Skip to content

tapa tapa

October 26, 2009

welcome back to monday! yikes that came extremely fast. I loved reading all about what makes you ladies smile. They each put a smile on my face 🙂  I had such a good time with my family and friends this weekend. Friday my mom, sister and I went to DC for the day bc my sister is studying abroad in China over her winter break and needed a Visa. We made a day out of it and decided to throw in a little eating and shopping into the mix. I asked a few of my friends for recommendations in the dc area and two of my best friends both mentioned the same pleace. I looked up the menu, and it was a cute tapas restaurant that had rave reviews. I was sold. We went to Zaytinya which I actually found out that Mike Isabella from this seasons Top Chef is their head chef. Their menu was filled with Mediterranean style tapas (small plates) and we all decided to get a bunch of things to try and share them all.

The bread came out first and was the fluffiest thing i’ve ever seen. SO light and airy it came with some olive oil and balsamic.

Picture 001

We got grape leaves

Picture 002

Falafels

Picture 003

Zucchini and cheese fritters

Picture 004

The lightest calamari on earth

Picture 005

A salmon, feta and leek in phylo dough roll

Picture 006

and some type of grilled chicken

Picture 007

The food was miniature but with a mighty taste. Everything was delicious and melt in your mouth amazing.  I hope to definitely come back with my dad next time and make it a whole family trip. AMAZING food and definitely recommended 🙂

After we left lunch we searched for a sweet ending. We happened to walk by a self serve froyo place. I’ve heard of these places but have never actually been in one myself. You get a large container and fill it up as much as you want and they charge you by the weight of the container. My sister and I bought got the pumpkin pie froyo and she added graham crackers to hers. For both of ours it was only $4.50. Not too shabby at all.

Picture 008

Picture 009

The next morning my family went to brunch in Baltimore. My dad had heard on the news that Baltimore magazine had come out with their list for best brunch and Golden West Cafe which is in an area called Hampden was on that list. He looked at their menu online and was determined that we needed to go. What I also loved was that they had so many different vegan/vegetarian options available. The place had such a cool vibe inside. Lots of knick knacks on the wall, record covers on the walls, and even the menus were record covers laminated. I decided to go for the Hopi Cakes. 2 cornmeal pancakes with bananas and blueberries topped with creme fraiche and pinenuts. diivinnee!

Picture 011

I wanted to give a big thank you to all of you for voting for me for the Good Mood Blogger 🙂 You are all so very sweet. There are multiple bloggers who are going for the same position and we all decided to bond together and help each other get to the top. You are allowed to vote once a day so please vote for me and all of these amazing ladies!!!

Lindsey (www.soundeats.com)

Meghann (www.graduatemeghann.com)

Sarah (www.muchfruit.wordpress.com)

Monica (www.runeatrepeat.com)

Amanda (www.runtothefinish.blogspot.com)

Have a wonderful Monday XOXO

32 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 8:15 am

    Zaytinya must be heaven sent… look at all that delish food!!! Ahh you lucky girl! And the pumpkin pie froyo looks to die for. Hope you had a good weekend 🙂

  2. rhodeygirltests permalink
    October 26, 2009 8:26 am

    wow everything you ate that day looks ROCKING! I am super stoked to meet you too! TWO WEEKS!

  3. Megan permalink
    October 26, 2009 8:27 am

    Mmm those pancakes look SO good.. my favorite place to get brunch is probably Miss Shirleys… SOOOO good– you should try it out sometime!!

  4. October 26, 2009 8:29 am

    Looks like you had a great weekend. The tapa place looks so amazing…so much good food. I think I almost prefer tapa style because you can sample a little bit of everything and not overstuff yourself.

    Pumpkin froyo sounds divine. Anything pumpkin = favorite this season!

    Have a great Monday!

  5. October 26, 2009 8:51 am

    ooh all of that food looks amazing!! I’m trying to get a visit together to go see my bestie over there – i’ll have to make sure we go here… and to that fro yo place- fab!! Happy Monday!

  6. October 26, 2009 8:53 am

    Zaytinya is one of my favorite restaurants in DC! I actually went there for my bachelorette party dinner! So glad you enjoyed it! Funny that you were in my city and I was in yours yesterday 🙂

  7. October 26, 2009 9:46 am

    I love DC and that food looks amazing! And actually, my mom was just telling me that she heard of that brunch place in Hampden on Food Network! Glad to see it it’s looking good!

    And btw, I live downtown near UMB. We’ve been here since mid-August. It’s quite the adventure!

