Skip to content

girls night

December 29, 2009

Saturday night I had some of my girls over for a nice homemade dinner. Brie, pizza, and sangria were on the menu.

I feel like this holiday season brie was a main ingredient.  I baked brie one of my favorite ways.

cut the top of the rind off, then sliced a garlic clove and pushed them into the cheese. threw some fresh thyme on top, and topped with some red wine. Baked in a 350 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes until the brie is completely softened, and you have the most amazing brie spread. I cut up some french bread and it was the perfect appetizer.

I found a sangria recipe in my Martha Stewart Everyday Food magazine and used that to whip some up.

I decided to make two different pizza pies. I bought two bags of pizza dough from Trader Joes and then brainstormed on what kinds of pizza I wanted to make.

I ended up with a bbq chicken. bbq sauce on the bottom, some caramelized onions, cheese, grilled chicken, and some banana peppers. I honestly think that bbq sauce and banana peppers is the best flavor combo. Turns out I bought the hot banana peppers, and it was a little spicy for some of my friends 😉 I had no idea banana peppers came in different heat levels.

The second one was a grilled veggie pesto pizza.

I grilled up some eggplant and zucchini for the toppings. I spread a layer of pesto on the dough, then added on more caramelized onions, cheese, topped with eggplant and zucchini, then sprinkled some fresh goat cheese on top. Nothing beats homemade pizzas, the flavors were so good!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 8:25 am

    I love that idea for brie! I have never heard of pushing cloves into the brie – I bet it is soooo good.

  2. meyergirl permalink
    December 29, 2009 8:25 am

    That brie looks fantastic. I like slicing french bread, than putting cranberry sauce an brie on top and baking it!

  3. December 29, 2009 8:43 am

    What a wonderful dinner! The brie looks fabulous – great idea. Those pizzas look delicious, too.
    Great job on the training. I agree, training with friends sometimes makes it so much more fun!

  4. December 29, 2009 9:18 am

    Everything looks beautiful! I love it when the presentation jumps out at you like that!

  5. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:18 am

    Love girls nights!!!

    Great job on the training!!

  6. Jordan permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:48 am

    I love that idea for the brie, and those pizzas?! love em. Congrats on your training, glad it’s going so well. That gym membership will come in handy for sure! Have you tried CrossFit over by us? I’m still thinkin about it. Have fun in VT and anytime you want to hit up Abbey, I’m there! 🙂

    • December 30, 2009 7:38 am

      I’ve heard so much about crossfit! Where is one by us? Oh girl, you and I at the Abbey wounds WONDERFUL 🙂

  7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    December 29, 2009 9:54 am

    glad you are enjoying training- you are doing great 🙂 & that pizza looks amaaazing. love grilled veggies.

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. December 29, 2009 9:56 am

    That’s a wonderful idea for the brie! And your pizza and sangria both look delicious, what a fun girls’ night 🙂

    Good luck continuing your training plan and skiing! I’ve never skied before, so I would definitely be on my butt in the snow!

    • December 30, 2009 7:39 am

      i’ve only skiied once before so I have a feeling i’ll be falling on my butt the majority of the time 🙂 haha

  9. December 29, 2009 10:35 am

    Great job on training. The food looks mouthwatering! Now I want to make flatbread pizzas. YUM!

  10. jilianmarie permalink
    December 29, 2009 10:43 am

    Love the girls night! and I’m totally obsessed with brie…so your recipe is right up my alley and it sounds amazing! I am also in love with sangria…I had the best melon sangria the other night…ahh to die for. The pizzas look amazing…and I didn’t know the peppers came in degrees of hotness too…but then again…I like ’em spiiicaaay…so I don’t pay attention to that sort of thing. Labels-schmabels. 🙂

    Have so much fun in (collllld) Vermont! I miss living there!!!

  11. December 29, 2009 10:52 am

    aww i love girls nights!
    GIRL That first pizza is my fav kind.. i love naner peppers on top! yum!

  12. December 29, 2009 11:44 am

    Ohhh your pesto pizza looks incredible!! Especially with the goat cheese. And I totally agree with you–brie has been a holiday staple this year. My family definitely has it at almost every dinner party or gathering we throw. My sister like to cut the brie in half, sprinkle a little brown sugar and throw a couple of dried cranberries inside, close it back up, drizzle with honey and nuts, and pop it in the oven. Soo amazing any way you make it. I want to try it your way too!

  13. December 29, 2009 12:20 pm

    Have fun in Vermont!

    One of my good friends in DC is doing the Cherry Blossom 10 miler.

  14. December 29, 2009 4:39 pm

    holy drool-factor going on over here. all the food looks good but i especially love the brie method! i need to copy!! have fun in vermont~make sure to take skiing photos for me to see!!

  15. December 29, 2009 5:09 pm

    Love home made pizzas!

  16. December 29, 2009 5:12 pm

    I am so jealous of your girls night. My girlfriends always insist on McDonalds and Budweiser.. though I would much prefer brie and sangria. You are so glamorous 🙂

  17. December 30, 2009 12:31 am

    What a beautiful pizza! Love the colors.

  18. December 30, 2009 12:52 am

    That whole meal looks wonderful… I have been craving sangria ever since I got back from Spain. I also had BBQ pizza for lunch today and it definitely could have been made better with some banana peppers. Good work with the running, I really think you have inspired me to find some sort of run to do this upcoming semester… Have fun skiing!

    • December 30, 2009 7:40 am

      yay i hope you do one! it’s just the most amazing feeling when you cross that line! i’ve only done a few before, a 10k being my longest so i’m really excited/nervous for this big one!

  19. December 30, 2009 11:27 am

    Great job on the Brie and pizza- they look fabulous! 😀

    And I love that your Mom put the wine out to chill in the snow-what a great idea! 🙂

  20. January 2, 2010 2:54 am

    Pizza, brie, sangria… it all looks delicious! I have a Trader Joe’s pizza dough in my fridge right now. Tomorrow just might be a good ol’ zucchini, eggplant and goat cheese pizza night. 🙂
    It sounds like you’re really focused for your race. Good for you! Training with friends makes a world of difference. Sometimes long runs can be emotionally draining. It’s so awesome to have a friend’s support. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

