in Guatemala – it was soo much fun! I was scared at first but when I actually did it, I kinda wish it was faster and higher πŸ™‚

    Your foods look amazing. It reminds me of my trip in Puerto Vallarta, I ate soooo much fresh fruits and seafood. Well, that’s pretty much all I ate. I could forgo all the other stuff because we can get that stateside but fresh fruits and seafood? To die for! (So was the pico de gallo as you mentioned)

    That yoga class looks so intense. So cute. So real.

    Hope you had a blast on your trip with the girls. It certainly looks like you did πŸ™‚

  18. angieeatspeace permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:59 pm

    The look looks SO.AMAZING.

  19. January 29, 2010 10:33 am

    Oh my gosh! That food looks and sounds just fabulous and fresh! What an incredible journey..

  20. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 29, 2010 11:40 am

    all of the food looks incredible – rice n’ beans for breakfast? now thats a change from oats, bet ya didn’t miss oatmeal one bit!

    I just texted you – you may have an unwanted house guest =)

  21. January 29, 2010 2:53 pm

    I just caught up on all your trip recaps and I am in awe. This is something that I have always wanted to do, but never had the guts to actually do it. I am seriously inspired and jealous.
    That’s so awesome that you pushed your comfort zone to new levels in so many different ways! Looks like you had an amazing experience!

  22. January 30, 2010 4:12 pm

    What amazing color and freshness!!! Such a great post …makes me crave yoga

  23. January 31, 2010 2:25 pm

    OMG – your trip looked amazing! I love caramel and the dulce de leche looked fabulous!

  24. January 31, 2010 3:37 pm

    That food looks amazing!! So lucky to have all that fresh food!!

  25. February 1, 2010 5:04 pm

    Wow, it absolutely looks like a trip of a lifetime!!! I’m such a huge fan of hearty breakfasts that have an abundance of fresh fruit. You would SO do well in Hong Kong!!! I know exactly how to be your tour guide. Hehehehe I’m so glad you had such a blast sweetie!! I hope you’re all refreshed and happy back in the land of the snowy. πŸ™‚

  26. February 2, 2010 8:59 pm

    WOW! I love it! I love that you went on this retreat and absolutely fell in love with the food, the people, Costa Rica and yoga! I have always wanted to go on a retreat but I’ve never had the guts to do so. After reading your posts, I would love to go. Congrats on taking on this challenge and succeeding. You are awesome and I admire your strength and courage. Can we practice together?!!! It would be amazing!

  27. February 3, 2010 8:35 am

    now im all caught up on the trip to costa rica.. amazing! the pictures were beautiful! i would have loved to do the zip line, we had one in my backyard at one point. yoga everyday twice a day?? awesome!
    im glad you got to go!!!

  28. February 3, 2010 12:22 pm

    Wow! What great eats- you got to eat all thAt food?! No fair!

  29. charmcitykim permalink
    February 3, 2010 3:45 pm

    So jealous.

Leave a Reply

