Skip to content

Pura Vida! part uno

January 27, 2010

Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica is where we all ventured for 6 days at Vida Asana for our yoga retreat. I was more than ready to get there and couldn’t wait to see what was in store for me.  Going by myself on this trip was a big leap for me. Something i’d never done, but always have wanted to do. Completely independent and surrounding myself with amazing new people and places.

When I got to the airport at 4 AM my nerves were immediately calmed. I found one of my fellow yogi retreaters Emily at the check in line and we were both relieved to have found each other. Friend made before we even got there 🙂 Once we all arrived in San Jose, CR we waited till the whole group was together then made our way into our huge van to take us up the windy mountains and to Playa Hermosa. On the way there we stopped at a bridge to take a look at one some huge crocs that lay out underneath the sun. They were massive.

After about a 2 hour ride we arrived at Vida Asana. It is owned by a family and we felt welcomed instantly.

I got settled into my room, and found out that I had my own little balcony 🙂

First stop for our first full day, to the beach! We went to Playa Hermosa which is known for their massive waves. The International Surf Competition was held there. Let it also be known that the surf lessons were taught at Jaco Beach, about 10 minutes away with much smaller waves 🙂

We all gathered up ready to jump in the van. Here’s some of us that just happened to be ready.

The beach was gorgeous! My heart melted.

We had a tight schedule planned for the week. After we hit the beach from 8-10, we had yoga from 10-11:30. We walked down to the shallah.

This my friends was natural hot yoga. I don’t think I stopped sweating the entire trip.

Our first excursion was to hike up to the waterfalls.  They were beautiful and everyone couldn’t wait to jump. Except me. I’ve never been a fan of water, let alone a fan of heights. You can never find me swimming in water that is deeper than I am tall. Everyone took turns jumping from the tree branch and telling me I had to jump. I just couldn’t do it. Me and deep water don’t really mix well. After everyone jumped a few times each we all headed back down to walk back to the van. In my head I thought, okay you’re in Costa Rica. You don’t go here every day, and you don’t see waterfalls every day. Just jump. Most everyone was at the bottom, but my friend Kim told me she’d take a picture of me jumping. I jumped from a rock, not the tree but still… I jumped! Fear conquered, and I felt amazing.

my splash!

The beach the next morning was day 1 of surf lessons. I couldn’t participate in the surf lessons because of my knee sprain, but I loved watching everyone.

Day 2 excursion- horse back riding! I hadn’t ridden a horse since I was in elementary school when we lived in England.  I raised my hand in being inexperienced and I got the best horse ever. I fell in love. We rode them up mountains and then ended the ride on the beach. I could have ridden my horse all day and would have been in bliss. It was an amazing experience.

Hope you enjoyed reading about my trip so far! More to come, and also a whole separate post on the food. It was that good.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 8:27 am

    Yeah! The pics looks great 🙂 Glad you had a good time.

  2. January 27, 2010 8:42 am

    You look so absolutely relaxed in the pics!!! It’s awesome!!!!

  3. January 27, 2010 8:57 am

    Looks amazing! I would love to do something like this..

  4. January 27, 2010 9:15 am

    OMG! I NEED to go on a retreat like this! Horseback riding, hiking, yoga. Sounds PERFECT!

  5. January 27, 2010 10:48 am

    I am seriously so proud of you!
    First, for taking chances and taking this amazing trip by yourself, and second, for taking that massive jump!
    I am also pretty scared of heights, and do not know if I would have the courage to do that. Kudos to you!

  6. tryingtoheal permalink
    January 27, 2010 12:59 pm

    horseback riding on the beach!! what a dream!!!

    and great job doing all those amazing things! way to be brave!

  7. January 27, 2010 1:23 pm

    Love the pictures. This seems like something I might be interested in, I would love to go to a retreat! ..

  8. January 27, 2010 4:44 pm

    ah! the crocs are crazy big! i love the house you stayed in. so awesome! the beach is incredible. love the photo of you on the horse. YAY for your vacay!

  9. January 27, 2010 5:03 pm

    Amazing!! The pics are so beautiful! Glad you had such an amazing time.

  10. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:02 pm

    your pictures are breathtaking! and you look absolutely beautiful =)

  11. February 1, 2010 10:46 pm

    wow – wow! what a great trip! all of your pictures are amazing. sounds like such a unique and awesome experience.

Leave a Reply

