Skip to content

travel bug

November 13, 2009

Good morning and happpppppy Friday! πŸ™‚ so glad the weekend is just around the corner!

Last night I went to a vinyasa class and was so completely relaxed by the end. It felt great.

So Wed night was girls night dinner. We usually do them at one of our houses but we decided to take it to the town and get dinner out this time. We decided on RA sushi. Their happy hour specials are ridiculous. Everything we got was half off, and the drinks were $5. I looked at the drink menu and saw the sake sangria. Intresting? yes, so I ordered one. Took 2 sips and was done with it. I didn’t like it at allll. blech.

Picture 002

We all split an order of vegetable tempura, and I had a few pieces of the kabocha squashhhh. YUM. I ordered 1 spicy tuna roll and 1 shrimp tempura roll and 2 pc of salmon. All of the rolls got brought out together on the same plates.

Picture 003

Picture 004

Picture 005

Picture 001

eh, I’ve gotten sick from sushi the past few times i’ve eaten it and hadn’t had it in a long time because it just reminded me of when i felt awful. I’ve always loved sushi so much so I wanted my love for it to come back. Unfortunately this is not the case. I just don’t really care for it anymore. Β I wouldn’t mind getting a veggie roll or an avocado roll, but the raw fish is what gets me. I can’t shake the feeling from before. Crazy how that happens right? Have any of you gotten sick from a food before and now you just don’t like it anymore?

So Sunday i’m going up with my friends Laur and Meg up to good old Salisbury. The Salisbury field hockey team is in the NCAA playoffs and the semi final game is at SU this weekend. If they win the game on Sunday they go onto the final 4. Ah those days were always sooo much fun. While I was there, we won the National Championship 2 out of the 4 years, and they won it also the year before I got there. I hope they go all the way this year, they definitely deserve it! Β I also won’t mind dropping by the outlets on the way there either πŸ˜‰

I think i’ve officially gotten bit by the travel bug. Β Camille is having a yoga retreat in January in Costa Rica. It’s 6 days, filled with yoga twice a day, local delicious food, surfing, zip lining, horse back riding, and the beach. Β Going there is a big leap, but I feel like after San Francisco I’m ready for more. I’m not worried to not know anyone, I can make friends. Β I keep thinking in my head, I really want to go, ah I want to go. Why don’t I just DO it. I save money for a reason, and to have an experience like this, the opportunity doesn’t come around every day. Β I’m going to give her my answer next week… but I feel myself leaning towards a yes πŸ™‚ ahhhh that would be the most amazing trip!

I wanted to give a HUGE shoutout to one of my bffff( times that f by infinity) in the world. You’ve seen her lots and lots on my blog. Britt has decided to make a blog! We’ve been besties since middle school, shes amazing. Please check out her blog and say hi! i made her a header that she ended up loving and she’s all set up now and ready to take on the blog world! and NYCers, she’s a resident πŸ™‚ i’m jealous of all the potential meet ups lol. We’ve always been the food lovers in our group of friends so i’m so happy she decided to do this! Plus I can keep up with her even more often now πŸ™‚

Hope you all have a great Friday loviessss! xoxo

35 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 7:35 am

    Mmmm your meal makes me so hungry! I get the travel bug, too somtimes!!

  2. November 13, 2009 8:20 am

    Costa Rica!!!!! that sounds awesome- that will be a fun fun trip!

    i havent gotten that feeling from food- but from tequila and vodka? absolutely.. i just can’t drink those two liquors- even smelling it i get the shivers- let alone relive the misery from drinking them! *shudder*

  3. November 13, 2009 8:50 am

    awww of course i’mma gonna support your friend Brittany. πŸ™‚ So sweet of you to do the shout out!

