Skip to content

bloggie love

October 28, 2009

Happy Tuesday ❤

There are a few things that I am so excited for:

Foodbuzz Festival. NEXT FRIDAY! I have never been to the west coast before and have always wanted to.  I am so happy that I decided to make the big step and go. Now I get to meet all my blog friends in real life and couldn’t be more excited! We’ve all gotten together and figured out our schedules, and runs and yoga to add into the weekend. I’m going to need to empty out my camera, i’ll be taking lots of pics.

Fitbloggin’ ’10 conference. Right smack dab in my hometown 🙂 The hotel the conference is actually going to be held in is the hotel that we had my senior prom in. It’s about 1/4 of a mile from my work! There are tons of ladies going to this one, and I feel like more will keep on piling in.

POTM Challenge. Bobbi and Caitlin’s pile on the miles challenge ’09. This starts Nov 1 and is a way to motivate us to keep moving in the months that are well known for feasting. I tend to become a wimp when it gets colder, but I just need to layer and get myself out there.

There’s so much blog love lately, its been amazing!

So last night I went to my fav hot vinyasa class at the studio. It’s held by Camille, and she knows how to kick your ass. I love how she pushes you when you don’t think you can do it. Right near the end of the class she told everyone to go ahead and go into headstand, handstand or nothing if you don’t want to do them. Everyone got into their positions and I sat their kind of clueless. She asked if anyone needed help and I raised my hand. She swore that I had done one before, and believed that I had the strength to do it. I’ve only once ever gone into a headstand and it was against a wall, with the instructor holding me.  I was scared to do it in the middle of a room where I could easily tumble over. She stood by me and showed me the proper positioning so I didn’t get hurt, and then told me to try it. I got up! I thanked her for helping me up, but she said she didn’t hold me, she just stood there just in case. It was a crazy feeling being able to do something that I thought was so far advanced that I’d never be able to accomplish it. It still makes me nervous, but at least I know now how to practice so that I can keep getting better. My muscles are screaming at me today, so I know that I worked them well 🙂

So yesterday I came home for lunch and wasn’t exactly sure of what to eat. I ended up throwing some random ingredients together and came up with a delicious combo! Tofu, chickpeas and bbq sauce went into the pan. I got them nice and heated up. I toasted a pita and put a slice of pepperjack cheese into it, added some hummus then threw in the mix in the pan. Added a few slices of banana peppers and it was delicious! I’ll be making it again today for sure.

Picture 015

After dinner I made some of Jenna’s famous chicken enchiladas. Ah these are to die for. They never disappoint. Picture 016

Well today i’m planning on either a yoga class or a run outside depending on the weather. If i go for a run i’m going to try and take Eden and see how she does. I’ve run with her a few times for a block or two and she seems to enjoy it, but she always loves to sniff and wander so we’ll see. I’d love it if we could run together. get both my run in, and tire her out and get her walk in. Crossing my fingers!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 7:36 am

    Wow – you have lots of fun stuff to look forward to, girl! And congrats on the headstand – you are rocking the yoga! I think I need that enchilada recipe… they look awesome!

  2. October 28, 2009 7:59 am

    omg headstands are so hard! I tried to do one alone against a wall and kept getting to scared to fully finish it…faith and trust are huge in yoga. You did so well it sounds! keep practicing girl! Have fun at the blogger festival in san fran next week…i wish i could be there!

    xoxo
    Lo

  3. October 28, 2009 7:59 am

    That is so excited you’re going to the Foodbuzz Festival AND FitBloggin! Can’t wait to see your recaps. 🙂

  4. October 28, 2009 8:06 am

    Yay for the FBuzz festival! Can’t wait to see your pics!

    Those enchiladas look great – I think Andrew and Chase would be food coma bffs 🙂

    I’m sure you’ll get the hang of running with Eden…when I take Charley for a run, I just have to hold the leash pretty tight b/c if I get in “the zone” and he stops, it’s not pretty! 🙂 You definitely have to pay more attention! haha (duh?!)

    Have a great wednesday!
    Kaneil

  5. October 28, 2009 8:28 am

    Your enchiladas look so good!!

    And I’m slightly jealous of the Foodbuzz Festival 🙂

  6. October 28, 2009 8:55 am

    You will totally see me at FitBloggin’ too! I’m stoked!

    Those enchiladas look amazing!

  7. October 28, 2009 8:57 am

    That foodblog thing in Baltimore sounds cool!!! I might have to go to that!!!! Hope you have a great trip next week!!! Have a great day!

