Skip to content

Thanksgiving catch up

November 29, 2009

I just love the holidays. Being able to be with the ones you love and being able to completely relax is just the best. Unfortunately, I was sick over the long holiday weekend so I wasn’t able to go out with my friends but I definitely caught up on lots of sleep and tv πŸ™‚

Wed night I wasn’t able to go to the bars with all my friends and instead stayed in and watched The Biggest Loser: Where are they now? Special. I loved being able to be up to date with the past contestants and seeing how they kept up with their weight loss.

Thanksgiving morning I woke up early and got myself to a yoga class. After class I went back to Columbia to start of Thanksgiving with my family. My mom made so much amazing food as usual. We started off with baked brie. She put a large circle of brie and topped it with some blackberry jam, craisins, chopped pecans, and then wrapped it in puff pastry and baked it in the oven. ah, mouthwatering good.

IMG_4593.JPG

Hershey thought so too πŸ™‚

IMG_4596.JPG

The spread was delicious!!!

We started off with a glass of Riesling.

IMG_4601.JPG

My mom made a turkey, sweet potato casserole, roasted butternut squash, green bean salad with feta, walnuts, red onions, and a pomegranate vinaigrette, stuffing. and some cauliflower.

IMG_4604.JPG

IMG_4605.JPG

IMG_4606.JPG

IMG_4607.JPG

IMG_4609.JPG

My contribution to the dinner was some Pumpkin crumb cake with pecan streusel from Veganomicon. I didn’t have any pecans so I subbed it with walnuts and it turned out just as amazing. This is such a quick and easy dessert to make that is so moist and delicious. It was a big hit! My mom usually makes pecan pie but this year decided to make some pecan bars instead. They turned out great and were amazing when they were in the microwave for 20 seconds. Tasted like they came fresh out of the oven. My dad made us a cup of fresh french pressed coffee to round off the meal.

IMG_4611.JPG

IMG_4613.JPG

Friday I went on a chilly run. The wind was brutal but by the end of the run the sun decided to show it’s face and it was perfect!

I can’t believe Thanksgiving weekend is coming to an end. I’m hoping all of you had an amazing time. All I need now is for the Ravens to win πŸ™‚

33 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 8:58 pm

    I’m sorry you were sick. What a bummer. Looks like you still got to enjoy some great food though.

  2. November 29, 2009 9:07 pm

    Sorry you were sick, but sometimes just chillin’ and relaxing is what the holidays are for anyways!

    Wow that Thanksgiving spread is amazing, especiall your mom’s baked brie!

  3. November 29, 2009 9:21 pm

    that baked brie looks AMAZING! my GF does a baked brie which is topped with a glaze of kalhua, pecans, brown sugar goodness and baked – sooooooo good!

    p.s. The new Vegan Cookie book by Isa & Terry has a recipe for pecan pie BARS!!!!!!!!! looks amazing and the reviews say its so fantastic.

  4. November 29, 2009 9:30 pm

    Beautiful Thanksgiving spread! Those pecan bars look amazing. πŸ™‚

  5. November 29, 2009 9:35 pm

    WOW THAT BAKED BRIE!! oh my goodness GRACIOUS!! that is such a tease!!
    looks like an awesome thanksgiving!

  6. November 29, 2009 9:50 pm

    Your meal looks like it was decadent! I love the holidays, too, and I’m glad you had a good time!

  7. November 29, 2009 10:05 pm

    Oh. em. gee. that baked brie looks amazing!!! Your mom seems like a fantastic cook! It looks like a foodies dream.

  8. November 29, 2009 10:12 pm

    I watched the BL special, too! Totally cried when the guy did his Ironman and was off by 3 minutes. 😦 So inspiring though!

  9. shell625 permalink
    November 29, 2009 10:16 pm

    it really did go by so fast! but it looks like your meal was fabbulous & deliciouss

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  10. November 29, 2009 10:28 pm

    Sorry you were sick but glad you could enjoy Thanksgiving with the fam. Your mom’s brie looks so amazing! What a super creative (and festive) way to fix my fave cheese. πŸ™‚

    Your pumpkin crumb cake sounds delish! And I love dessert + coffee.

    Feel better soon!

  11. November 29, 2009 10:32 pm

    woah. that brie puff pastry thing is unreal! and hershey is too cute for words. i hope you are feeling 100% now darling!!

