Skip to content

foodbuzz numero uno

November 10, 2009

Hiiiii! The weekend was amazing, and Foodbuzz put on an event to remember! Unfortunately, I have a desk top so there was no posting while in San Fran. I’ll make up for it now πŸ™‚

There was a slight hiccup at the beginning of my trip. I had a flight going out of BWI that was supposed to leave at 7:05 and have one stop and get me to San Francisco by 11 AM. I’m notorious for sleeping through entire plane rides so as soon as we boarded I passed out. I was woken up at around 7:30 and wondered why we were still on the ground. The loud speaker told us that there were mechanical difficulties and that we all had to de-board the plane. Once we got off they had to reschedule those with connecting flights.

The girl in front of me was on her way to Texas, and ended up getting a direct flight and arriving sooner than she would have. I thought, PERFECT i’ll fly straight there and i’ll get there faster and not have to worry about switching flights.

W-R-O-N-G.

They told us they had to send us to Atlanta and that was the only city that was flying out to San Francisco today. They said it’d be a little wait once we were there until our other flight took off. I asked how long, they said 11 hours.

I got into Atlanta at 10 AM and my flight to go to San Fran was at 8:45PM. All I can say is that I got to know the Atlanta airport extremely well. At first I called to complain to my mom but she said, obviously there was nothing I could do about it now so I better make the best of it and just get some rest. Pretty much I just ate, slept, read, and repeated that process until my flight left. Oh, Air Tran did give me a $10 meal card to compensate. haha. ridiculous.

By the time I got to San Francisco and to the hotel it was close to 11:30 and I had missed the earlier events. I got in and caught up with my hotel mates on what I missed. Danica was a sweetheart times a million and let us stay at the Wyndham Canterbury time share.  With me was Jasmine, Quinn, Janetha, and Allison. The hotel was beautiful ❀

Picture 001

The next morning we all went on a walk around the city. Ah, the infamous San Francisco hills. So pretty and brutal at the same time. πŸ™‚

Picture 004

After we got ready we headed on down to the local farmers market and grabbed some breakfast. I of course being the indecisive person I am couldn’t pick what I wanted to get. The egg sandwich and potatoes or the butternut squash brioche french toast? Thank goodness Danica was thinking the same as me, and we ended up splitting both. Sweet and Savory in the same meal. Perfection.
Picture 016

Picture 017

Picture 020

We didn’t get much time to look around the farmers market because our first session was as soon as we finished eating. I wish we had more time for that. We went back to Hotel Vitale and got ready for our Olive Oil tasting. We had 6 different tasting cups and tried olive oil from all over the world. I’ve never sipped on olive oil before so it was a different experience for me. I thought we’d be dipping bread in, but that wasn’t the case. We got to taste the oil for what it was on its own. They also went us back with our own bottle of Olio Nuevo (New Oil) that was just harvested this November. I can’t wait to use it!

Picture 025

Picture 023

After our tasting we walked over to the tasting pavillion and our California White Sparkling wine tasting. There was so much to try and I honestly can’t even remember everything. It was so awesome to be able to taste so many types of food and drinks that I normally wouldn’t have been able to try. Foodbuzz really had a great turnout with the tables and everything was delicious. I had some mini cupcakes that were not only yummy but the cutest things ever. I had a pumpkin with dulce de leche icing and one red velvet.

Picture 027

Picture 029

They had a dry dip which I thought was really neat. You dip your bread into the olive oil and then dip it into the flavored dips. The zesty was my fav πŸ™‚

Picture 031

Some cookies that were supposed to taste like cookie dough. This woman knows Β the way to my heart πŸ™‚

Picture 033

BRIE

Picture 035

beet tarts that looked very top chef esque

Picture 040

The wine tasting was delicious πŸ™‚

Picture 041

Picture 045

this was all just the first half of my day! I will be back with another post about the Outstanding in the Field dinner!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. shell625 permalink
    November 10, 2009 2:58 pm

    i’m jealous! that looks like so much fun & those cupcakes are sooo cute. cute picture of all you ladies πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  2. November 10, 2009 3:07 pm

    i miss you! πŸ™‚ it was so fabulous to finally be able to meet you in person! you are EVEN MORE wonderful than i expected – which i didn’t think was possible!!!