  8. October 28, 2009 9:10 am

    that pita looks awesome. so do the enchiladas! congrats on your headstand! i was never very good at those… haha now, handstands…i can do those…just not headstands. haha

  9. October 28, 2009 9:39 am

    I’m so excited for the Foodbuzz festival and getting to meet all of you. It’s going to be so much fun. I’m looking into a hot yoga class for a bunch of us to take as well. I’ve never tried it!

  10. October 28, 2009 11:14 am

    aw, sweets! congrats on conquering the headstand!!!!!! isn’t it such a free and liberating feeling?! nothing like it 🙂

    have a fabulous wednesday darling girl!

  11. October 28, 2009 11:15 am

    I’m also such a wimp when it comes to exercising outside when it gets cold. Your yoga class sounds amazing!! I wish I lived closer to Bmore–bc I feel like I’d love your studio. I am MISSING hot yog lately…

    I’m thinking I’m not gonna go to Foodbuzz considering I still didnt book a flight haha (though spots are still open and I have fam I can stay with… gaaaah I’m so indecisive!!!) but Fitbloggin sounds perfect! Is it overnight?

  12. October 28, 2009 1:23 pm

    I can’t wait for FitBloggin too! I am right down the road in Richmond 🙂 so glad I found your blog!! Those enchiladas look soooo gooood btw

  13. October 28, 2009 1:42 pm

    I wish I was going to Foodbuzz. I started blogging too late and didn’t know about it. I am going to go to fitBloggin’ tho!

  14. October 28, 2009 1:43 pm

    I so wanted to go to Foodbuzz this year, but it just couldn’t happen for me. All us MD/DC-ers need to get together soon to meet up for a blog dinner! Maybe between the Foodbuzz Festival and Fitblogging.

  15. October 28, 2009 1:53 pm

    yay!! Fantastic job getting into the headstand. MY GOSH you went from having only done it once to totally doing it on your own?? That’s so impressive!!! You must’ve been on a high the rest of the day huh?? 🙂 I’m excited for you for going to the FoodBuzz festival!! I’m jealous too…i wish I could meet you in person one day!! You’re gonna have sooo much fun i just KNOW it!!!

  16. October 28, 2009 1:57 pm

    If you run with her consistently she’ll get better!

    When I went home for 3 weeks last spring I took my moms golden lab for a run with me almost every day, at the beginning he was really hard to run with – pulling on the leash, stopping to sniff things etc. but after awhile he learned that I meant business and turned into a great running partner!!

    If you are doing a bit of a longer run, like 4-5 miles, maybe make it into a double loop and then drop her off after the first loop at the beginning! That’s what I would do with Murphy, by the end he could run 6 miles with me easy though.

    Of course now all that training is totally gone because my mom doesn’t run, so when I go home at Christmas I’ll be starting all over! Haha

  17. lowandbhold permalink
    October 28, 2009 4:41 pm

    So excited for Fitbloggin! And jealous of the Foodbuzz goers!

    That class sounds awesome, I love instructors like that.

  18. October 28, 2009 5:35 pm

    I wish I could go to the Foodbuzz Festival! Take lots of pictures! *Sigh* Stupid work and school…

  19. October 28, 2009 8:28 pm

    Wow! A headstand! That is amazing! You are going to have so much fun at foodbuzz!!! I can’t wait for fitbloggin! Bloggy <3!

  20. October 28, 2009 9:57 pm

    i’m so jealous you get to go to foodbuzz and fitblogg’n!!!! i wish i could have gone to either!!!

    and can’t wait for POTM challenge to start! it was so fun last year!!!

  21. October 28, 2009 10:06 pm

    wow! congrats on your headstand! that is so impressive!!!

  22. October 28, 2009 10:33 pm

    YUM you pictures make me hungry, and I saw you said Columbia was home and I remember you asking me about MD I never got a chance to answer I used to work at Columbia Mall, LOVE that area I am from Carroll country and miss it everyday!

  23. BroccoliHut permalink
    October 28, 2009 10:41 pm

    What a delicious pita combo–I am convinced that anything featuring BBQ or chickpeas will taste delicious, no matter what.

  24. November 1, 2009 3:43 pm

    food looks amazing..yummmmm….and i have a dog to….its cool you run together ….i live in the big city…he goes nuts for bikes, scooters and roller blades ….so the park is out of the question….great reads…all the best to you always.

  25. Sweet and Fit permalink
    November 1, 2009 5:13 pm

    enchiladas look amazing!!!

    I’m so excited about SF – I’m starting to pack already!

Leave a Reply

