Skip to content

zen

December 2, 2009

It’s a gray day in Baltimore and days like this have me reaching out for mugs of hot tea. Nothing like it to keep you warm.

I had a delicious lunch today that included some kale that I had bought the other day from my local market. The bunches of kale looked so fresh and I knew I had to get it even though I wasn’t sure how exactly I was going to use it. I tried it in a green smoothie but blech it was no good. It was really bitter. I came up for another use in todays lunch. I concocted a sweet potato, black bean, and kale quesadilla.

I microwaved a sweet potato for 5 minutes and when it was done I mashed it in a tortilla. As the sweet potato was cooking I threw some chopped kale in a heated pan with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I let it wilt down then added in some onions and black beans. I placed theย sautรฉedย mixture into the tortilla then folded it in half and heated it until crispy on each side in the hot pan. Of course no meal would be complete without my Franks red hot on top that I quickly put on as soon as I snapped the pic. It was a winning combo ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad I put that kale to use!

So Monday night and last night I went to yoga classes ๐Ÿ™‚ ย In last night’s class I noticed a difference in my concentration. Usually my mind will slip out of my practice and I’ll start wondering what time it is, wondering if my quad is going to fall off because of the postures i’m in, and all around kind of spastic thoughts. Last night was different because I was actually very focused the whole time. Before I knew it class was coming to an end and savasana was near. It was an amazing feeling being able to be completely into the class. I feel like each class I advance in something small. Last night we went into splits and I had to laugh at myself. I have never ever been able to do a split. I looked ridiculous pretty much standing compared to everyone else who so easily went into the posture. What I love so much about yoga is the fact that no body cares about how you look. That is initially the opposite of how I felt when I first started. I thought because I wasn’t flexible that I would look terrible and people would laugh or wonder why I was in the class. When you go into class you begin to learn that everyone is focused on purely themselves. They are working on their own practice and don’t have the time or energy to watch anyone else. Now I don’t know if i’ll ever be able to do a split, but I think that eventually I could get much closer to the ground than the point i’m at right now. It’s a journey and every class gets you to a different point.

I hope you guys have a great Wednesday, hoping the weekend gets here soon!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 1:46 pm

    The Blind Side is soooooo GOOD! You will love.

  2. December 2, 2009 1:47 pm

    That is so great you could concentrate during class. SO many times I am so antsy and scattered, my mind is racing and it is very hard for me to relax.

  3. December 2, 2009 1:57 pm

    Man that looks amazing. once again, all the food you eat does!!
    i am glad you were focused the whole time in yoga! i don’t think i could do it. but i’m sure it would be more beneficial when you are focused! I hope you and Chase have fun on your date! i am guessing you are going to the blind side? LOVED it. sean and i were planning to go see it again tonight!! have fun!

  4. December 2, 2009 2:01 pm

    Great idea about microwaving the sweet potatoes. I’ve been steaming mine then mashing them. Your way is much faster! I assume you peel it ahead of time.

  5. December 2, 2009 2:28 pm

    Your lunch looks delicious–instead of hot sauce I would have put salsa in there because I’m obsessed with salsa lately ๐Ÿ™‚ Yumm.

    I want to get more into yoga! Can’t wait to enroll in some classes. I need to work on my concentration ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. PinkSass permalink
    December 2, 2009 2:32 pm

    That quesadilla looks so very yummy. I would never think to put sweet potatoes and black beans together. But it was yummy right

  7. December 2, 2009 2:50 pm

    Great job on the yoga! I really want to get into it. Lately, your posts on yoga and your trip have been reminding me of the book, “Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert. If you haven’t read it already I think you’d like it!

    ps. The Blind Side was soooo good!

  8. December 2, 2009 2:51 pm

    Ha! You’re the second blogger today to mention a failed Kale Green Smoothie attempt. I’ve never had kale before, but I’m tempted to try Kath’s kale chips.

  9. December 2, 2009 3:24 pm

    Oh dear lord girl, are you a Ravens fan?! Ewwww! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    LOVE that quesadilla idea. What a brillz way to use up kale. I usually just throw it in soup.

    Cool about finding your zen.

  10. December 2, 2009 3:27 pm

    The sweet potato/black bean combo is one of my favorites.

  11. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    December 2, 2009 3:35 pm

    I dind’t realize you lived in Baltimore.. My brother goes to Towson and I try to visit him as much as possible..

    Have a nice day!

