Skip to content

pura vida! part dos

January 27, 2010

With two yoga classes a day, a trip to the beach in the morning, and excursions in the afternoon we were always wiped our by the end of the night. Once we got some food in us though, it was fun to relax and enjoy each other’s company. Some nights we even had our own salsa lessons.

We also got to hang with the family dog Buddha. He made me miss Eden.

Another excursion I signed up for was zip lining!  Again, fear of heights kind of got me and I was nervous the entire way up. We found out there were 14 different lines, and I figured I’d be having my eyes shut the entire time and possibly screaming through each line. It wasn’t the case at all! I was so at ease once I started and completely took in all of the views. We were zip lining through the trees and across the ocean. It was unbelievable.

Once we were done and back to the building I noticed the mural painted on the wall. It cracked me up.

We took a trip to Manuel Antonio, a Costa Rican national park. It was breathtaking, and had lagoons that had volcanic rocks that we climbed on. Hiking around the park definitely got me exhausted but was worth every step. We even saw a tree that reminded us of Avatar. Tree of souls anyone?? 🙂

We had heard that usually you can spot monkeys in the park, and once we started walking back down the trails we spotted them. A huge group of white faced monkeys. Some of them got so close to us! Rumor is sometimes they throw poop at you, or jump on your head and steal your camera. We took lots of pics until one came up to us and showed his teeth. That was our sign it was time to peace out.

When we were near the end of our walk/hike we stumbled across a man with a little cart of fresh coconuts. Coconut water for $1!!!! Out of this world. No store bought brand compared, it was so refreshing and exactly what we needed. After we were done drinking the water, he would use his machete and cut it down to the meat for us to eat. So delicious.

Wednesday night was mojito night! Fresh made mojitos that ended up leading us to the local bar for ladies night!

Me and Em 🙂

Ladies!

Me and Camille 🙂

Kate, Em, and I late in the night

Thursday night was the sweat lodge. We ventured by the beach and found our way to the spot. We found out that there were 4 sessions of 20 minutes. Between each session you can walk out, and then cool yourself off with cold water. At anytime you were more than welcome to walk out if you felt too hot. I usually get pretty dehydrated quickly but I wanted to test it out to see how it would make me feel. it’s supposed to completely detox you and you’re supposed to leave feeling amazing.

It was far too hot for me. I made it almost to the end of the first session, but had to decide to leave. I did leave however with my sinuses completely cleared and also my skin felt amazing. There was just no way personally that I felt like I could have done 3 more sessions. I made my way to t he beach with everyone who had decided not to take part. Good decision on my part, because I got to see the sunset and it was the most beautiful sight i’d seen in a long time.

The trip had gone by so fast! I wanted to stay there forever. Friday morning we left bright and early for the airport. We took a few stops and one was at the top of the mountains. The views in Costa Rica just can’t be beat.

We got to share pics, reminisce with stories and just chat it up while waiting at the airport. I ended up buying 3 little hand carved monkeys. See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil. I love them.  At the end of the trip one of our yoga instructors Heather gave us each a rock from the beach. A gratitude rock to keep with us, and keep us grounded. I posed my monkey with my rock 🙂

Luckily I had a few of my newest friends with me on the same flight. When we landed in Miami for our layover we were at the very end of the airport and so exhausted.  We found a man in a cart and flagged him down and I practically begged him to take us to our gate which was ridiculously far away.He said yes, picked us up and drove us there, and this perfectly ended our trip!

please excuse my dinosaur neck. That happens when I get really excited and smile big haha.

Final post on the amazing food and alllllll about the yoga to come next! xo

16 Comments leave one →
  1. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:46 am

    Your trip looks so amazing!! It looks like you had an experience you will never forget!!!

  2. fromatopink permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:12 am

    It sounds like you had an absolutely incredible experience! And the pictures are phenomenal – what a beautiful place! Can’t wait to hear about the food. 😉

  3. January 27, 2010 10:24 am

    Girl, I’ve BEEN to Manuel Antonio! I have several of the same photos, lol! Isn’t it simply gorgeous! We honeymooned there. LOVE.

  4. January 27, 2010 10:25 am

    Soooo jealous of your trip! It looks like it was fabulous. Can’t wait to see and read more 🙂

  5. January 27, 2010 10:52 am

    Thank you SO much for sharing your trip with us.
    The pictures and experience are beautiful.

  6. January 27, 2010 11:42 am

    Paradise!! I am super jealous of your trip! It looks like you had an amazing time.

  7. January 27, 2010 12:19 pm

    So proud of you that you went on this trip by yourself and met new friends and went out of your comfort zone – glad you enjoyed the zip line!!

    I love monkeys, and I probably would have tried to feed them!

    Of course, you know I can’t wait for the food pics! 😀

  8. tryingtoheal permalink
    January 27, 2010 12:57 pm

    Oh my gosh what a great looking trip! the monkeys are so cute!!!

  9. January 27, 2010 1:14 pm

    Amazing!!! I have always wanted to go zip-lining — so fun 🙂

  10. January 27, 2010 3:30 pm

    Your trip looks amazing!! Makes me want to escape right now! 😀

  11. January 27, 2010 4:46 pm

    awe, buddha and the monkey were definitely the highlights of this post. i always love to see pups when i am out of town! always photographing them 🙂 i hope there are monkeys in jamaica! i am in LOVE with that purple dress!! where did you get it?! ahh. love all the photos!

  12. January 27, 2010 4:57 pm

    Wow-it looks like an absolutely amazing trip!!!!

  13. January 27, 2010 5:06 pm

    Ahh, the pictures just keep getting better, amazingggggg!

  14. Ashley H. permalink
    January 27, 2010 6:51 pm

    I can’t even get over these pictures – they are amazing. You can actually see in your expression how you had relaxed by the end of the trip. The pictures are outstanding, and how great it must feel to have done something like this all on your own and love each and every second of it.

  15. January 27, 2010 8:23 pm

    Wow looks like a really amazing trip, I love all of your pictures!

  16. February 5, 2010 3:07 pm

    Hey girlie!
    Just catching up on your posts…looks like you had such a wonderful trip! The photos are gorgeous. Glad you are home safe!

Leave a Reply

