Skip to content

December goals

December 1, 2009

The first of every month always makes me want to step back and create small goals for myself. For some reason though I never really do. I never end up taking the time to write down what I want to accomplish in the month and figure out how to get there. Today marks the 1st of December. Our last month of the year and I want to make this one count. New years resolutions are made every year and tend to fall wayside as the year goes on. Β To make small monthly goals keeps your eye on the prize and you are consistently focused on the smaller aspects that will in turn bring you to your ultimate destination.

It was about this time last year that I had really wanted to start a blog. I wanted somewhere that I could write down my journey and hold myself accountable for how I live my life. I ended up finding much more. Friendships, passions, and new ideas were brought together by my blog and I couldn’t be happier. It has helped me figure out who I am, who I want to be, how I want to live.

Here’s a few of my December goals:

  • More yoga – In only a month and a half I’ll be going to Costa Rica for 6 days where we’ll be doing yoga twice daily. I need to prepare my body for what’s to come so more frequent yoga classes are in my future.
  • Figgy Pudding 5k– Last year my friend Lauren and I ran this local winter race. It was so much fun, so this year we plan on running it again but with a much bigger group of us.
  • Foods that make me happy – I want to eat foods that make me feel good and keep me healthy. What we put in our mouths has a direct line to how we feel. I know what upsets my stomach, and I need to listen to my body more.
  • Cherish time with loved ones -Life is too short. Make sure the moments count.
  • Appreciate what I have – so many times I wish for more when I need to appreciate what I have at this moment. ” Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; Remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for” -Epicurus
  • ReconnectΒ with old friends – there are those friend’s who you just lose touch with. I recently reconnected with one of my best friend’s from high school that I lost touch with during college. It makes you realize that you could have put in more effort. Now is that time.
  • Give back – it’s the season of giving and I want to give what I can to help those in need. Project Feed Me is exactly that πŸ™‚

What are some of your goals for December?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 1:29 pm

    Aw, you thoughts on what you’ve gained from blogging and what you initially thought are so sweet. I feel the same way.

  2. December 1, 2009 1:33 pm

    Your goals for December are very inspiring! A Figgy Pudding run would be right up my alley – I may just have to settle for a Nutcracker Tea πŸ˜‰ As for goals, I want to find more time for studying (did I really write that?) and for spending quality time with the fam.

  3. December 1, 2009 1:37 pm

    Good luck with your goals! I want to get a headstart on the newyears resolution gang!

  4. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:06 pm

    Good luck with your goals.. I did a very similar thing last night πŸ™‚

  5. PinkSass permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:45 pm

    I just love your goals. You have inspired me.

  6. December 1, 2009 3:01 pm

    Hi there! Great goals. I like the idea of eating “foods that make you happy” as opposed to following any kind of caloric diet. Sounds like a very sane and balanced approach to eating. I look forward to reading more of your blog! πŸ™‚

  7. December 1, 2009 3:10 pm

    Great goals! I feel like they are perfect for the holidays : )

  8. December 1, 2009 3:11 pm

    Awesome goals. Very inspiring. I love the appreciate what you have one:)

  9. December 1, 2009 4:18 pm

    nice goals!!!! i need to start working on mine i think!

  10. December 1, 2009 5:17 pm

    I think I need to adopt some of your goals πŸ™‚

    And I also think you neeeeed to come to NYC this weekend…

  11. December 1, 2009 5:46 pm

    oooh you have many goals for December girl!! I do love all of them, and especially that “reconnect with old friends”. I’ve been SO bad at keeping in touch with my high school friends I would totally like to make your goal one of mine too!! πŸ™‚

  12. December 1, 2009 8:54 pm

    such a sweet post!!! I tend to overlook the positive things in my life and you’ve inspired me to appreciate everything and cherish all of the wonderful people I have in my life. Thank you for that! You radiate positivity and it’s so refreshing! *muah!*

  13. December 1, 2009 10:43 pm

    such great goals for december! i love all the positivity and charity in it too!

  14. December 1, 2009 11:04 pm

    Great goals!
    My main goal is to practice self-control over the holiday and my vacation, and not gain weight!

  15. December 2, 2009 12:14 am

    GREAT goals girl!! i love the one about foods that make you happy. i posted mine yesterday!

  16. shell625 permalink
    December 2, 2009 2:13 am

    those are really good goals- i want to set some of my own ! one of mine is to drink more water– too much diet soda has been in my lifee

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  17. charmcitykim permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:43 am

    I’ve always wanted to do the Figgy Pudding run. They always showcase it on the news and I forget about it every year.

    Its funny that you wrote about reconnecting with old friends. For some odd reason as I was driving to work today, I started to think about a really good friend I had in middle school that moved away. I wondered what she was up to!

  18. December 2, 2009 9:54 am

    Those are great goals! I love the one about reconnecting with an old friend – I did that last year and it was one of the best decisions I ever made. I talk to her everyday now and can’t believe we went almost 8 years without talking (we were best friends in elementary and middle school and then drifted apart in high school and college).

  19. December 2, 2009 10:19 am

    lovely list! it is truly amazing how much a blog really helps you figure things out…helps your figure yourself out even! anyway… my list for the month of december: study hard for my finals but also enjoy myself for the last few weeks of the semester (my roommates are going abroad in the spring so I better live it up with them!), eat better (since the marathon I have been a bit off), remind myself everyday how lucky I am to have the family and life that I have, pray/write in my journal more, respond to stress in a better way

  20. Cassie in Madrid permalink
    December 2, 2009 12:02 pm

    Those goals look perfect! I agree with the whole reconnecting with friends thing- sometimes it gets to be too easy to be away from eachother for so long and let such a good friendship die… I think December and the holiday season is a perfect time to tackle this!

    Thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

  21. December 2, 2009 12:56 pm

    I wish I were home to do the Figgy Pudding 5k! Oh well.

    I really like the quote about appreciating what you have as there was a time that you wanted what you have now. So true.

    One of my goals is much like your eating one, I want to eat intuitively and not emotionally/out of boredom/etc. I’d also like to work on other areas of fitness and challenging myself once I complete the Honolulu Marathon. Good luck with your goals!

  22. December 2, 2009 3:05 pm

    hooray for goal setting! one of mine that i posted yesterday was to reconnect with friends too! i love the name of that 5k πŸ˜›

  23. December 2, 2009 10:58 pm

    What great goals! I ran in a 5K last winter with my best friend, too, and it was such a fun time! (and what a FUN name!)

    I also want to focus on eating foods that make me feel good– it’s so easy to just eat for other reasons! It’s probably really good to be focused on that this month, with so many holiday temptations around… πŸ™‚

  24. Sweet and Fit permalink
    December 3, 2009 12:50 am

    so glad you are joining me in getting back on track this month – ❀ your goals

    this post really made me smile – you are such a sweet person, I love how a lot of your goals are about other people and not just yourself – ya make me feel so selfish! lol

  25. December 3, 2009 11:40 am

    your goals are very inspirational! Did you ever hear back from that good mood gig? I’m moving this weekend into my new apartment!! Any tips?!?!

  26. December 8, 2009 9:01 pm

    Beautiful post, reminds me I need to put goals on paper

    Eat well, not too much, not too little
    Workout
    Stretch
    Spend time with family
    Be more generous and giving

    More….need to think

    I’d love for you to visit my blog – food, fitness, music and giveaways!
    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/
    Katie

Leave a Reply

