Skip to content

empire state of mind

December 4, 2009

Happy Friday!! I’m happy to say that the weekend starts promptly at 4 PM πŸ™‚

Yesterday I ventured on over to a restaurant right down the street from my work called Liquid Earth. It is supposed to be an amazing vegetarian/vegan restaurant that I really need to get my butt in there and eat soon. They also have their juice combos that i’ve been really interested to try. I’m a juice newbie so I walked in and asked the girl at the counter what she recommended for someone who didn’t really know what kind of combos they liked.

She said that their most popular juice was the Ginger Cold Snap Cure. It was a combination of organic carrots, granny smith apples, ginger, liquid vitamin C, ginseng, and bee pollen. Β I thought it all sounded pretty good except for the ginger. I despiseeeeeeeeeee ginger. It makes me cringe. That and cilantro πŸ˜‰ but anyhoo, they said they could do it without it which kind of defeats the purpose of the drink but I got it anyways. It was BRIGHT orange and I couldn’t exactly tell whether I liked it or not. Maybe juices are something you get an aquired taste for? I’m glad I tried it though and wouldn’t mind trying other combinations. Any favorites?

After work I headed over to the yoga studio for my work study. I usually order takeout on Thursdays because I literally walk straight there as soon as I park my car in front of my house. I decided on pad thai from Thai Arroy. I’ve gotten it there once before and it was good, but last night it was out of this world. I ordered it with Tofu and it was heavenly!! My favorite part are Β all of the crushed peanuts on top πŸ™‚ So fresh and delicious. I have half left for todays lunch and I can’t wait to raid my fridge for the leftovers.

I ended up going to the 8:30 vinyasa class and left completely relaxed πŸ™‚

Today I’m even more excited to get the work day done because I’m heading to Hoboken, NJΒ  to visit my friend Britt! Β I am also getting together on Saturday with some amazing blog girls a la Kailey, Sarah, Megan, and Dori. Any other fellow NYC girls want to join us? πŸ™‚ Any NYC restaurant recommendations? Hoping you all have a great Friday and an amazing weekend ❀

25 Comments leave one →
  1. charmcitykim permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:56 am

    I LOVE Liquid Earth! Dude – you work in a prime spot with lots of good eats around you. I’m jealous!

  2. December 4, 2009 9:59 am

    Have a lovely weekend!

  3. December 4, 2009 11:10 am

    Every time I go to Blue Moon, I think about how much I want to try Liquid Earth! Their menu online looks awesome.

    And I just sent you my info! I hope they win!

  4. December 4, 2009 11:15 am

    I love Pad Thai with tofu! Yum!

  5. December 4, 2009 12:40 pm

    That Pad Thai looks scrumptious!! I hope you have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

  6. shell625 permalink
    December 4, 2009 1:03 pm

    have fun iwth the blog girls πŸ™‚ looove pad thai! and i emailed you my info- hope it helps!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. December 4, 2009 2:12 pm

    Was it topped with bee pollen or blended in?
    So curious!

    Check out my blog if you have a chance! Giveaways and workout music!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

    Katie

  8. December 4, 2009 2:30 pm

    That juice sounds interesting! I just acquired a taste for all of the weird ones recently haha. See ya tomorrow!

  9. December 4, 2009 2:44 pm

    Have fun in NYC! I’m so jealous!!

  10. December 4, 2009 3:43 pm

    that tofu looks so great!

  11. December 4, 2009 4:45 pm

    Ooh, have a fun weekend.

    I don’t like ginger either. I do like cilantro though. I have read that some people have a gene that makes cilantro taste like soap to them.

  12. December 4, 2009 5:30 pm

    have a blast in NYC!

  13. December 4, 2009 5:30 pm

    I’m a newbie to juice too. I haven’t really had any I don’t think. Have fun in NYC!

  14. December 4, 2009 5:35 pm

    ick I am not a fan of juices (besides orange, obvi!) I prefer my cals in solid form πŸ™‚

    have an amazing weekend sweets!

  15. December 4, 2009 7:07 pm

    Excited for tomorrow! Did you get my tweet recommending Souen if you want to be around Union Square? I love veggie juice, drink it every day. I like the green ones better than anything with carrot. As long as there’s apple and cucumber in it, it will be sweet!

  16. December 5, 2009 12:03 am

    oh fun – hope you have a great get together!! I’m not a juice gal but AM a ginger and cilantro gal – you’re missing out, friend! πŸ™‚

  17. December 5, 2009 2:37 pm

    Nice….

  18. dorothy permalink
    December 5, 2009 4:55 pm

    bee pollen sounds interesting! i usually just get carrot and ginger

    yum love thai food πŸ™‚

  19. December 5, 2009 6:33 pm

    Aww, I miss NYC meet-ups, have fun!! I would really recommend Serendipity if you can get reservations; I know it’s touristy but the food is fantabulous.

  20. December 5, 2009 10:18 pm

    oh man!!! why didnt i hear about that place when i was there?! it looks awesome! i do like juice, i drink mine everyday still.. and i have to tell you, i havent gotten sick like the other people in my department at all.. maybe a little bit- but definitely NOT as bad or for as long.. its like the choir of coughs in my office!
    i should try that combo!
    love pad thai too..
    have fun! you are so lucky meeting dori!!

  21. December 6, 2009 10:14 am

    I hope you guys have fun. Hopefully in a few years I’ll be joining ya’ll in nyc. πŸ™‚

  22. December 6, 2009 3:22 pm

    we were twins this week/end!
    i also tried juice (carrot + greens)-it was interesting. very carrot-y.
    and i went to yoga on saturday!

  23. December 6, 2009 10:28 pm

    my recent favorite juice combo has been apple, kiwi, strawberry, and carrot…so good!

  24. Alyson permalink
    December 9, 2009 4:48 am

    omg, Thai Arroyo’s Pad Thai is the BEST. I miss it. I lived right across the street from there (above Marcus-Boyd Realty).

Leave a Reply

