Skip to content

good to go

January 8, 2010

Thanks for being patient with me and for your warm thoughts while I was waiting to hear back from the Dr. I just got the phone call that the x-ray came back normal, and when the nurse called and I asked about running she siad that I should be able to start running again next week. Β I’m going to wait it out and see how it feels and take the rest of the week completely off of exercising to ensure it heals. Β The only thing the Dr. said about Costa Rica was that I shouldn’t surf, that if I fell on my knee again that could be dangerous, so that should be the only activity i’ll have to stay away from.

I’ve been antsy all week wanting to get a run in, and wanting to do some yoga, but I knew my body was telling me it needed to rest. Unfortunately this means I won’t be able to go to my yoga teacher’s New Years Retreat 😦 But i’ll be in Costa Rica next week, so there’s not too much to be sad about!

After my doctor’s appointment I went to my parent’s house to get some dinner and buy a rug finally for our bedroom. My mom and grandma made my favorite noodle dish. Tons of veggies in here and so incredibly delicious. There were also some soy sauce eggs and oyster sauce too. YUMMMMMM.

I’d really been in the mood for some snobby joes. I first made them when I had bought Veganomicon and hadn’t made them since. They are SO easy and quick to whip up and only get better as the flavors meld together.

This Saturday the girls and I are going to Atlantic City to celebrate one of my best friend Lauren’s 24th birthday! I’ve never been to AC before and can’t waittt! it’s going to be a weekend to remember ❀

Tomorrow morning my grandma is leaving to go back to Florida. Tonight after work we’ll be going to Carabbas for dinner. My mom loves it there and she’s obsessed with their calamari, so I know what appetizer will be ordered! I’m excited to get to go out to dinner with my family and Chase. This will also celebrate his official first week of work! He’s a big boy now πŸ™‚

Hope you all have an amazing weekend xo

29 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 2:10 pm

    Carrabas had a pretty good happy hour, too! πŸ™‚

  2. Jordan permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:13 pm

    So glad you got good news and you are all clear in Costa Rica! Sitting out and watching some of the surfers from the beach shouldn’t be too much of a punishment πŸ˜‰

    Have fun in AC! Had a bachelorette party there a few months ago and had a blast! If you’re having dinner, try Buddakhan if you can πŸ™‚

  3. January 8, 2010 2:20 pm

    girl im so glad you got good news! i know its so annoying not being able to do much but it could be worse and yo u have A GREAT ATTITUDE!! have an awesome weekend beautiful girl!

  4. January 8, 2010 2:25 pm

    So glad you didnt break anything girl : ) but Im sorry about not being able to go to Costa Rica, just remember thoughm everything happens for a reason , you will have a fun weekend in AC, I have never been there either but heard its fun!!!!

    Have a great weekend!!!! : )

  5. January 8, 2010 2:27 pm

    Yay! Take it easy lovely!

  6. January 8, 2010 2:38 pm

    Glad to hear your knee is okay! And that’s great that you are going to rest up, I bet you will be better than new next week πŸ™‚

    have fun at dinner tonight!

    And soy sauce eggs? I’ve never heard of that! Are they just hard-boiled with soy sauce on them?

  7. eatolive permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:48 pm

    just started reading πŸ™‚

    so sorry about your knee! good thing it will heal nicely though and allow you to have fun in Costa Rica (did I meantion my jealousy?) and run too!

  8. January 8, 2010 3:01 pm

    Glad to read the good news about your knee! You are so smart to take it slow and see how you feel. Happy Friday πŸ™‚

  9. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 8, 2010 3:04 pm

    glad you are resting & taking care of yourself!! it is also good to hear that your injury isn’t TOO serious. those eggs look awesomee!!

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  10. January 8, 2010 3:24 pm

    Costa Rica is here already? Wow, that came up SO fast! You lucky girl!!

    Have fun at dinner tonight πŸ™‚

  11. January 8, 2010 3:46 pm

    Glad everything turned out okay. Yay for Atlantic City and Costa Rica. How fun!