  12. Julie permalink
    December 2, 2009 4:13 pm

    It’s so cool to hear how much you are improving in your yoga! I’m sure everything with you and Chase will work out ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. December 2, 2009 5:02 pm

    Nice way to use of that kale! I think anything grilled in a tortilla tastes awesome; you really can’t lose! BTW, being able to focus throughout a whole yoga class is no small matter. That’s huge! It’s so hard for me to concentrate sometimes and when I feel myself spinning out of control, I just stop and take a slow and deep breath. Then, I am able to get back to my ‘zone’. Good for you! I’m so happy that this happened for you. And you will be able to get into a split. I took over 10 years of ballet and dance and was NEVER able to get down and I just recently got into a split. I have to be warmed up, but I can do it. And you can, too! Have fun on your date night with Chase. I’ll keep my fingies crossed!

  14. December 2, 2009 5:05 pm

    way to go getting your zen on, babes! It’s so crazy how much a difference really focusing your attention on to your breath and your poses can make. That’s what it’s all about ๐Ÿ™‚ Namaste, gorg!

  15. December 2, 2009 5:19 pm

    Wow this may be inspiration for my dinner!

    Check out my blog for a new GIVEAWAY and SONGDOWNLOADS of the DAY!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

  16. December 2, 2009 5:41 pm

    That quesadilla sounds like a winning combination.

    Hope that Chase gets the job!

  17. December 2, 2009 8:15 pm

    Ahhh, Blind Side is SUCH a good movie!

    Your lunch is looking amazing! So quick and easy too, which is even better : )

  18. December 2, 2009 11:01 pm

    1) QUESADILLA= yummo looking. 2) What job is Chase looking for?

  19. shell625 permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:15 pm

    that wrap looks awesome- & have fun with chase! i know how hard long distnace can be so i hope he gets the job ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  20. *Andrea* permalink
    December 3, 2009 12:20 am

    that sandwich looks amazinggggg. yoga is so rejuvenating! i need to do it more

  21. December 3, 2009 1:36 am

    I completely agree about yoga. With each practice I feel a small bit of improvement. Today my teacher said my chaturangas and down dogs have improved greatly since I first started 2 months ago, and seeing such changes in my form is thrilling! I wish I could practice as regularly as you, I usually average about twice a week. Have a fun date!

  22. December 3, 2009 9:22 am

    looks amazing!!!!! and so delish!
    yay for date night! hopefully chase finds a job in baltimore so he can stay put with you! *crossing my fingers for you two!*

  23. December 3, 2009 10:08 am

    Your post really makes me want to try yoga and stop being such a wimp about it!

    Good luck to Chase!

  24. December 3, 2009 11:04 am

    I am definitely going to have to remember this recipe, sounds SO good!

    I have a hard time not letting my mind wander, during yoga. I hope to get better at that.

  25. December 3, 2009 11:26 am

    I hope the interview goes well! Thinking happy thoughts! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Everyone says the Blind Side is amazing. I want to see it so badly!

  26. December 3, 2009 1:04 pm

    I’m sending positive vibes to you and Chase!
    Also, I so want that quesadilla!!

  27. December 3, 2009 1:26 pm

    That quesadilla looks amazing! Great combinations. I never think to put sweet potatoe is any kind of sandwich or wrap.
    Hooray for concentrating in yoga! That’s so awesome you can feel and tell the advancement you’re making in each class.
    Have fun at the movie tonight, chica!

  28. rachel permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:19 pm

    i never thought to put sweet potato in a wrap! sounds loveely ๐Ÿ™‚

    btw ive been reading for a while and inoticed you like to take classes at your gym
    im kinda a newbie but i wanna give it a shot! so i was wondering, is it more of an individual thing or do you get to meet new people at theclasses? thanks:)

    • December 4, 2009 9:13 am

      Thanks for the comment girl ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve gradually been meeting more people at yoga but it does tend to be individual mostly. I think other group fitness classes are a great way to meet new people and make new friends though!

  29. December 3, 2009 10:28 pm

    I’m hoping that everything goes well with Chase’s interview! And I hope you enjoy The Blind Side. As I’m sure you’ve heard over and over by now, I was really good. And I’m sure knowing he’s a Raven will make it even more fun for you

  30. December 3, 2009 11:00 pm

    Ah, that looks so good!!!

  31. December 4, 2009 3:25 pm

    oh I love kale in smoothies. You just have to use a little agave or honey to sweeten it up. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your quesadilla looks great!

  32. December 4, 2009 3:27 pm

    I’ve got some great kale smoothie recipes – give one a try and tell me if it still tastes bleh…

    I could use a good quesadilla right about now.

Leave a Reply

