Skip to content

run&eggs

December 15, 2009

So yesterday I got an e-mail confirming that I got into the DC Cherry Blossom 10 miler. The reaction I had was both really excited and also really nervous. The 10 mile race filled up so quickly last year that they decided to make it a lottery system. You could either sign up individually or as a group so that all or none would get in. I rounded up some of my bests and we all put our names in the lotto. It was me, Ali, Brittany, Lauren, and Megan.

I’m so excited that we are all doing this together! Every single one of us is scared but I know that this will will be such an incredible experience for us to do as a team. I found a training plan online for a 10 mile race and it looks pretty good so I will probably try to use that as a guideline. Β April 10th I will have completed 10 miles! My longest distance ever! This is a great way to help me with my 2010 goal of completing a half marathon. So excited for this journey!

Yesterday I made a quick and simple recipe from a new favorite cookbook Apples for Jam by Tessa Kiros. The book is heavenly to read, its just absolutely beautiful. It’s categorized by color and thrives on delicious simple foods. I can’t wait to make more from it, it seriously has about 100 post its flagged on its pages. Plus I can’t get over the sweetness of the book cover.

I decided on the Eggs in Tomato recipe to make yesterday and my mouth thanked me as I took my first bites. I’d been eyeing this recipe for a while and it only calls for a few ingredients. I made it for lunch along with a slice of toast to dip in my egg yolk. The flavor was incredible. This will be a constant in my house now. I found the recipe online as well, so I can share it with you guys. Click Here to view πŸ™‚

I followed the recipe exactly and then added some fresh goat cheese to the mix. Perfection.

This past weekend at Costco I tried some goat cheese that was being sampled. I’ve had goat cheese before but didn’t enjoy the taste and flavor. This however was light and not as strong and I picked up a log of it to bring home. Now I have this huge log of goat cheese and no idea how to make use of it? Do any of you have certain recipes that you love to use goat cheese in? I’m all ears for your opinions! I’m a goat cheese newbie.

Well I honestly can say that I can’t believe Christmas is next week. It doesn’t feel like it should be that soon! Tomorrow is my dad’s birthday and then next week Christmas? This end of the year has flown by so fast its unbelievable. Hope you make the most of whats left of 2009. It’s been a great year.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 7:54 am

    Congrats on getting into the 10 miler!

    I love goat cheese with fresh basil and sundried tomatoes. πŸ™‚

  2. charmcitykim permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:29 am

    You can TOTALLY do the 10-miler!! I did my first one (and it was my longest distance) in June (the Baltimore 10-miler). I followed a Hal Higdon training guide and it was really helpful.

  3. December 15, 2009 8:30 am

    My friends and I got into the 10 miler too!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ SO excited – its just a great race – plus the tshirts are gorgeous πŸ™‚ (at least the one last year was!)

    I’m hoping to do the National Half Marathon on March 20 – at least, I’m training for it at any rate πŸ™‚

    go us!

  4. meyergirl permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:36 am

    Thanks for the recipe!! That looks delicious! πŸ™‚

  5. December 15, 2009 8:55 am

    Not sure if I’ve commented before but I’ve read for a little while :). Congrats on the race! I’ve never raced except a 5k in a tri and it’s a New Year goal for myself to run a few races.

    I love goat cheese on salad, especially with strawberries, though they aren’t in season now. This past weekend I tried a goat cheese/apple/onion flat bread pizza at a party that was incredible! Guess I like the salty cheese and sweet fruit combination!
    Katie

  6. December 15, 2009 8:56 am

    congrats on getting in to the 10-miler!!! Goat cheese is awesome on pasta or pizza. You can throw some on top of pasta in a white wine sauce with some veggies–spinach & artichokes (or any mix!)

  7. December 15, 2009 8:57 am

    goat cheese in salad is DA BOMBBBB. (does anyone even say that anymore?!). Great job with the 10 mile goal/training!!! Good luck! I need to get off my cookie butt and sign up for a race! Can’t wait to read about your training!

  8. December 15, 2009 9:18 am

    Congrats on getting in the race! I am sure it will be a blast to run with your best friends πŸ™‚

  9. December 15, 2009 9:18 am

    I like to put goat cheese in salad. Or in pasta sauce.

  10. December 15, 2009 9:34 am

    mmmm I love those kind of eggs. I always eat that after my Dad makes a killer batch of bolognese sauce. I call it eggs in purgatory. YUM YUM YUM girl!

  11. jilianmarie permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:13 am

    Congrats on your 10 miler! and those eggs look so good, and I agree the cover is just adorable!!

  12. savoringsarah permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:20 am

    Ohhh yum I LOVE tomatoes & eggs. That book looks so cute!

    My favorite way to use goat cheese is combined with pesto or sun dried tomatoes in sandwiches/wraps/salads or my FAVORITE party appetizer- toasted garlicky bread, spread with goat cheese & topped with onions caramelized, deglazed with sherry wine & tossed with golden raisins. SOOO so so so good.

  13. December 15, 2009 10:55 am

    I am soooo stoked we get to see each other again! DC here we go! I am so happy you and your friends got in. We signed up as a group too!

    If you have any questions about running longer distances from a newbie feel free to ask. As you know I just completed my first half marathon!

  14. December 15, 2009 11:07 am

    congrats on the 10 miler girl!
    i love that pic-yall are all so happy and its so SUMMER-ry!! looks warm!!

  15. December 15, 2009 11:21 am

    i can’t wait to hear how the training goes for the 10 miler! you’ll totally be able to do it! and the 1/2 marathon!

    i’m not a fan of goat cheese, so i don’t know how to use it. but i know meghann uses it on pizzas she makes at home!

  16. strawberrysuitcase permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:24 am

    good luck with the race! i really wanted to run in it as well but am not sure when i’ll be home with my work schedule. it’s such a beautiful race + will be fun to run in with your friends.

  17. December 15, 2009 1:49 pm

    ahahaha love the pointing arrow photo. clever ashley! 10 miles wooooohoo, sounds fun! and with friends, even better!

  18. December 16, 2009 3:20 pm

    Ha! The times I have impulse bought at Costco. Then I’m left with a lot of something I am not sure about. Your eggs make me want to check out the cook book. Cool deal getting into the run. πŸ™‚

  19. December 16, 2009 6:08 pm

    Yeah for getting into the 10 miler and having friends to run it with – you all will do awesome. Can’t wait to read about it.

  20. December 16, 2009 7:14 pm

    First of all-YAY on the race. I am really excited too. I’m doing a marathon in June so it will help w/ my training. And Second of all-that book looks awesome. I love cook books likes that. I definitely need to check this one out.

  21. December 16, 2009 7:38 pm

    congrats on the 10 miler!! and so fun you are doing it with friends, it will be a PIECE of cake!!!

    goat cheese-where do i begin you can put it on pizza, in omelets, on oats (savory style!) you can also slice it in little rounds and dip it in spices and serve it over a salad (its very pretty too)

  22. December 17, 2009 11:05 pm

    I’ve seen that cookbook around and it does look really cute. I might have to try it eventually. And while I haven’t tried their version of eggs in tomato sauce before, I have made my own version. I love it because I’ll normally just use store bought pasta sauce and jazz it up a little with olives or capers. So easy and really good!

Leave a Reply