  8. October 26, 2009 10:08 am

    OMG OMG OMG! This food looks out of this world! I must try these restaurants. I always hear of a million places to go in DC, but never know where since there are so many. This one is a definite to try. My mom always finds great places in Baltimore too, but I have not been to the brunch place either. WOW-love new places to try!

  9. October 26, 2009 10:08 am

    That’s so cool you went to Mike Isabella’s restaurant. I love Top Chef! Everything looks delicious.

    And I voted for you today. Good luck!

  10. October 26, 2009 10:49 am

    Everything looks incredible! I’ve been sort of obsessed with grape leaves lately.. I want to learn how to make them!

  11. October 26, 2009 11:32 am

    mmm I love making a meal out of tapas — such a great way to try a bunch of different things 🙂

    Just voted for you honey.. gotta support my fellow good mooders 🙂

  12. October 26, 2009 11:45 am

    That tapas restaurant looks fantastic! P.S. I’m giving away a breast cancer awareness Ipod nano armband case on my blog. http://lovinlosing.com/

  13. October 26, 2009 11:56 am

    Everything looks amazing! Fresh pita bread is ridiculously good! I’ve never had cornmeal pancakes but they sound delicious!

  14. October 26, 2009 12:14 pm

    I went to the same sort of frozen yogurt place this weekend in Atlanta. It was good.

    I’ve been to Zaytina once. I enjoyed it.

  15. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 26, 2009 12:38 pm

    Drrrooooollll!!! That food looks super yummy…hope you enjoyed your weekend 🙂

  16. October 26, 2009 1:36 pm

    aw you are so good, my self-serve froyo is usually $4.50 just for my own 🙂 i can’t wait to get some pumpkin flavor next time i go!!

  17. October 26, 2009 2:28 pm

    Wow, those tapas look so amazing! I just found a self serve frogo place here, love it!

  18. October 26, 2009 2:38 pm

    Mmm all of that food looks amazzzzing! Jealous! 🙂

  19. October 26, 2009 3:18 pm

    OHHH i am salivating over here! that food looks epic!!

  20. October 26, 2009 4:35 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed your girls weekend in DC! The food looks so good and the bread looks so yummy and fresh! No probs for the vote – i’d vote for you any day!

  21. shell625 permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:59 pm

    I definitely think you deserve that award! those tapas look awesome.. i LOVE falafel!
    hope you check out my blog 🙂
    findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com
    xoxoxoox,
    Shelley

  22. October 26, 2009 10:18 pm

    Every picture you posted looked better than the last. Especially ending with those pancakes, I love how they were topped with pinenuts.

    There is one self-serve frozen yogurt place near me. Its good, but its a little dangerous knowing how much you could easily put into your cup

  23. Caroline permalink
    October 26, 2009 11:06 pm

    I want to eat everything in this post…but that fro yo looks especially sensational!

  24. October 27, 2009 8:40 am

    OH!! Cool!! I didn’t know Michael is head chef of a tapas style mediterranean restaurant in DC!!!! Though i still think he’s not very nice. 😛 The fro yo’s are EXACTLY what I got this weekend!!! Except I went to red mango – i got the pumpkin spice with crushed graham crackers!!! Mine wasn’t life changing though. hehehe Hopefully yours was much yummier!! Go to China with your sista this winter and come play with me!!!!! 🙂

  25. October 27, 2009 9:48 am

    everything looks delicious!!!

    I wish we had a froyo place like that – ours is so expensive!

  26. October 27, 2009 11:09 am

    I am going to have to find a recipe for those zucchini cheese fritters – yum!

    Sounds like a great family weekend!

  27. October 27, 2009 2:55 pm

    ohh self serve froyo how I adore thee!! It is seriously the best thing for me that there is not one around here!!!

  28. October 27, 2009 5:56 pm

    love your blog, girl! you have some great pic taking skills, that food looks AMAZING at the restaurant, my father is middleeastern so i am obsessed with falafels and grape leaves, all that stuff!!

    jealous of your pumpkin pie fro-yo, I still haven’t tried any around here!!

  29. October 27, 2009 10:17 pm

    all of these look amazingly yummy. I want some!

  30. October 29, 2009 1:53 am

    I want a bite of every thing you ordered at that tapas place. Great choices 😀

  31. October 29, 2009 11:19 am

    omg, i’m STARVING now. everything looks soo amazing!! xoxo

  32. November 10, 2009 10:08 pm

    oh i LOVE Golden West. (and as suggested above, miss shirleys is wonderful too, if you ever go back to baltimore for brunch!) golden west’s guac with their brekky burrito is delish!

Leave a Reply