    That drink totally did sound yummy, but I can imagine it might have been bitter and too alcoholic! Restaurants seem to enjoy doing that to people. πŸ˜› Sorry to hear about the sushi experience Ash!! I think it’s just time to resort to the good old futomaki (my favorite veggie world ever) and then there’s always the satisfying crazy rolls stuffed with fish. Maybe you should take a trip to Chicago in january! πŸ™‚

  4. November 13, 2009 8:50 am

    That yoga retreat sounds awesome. You should totally do it! I highly doubt you’ll look back and regreat doing it if you go πŸ˜‰
    That sushi looks great – sorry it’s not for you anymore, though. Boo 😦

  5. November 13, 2009 8:53 am

    Oh my gosh! Costa Rica?! How fun!! Getting bit by the travel bug is much better than the sushi bug if you know what I mean πŸ˜‰

  6. November 13, 2009 9:04 am

    MMM Food looks amazing! Costa Rica? How fun is that?!?!?! Can’t wait to talk more about it on Saturday. I am also a travel bug and love love love to travel.

  7. November 13, 2009 9:08 am

    You should doo ittt! I am scared to travel but I plan on breaking that this summerrr! Eeeeks !

  8. Brittany permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:12 am

    Thanks love!!! πŸ™‚ So excited!

  9. November 13, 2009 9:16 am

    I’ve seen Charm City Yoga’s Costa Rican yoga trip before (I’m on their mailing list). It looks like so much fun! I would totally do it.

  10. November 13, 2009 9:41 am

    I’ve never been brave enough to try sake… not sure if I’d be into that drink, either!

  11. Megan permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:59 am

    Mmm I LOVE sushi!! I have a weird thing for raw fish I guess? And I’ve never had sake.. I’m not sure I’d like it though- I’d go for the classic sangria any day! And have fun this weekend!! I might be going up to Pennsylvania to watch our school in NCAA’s too! Except in cross country…

  12. November 13, 2009 10:12 am

    Left you a surprise on my blog!

  13. November 13, 2009 10:28 am

    omg I totally want to go on that yoga retreat with you! I have never been to Costa Rica, but I have a friend who went last year and loved it… I don’t think the flight is that bad and Costa Rica is normally pretty affordable, right? Who said there can’t be a blogger meet-up in Costa Rica? πŸ™‚

    I don’t like anything with sake in it… I want to like it but I just don’t!

  14. November 13, 2009 10:47 am

    GO GO GO GO! I would SO take any opportunity I could like that and once I’m finally done with school and working full-time I plan on it πŸ™‚

  15. November 13, 2009 11:03 am

    yummm i havent had sushi in forever!

    i think the yoga retreat sounds AWESOME! what a great way to re-group, re-energize, and just have some down time! im jelous!

  16. November 13, 2009 11:27 am

    I can’t eat raw sushi either. Even the thought makes my stomach churn! I’m bummed though because I really do want to like it!

  17. November 13, 2009 11:47 am

    I LOVE sushi but I never eat the raw stuff. Always shrimp tempura rolls or spicy calirfornia rolls. YUM!!

    P.S. If you can afford it, GO to Costa Rica!

  18. Ameena permalink
    November 13, 2009 11:51 am

    Once I got sick after eating lasagna and I couldn’t eat it again for about 5 years. Its hard to forget that horrible feeling of food poisoning!

  19. shell625 permalink
    November 13, 2009 2:01 pm

    that drink does look interesting..too bad it was disappointing 😦 im going for sushi tomorrow night adn i can’t wait!
    ill def check out britt’s blog

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  20. November 13, 2009 5:01 pm

    OMG fried kombucha sounds to die for! I hate when I get sick on foods and can never eat them again. I’d be sad if that happened with sushi.

    Sorry the sake drink was gross!

    Have a good weekend lady!

  21. November 13, 2009 5:34 pm

    Oh no! You got sick on sushi? That’s not good! But I totally can understand what you mean about getting sick on a certain food and then not feeling the same way about it afterward. I got food poisoning from eating a turkey burger and whenever I see it on the menu at a restaurant, I tend to gloss over it. I’ll make it at home, but eating it out is weird for me still. Of course I’ll check out your bestie’s blog! That’s so cool that you both share the same interests! Have fun this weekend!