  3. meyergirl permalink
    November 10, 2009 3:32 pm

    That egg sandwich looks DE-licious!!

  4. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:02 pm

    Bummer about the long flight, but what a gorgeous hotel room, and what a gorgeous group of bloggies!! πŸ™‚

  5. November 10, 2009 4:32 pm

    everything looks so fun and delicious!! can’t wait for the rest of the recap! aaaand i hope fitbloggin is as much fun !

  6. November 10, 2009 4:35 pm

    Sorry that you got stuck in Atlanta for so long! Maybe you should write a letter to the airline about how you missed almost an entire day of your trip due to the delay… they almost always offer a voucher (maybe $100?) for future travel!

    We got stuck in Paris overnight (I say that like it’s a bad thing. :)) and they gave us a voucher for half the cost of the flight home!

  7. November 10, 2009 4:37 pm

    Hi Darling,

    I had such a wonderful time meeting you in San Fran…I wish you lived closer to me, hehe…such a pleasure to meet you and I’m looking forward to following your blog now that I can put a face to your name, hehe…Have a wonderful afternoon and I hope to see you again soon!

  8. November 10, 2009 6:47 pm

    That’s a bummer that your trip started out badly, but it looks like it got way better!!

  9. November 10, 2009 8:19 pm

    That looks like so much fun, and so yummy!
    These pictures make me miss SF SO much!

  10. jilianmarie permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:40 pm

    omg, soo jealous! it’s fun to see everyone’s photos of foodbuzz! the same activities, but such different photos and perspectives! love it. so sorry about all of your travel delays!! you made it though, yay! ahh, i want to go to a festival so badly but i never know what ones i should go to or if i’ll “know” anyone! glad to see you had so much fun.

  11. November 10, 2009 9:55 pm

    the foodbuzz fest looks amazing! i wish i could have gone and met up with all of you gorgeous girls. the hotel room is absolutely beautiful, too!

    so many good eats!

  12. Sweet and Fit permalink
    November 10, 2009 11:08 pm

    soooo nice to see you again! thanks so much for putting up with allllll my crap this weekend! after i got home I realized how cranky I was most of the time =/

  13. November 10, 2009 11:30 pm

    It was so awesome to meet you this weekend and get a chance to know you. You are such a doll and totally funny. I LOVE your pictures – they totally make me want to go back again.

  14. November 11, 2009 12:10 am

    yay!! that was so fun πŸ™‚ the zesty was my favorite too!! MISS YOU HONEY!

  15. November 11, 2009 1:15 am

    The foods are so yummmmy! I love it πŸ™‚ I’m sure your experience on this is perfect!

  16. Brittany permalink
    November 11, 2009 7:16 am

    SO awesome!!! I want to do that!! Ok…I might start a blog πŸ™‚ Seriously…

    Love you!!! Phone date asap…you just inspired me. haha

  17. charmcitykim permalink
    November 11, 2009 7:37 am

    I have always wanted to go to San Fran! Looks like you had a good time. I need to take blogging more seriously so I can get on top of these events! πŸ™‚

  18. November 11, 2009 9:06 am

    Amazzzzing looking food! Especially that butternut squash french toast!! I never would have thought of anything like that. I can’t wait to hear about the rest of the trip!

  19. November 11, 2009 10:58 am

    WOW what a disaster at the airport. GAHH I hate flight screw ups…$10 to compensate?? I say you should get upgrades and free flights for the rest of the year!!! Killing time a the airport is NO FUN. 😦

    I love San Fran and its hills. TOTALLY reminds me Hong Kong, my true love. *sigh* Can’t wait to go home!!! And eat great food…like the amazing french toast you guys got! *drool* Wish i were there!!

  20. November 11, 2009 11:00 pm

    So much fun!! And I am totally jealous of all of the yummy foods πŸ™‚

  21. November 13, 2009 12:38 pm

    Just catching up with your foodbuzz posts–lovely! It really looks like everyone had such a great time!

  22. November 15, 2009 10:15 pm

    I’m so jealous. I wanted to go to the festival, especially since it was on the west coast, but there was just no way I could swing it financially. I’m definitely saving up for next year.

Leave a Reply