  12. jilianmarie permalink
    November 29, 2009 11:48 pm

    Mmm that brie looks amaaazing — as does the entire meal. Yum!!

  13. November 30, 2009 2:31 am

    I’m not into football at all but I still appreciate the Maryland ravens love!

  14. November 30, 2009 7:45 am

    Great looking crumb cake lady!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/
    Want to win NuNaturals Stevia – check out my blog!

  15. November 30, 2009 7:54 am

    Looks like one tasty Thanksgiving was enjoyed at your house! Your pumpkin crumb cake looks fantastic! The crumb topping is my favorite πŸ™‚

    Hope you’re feeling better!!

  16. Cassie in Madrid permalink
    November 30, 2009 7:59 am

    Oh my gosh that brie looks amazing!!! (As does just about the entire meal!) So glad to see you had a wonderful dinner!

  17. November 30, 2009 8:37 am

    Sorry you were sick! Glad that you enjoyed the holiday despite it πŸ™‚ love baked brie.

  18. November 30, 2009 9:47 am

    You know I love me some brie! Yum!

  19. November 30, 2009 12:23 pm

    Sorry about being sick, such a bummer 😦

    But maybe it was a blessing. Because it sounds like you got to eat lots of good food, were able to relax and spend time with loved ones!

  20. November 30, 2009 12:42 pm

    my mom makes a very similar brie recipe and it is just out of this world.. especially on top of Kashi honey sesame crackers.. nommmmz!

    beautiful thanksgiving food fare, honey! and I’m glad you were able to enjoy some rest and relaxation this weekend – despite feeling slightly sickly!

    p.s. thanks so much for the comment today.. it really helps knowing that I have someone who can relate to the long distance thing!

    love ya princess!

  21. November 30, 2009 12:51 pm

    That pumpkin crumb cake looks so good!

  22. November 30, 2009 1:00 pm

    I love brie in a puff pastry. It’s one of my favorite things! Your Thanksgiving looks so good! YUMO!

  23. snackface permalink
    November 30, 2009 1:12 pm

    Before I forget, the pumpkin streusel bread is my FAVORITE thing from the V’con book! I made it last Christmas season and at it by myself in, like, three days. It was amazing.

    I was sick this weekend too! Sick with cramps and laziness, that is. Sorry you were feeling poopy 😦

    To brighten your spirits, what are you doing this week/weekend? NY?????????? K just checking. Love you xoxo

  24. November 30, 2009 2:12 pm

    Wow, that Brie dish looks absolutely decadent! wow.
    Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving and you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  25. November 30, 2009 2:59 pm

    It looks like you had an amazing Thanksgiving dinner. I hope you feel better soon! Relaxing and tv watching (and good food) always makes me feel better!

  26. November 30, 2009 2:59 pm

    oh no! I hate that you were sick but wow…. you had some good eats! πŸ™‚

  27. lowandbhold permalink
    November 30, 2009 3:49 pm

    All the food looks fab. Sorry you weren’t feeling well.

  28. November 30, 2009 5:20 pm

    Sorry you were sick! Hope you are feeling better now!

    All the eats look amazing!

  29. November 30, 2009 5:20 pm

    P.S. Wanted to let you and your readers know about a spa-themed giveaway on my blog! Just leave a comment with your favorite way to relax or de-stress and you’ll be entered for a chance to win!

    http://www.fabanddeliciousfood.com/

    Thanks!

  30. November 30, 2009 5:22 pm

    Oops, wrong link! The link to the giveaway post is:

    http://www.fabanddeliciousfood.com/?p=10930

    Thanks!

  31. strawberrysuitcase permalink
    December 1, 2009 10:25 am

    your meal looks wonderful! sorry you were sick but catching up on tv and hanging out sounds very relaxing. i, too, went on a run on friday and about froze my face off. that baked brie looks sooo good. i probably would’ve eaten that whole thing and not be able to eat dinner. yum yum.

  32. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:26 pm

    I was sick too = no fun!! Glad to hear you are feeling better!

  33. December 4, 2009 12:18 am

    What a great spread of food πŸ™‚ And it’s nice to have those small family holidays – much less worry and all, about all the guests being there. You get to relax and enjoy yourselves.

Leave a Reply