  22. November 13, 2009 6:46 pm

    That sounds like such an amazing vacation. You should definitely go! I’ve been to Costa Rica twice and it seriously has the nicest people I’ve ever met!

  23. November 13, 2009 7:50 pm

    I had a really traumatic experience with seaweed noodles- I am a vegetarian so I think my body was sensitive to the mercury -it made me so sick- I was up all night hugging the toilet- uggh I can’t even look at it now!

    And you should definitely seize the moment and go to Costa Rica- are you kidding? Don’t even think about it, just do it! πŸ˜€

  24. November 13, 2009 8:35 pm

    I say go for the trip to Costa Rica!!! I have always wanted to go there and the yoga retreat sounds amazing. DO IT! πŸ™‚

  25. November 13, 2009 8:57 pm

    I can’t wait for yoga tomorrow! I found a studio that does free classes on Saturdays, and I’m super excited. πŸ™‚

    Yoga in Costa Rica sounds amazing! I say go for it! I would love to travel more; maybe someday when I’m done with school and have a real job, hehee.

  26. November 13, 2009 9:13 pm

    Well even though your drink didn’t taste good it sure looks tasty!! ; ) I’ll go visit your friend’s blog right away!!

  27. November 14, 2009 12:09 am

    I LOVE sushi!!! that is definitely the BEST girls night out IMO. I totally think you need to go to Costa Rica – travelling is so awesome and you get so much life experience. I LOVE it!

    Yeah for your BFF starting a blog πŸ™‚ fun

  28. November 14, 2009 12:11 am

    Ashley you lucky duck!! Have you made up your mind yet? Wow, I wish I could afford the travel bug! πŸ˜‰ But please GO and pamper yourself! And yeah, I wouldn’t worry about making friends too, because all you need to do is smile your dazzling smile and people pile up to be your friend!

    Hee hee, don’t you mean KABOCHA squash? I’m pretty sure kombucha is a drink!

  29. November 14, 2009 12:00 pm

    Those tempura veggies look soo good! I hear you on the travel bug – 2 years ago my mom and I traveled to Paris together, and we promised each other we’d make it back there in 5 years. Traveling is just addictive!!

  30. November 14, 2009 6:10 pm

    you MUST check out my blog girl, I just got back from costa rica nad did a full 2 day update! my cousins, aunt and uncle live there so I grew up going there. WHen you go, if you drink Cafe Britt coffee…thats my uncles company!! its amazing coffee and such an amazing country! you are going to have such a great time! please email me if you have any questions!!

  31. November 14, 2009 9:36 pm

    what a fabulous girls nite! i havent had sushi in a bit and i am missing it. your pics are making me crave it! kinda wish i was going out for that instead of mexican tonite LOL. sorry you lost the taste for it…that’s definitely happened to me before with other foods, especially if i eat them wayyy to much πŸ™‚

  32. November 15, 2009 5:06 pm

    Hooray for Field Hockey!! I am sure we talked about this before, but I played in college too – only one year though because they dropped their program after my freshman year! 😦

    I enjoy watching Northwestern play on an NCAA sports network, which is nice! Where I live now, there are no teams to go to watch within an hours drive!

  33. November 15, 2009 8:31 pm

    Costa Rica sounds awesome!

  34. November 15, 2009 10:23 pm

    Never be afraid to travel alone, especially if you are going on a retreat or with a tour group or something, because really, you aren’t alone πŸ™‚ I went to Ecuador and The Galapagos for a month on my own (but as part of a tour), and it was great. I knew it wasn’t something that anyone else would want (or be able to do afford) to do with me, but I was determined to go. If you want it, go for it.

Trackbacks

  1. Finding My Inner Athlete « Biggest Diabetic Loser

Leave a Reply