  12. January 8, 2010 4:48 pm

    aw yay for the good news!! Yikes, I better start packing for Costa Rica. .did I mention that I’m coming with you? πŸ˜‰

  13. January 8, 2010 4:50 pm

    i just got back from AC! you’re gonna LURVE it!

  14. January 8, 2010 5:16 pm

    yay! such good news! so glad that your injury wont keep you from missing out too much. you are gonna have SO MUCH FUN in costa rica!!! and AC with your girls…have a blast!

  15. January 8, 2010 5:25 pm

    I’m glad that it’s nothing major!! Those snobby joes look fantastic – I haven’t had them in a long time! Hope you have a blast this weekend!!

  16. January 8, 2010 7:03 pm

    So glad to hear that nothing is majorly wrong with your kneee! and I’m so jealous that you’re going to Costa Ricaaa! All of your food looks delishhh!!

  17. January 8, 2010 7:59 pm

    Glad to hear your appointment went well. I definitely want to try snobby joes, I have the recipe bookmarked in Veganimicon but haven’t gotten around to it yet!

  18. January 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    Mmm snobby joes!!

  19. January 9, 2010 1:24 am

    I’m glad you are OK and that you can go to Costa Rica. Just take it easy; your body will thank you for it later! Love that noodle dish! You are making me hunnnnngggrryyyy! I hope you had fun at dinner and congrats on Chase’s first week of work πŸ™‚

  20. Melissa permalink
    January 9, 2010 11:55 am

    I hope your knee heals up really fast. Have a great time in Atlantic City and in Costa Rica!
    How do you make that soup?

  21. January 9, 2010 2:24 pm

    so glad you’re good to go! love carrabas! Ive never been to atlantic city but I just know it will be a blast πŸ™‚

  22. strawberrysuitcase permalink
    January 9, 2010 3:30 pm

    i was so sad to hear about your knee injury. i am petrified of skiing. i am terrible and usually am that girl who cannot stop doing the pizza thing and i fly head-first down the mountain into the snack bar. that was my last time skiing. i hope your knee gets better. the body’s a wonderful thing and hopefully it won’t require as much off-time as you think to heal properly. glad you still had fun on your vacay, though!

  23. January 9, 2010 5:23 pm

    That’s so great you’re listening to your body and making it a rest week. I’ve actually read a few times that we should take rest weeks every couple months anyway. πŸ™‚
    Costa Rica sounds like it’s gonna be a blast!!!

  24. January 9, 2010 10:43 pm

    Glad your x-ray came back ok and that you can run next week and still go to Costa Rica! Hope it continues to feel better.

    You’re the second blogger I’ve seen make snobby joes this week. I think I’m going to join you! πŸ™‚

  25. January 10, 2010 3:24 am

    Ashhhhleyy!! Hi girlie!!! I’m loving the noodles and eggs!!! Only wish you were here in HK so I can take you shopping and eating. πŸ™‚ Have fun at dinner…calamari is too awesome not to order. πŸ˜‰ And I’m so glad that the Xray looked normal. Take care of yourself my dear!!

  26. January 10, 2010 9:32 am

    Glad to hear your knee is on the mend!

  27. January 10, 2010 9:42 pm

    I’m glad everything is ok. Costa Rica is going to be SO much fun!

  28. January 10, 2010 10:51 pm

    Phew! I’m glad your injury ain’t serious, and that you’ll be able to run soon. I know how you’re feeling. I haven’t been able to run for 3 weeks because of snow, so it felt REFRESHING to be finally able to run again!
    Never been to AC either…enjoy!

  29. January 10, 2010 11:29 pm

    so I somehow pulled a calf muscle or something and I haven’t been able to run in TWO weeks. I’ve actually been quite sad and depressed cause I feel all the improvement I’ve made will be lost. I hope you feel better! Have a great trip!

Leave a Reply

