Skip to content

stewed up

October 20, 2009

Hi all πŸ™‚ Hope you guys had a great weekend and Monday. I’m glad the weather decided to stop pouring down on us and give us a little sunshine. Now this is much better fall weather ❀

Saturday I went to my friend’s baby shower. The whole shower was halloween themed and everything was adorable. She got to open up her gifts in a special chair with a witch hat on lol. Her baby girl is going to be so ridiculously fabulous. Everything she got was gorgeous and i’d say 99% of it was hot pink. I can’t wait to meet her, her due date is Nov 20.

Picture 001

Saturday night the pirate ship got canceled due to weather. I missed out on the bar crawl because of the baby shower so I ended up getting there much later than everyone else. I decided catch-up was the way to go. DUMB. I had a few drinks too many and felt the effects. Lets just say Sat night and Sunday wasn’t very pretty. Nights like that where you say ” im never going out again”. Well, I managed to feel better by the end of the night and Chase and I had planned on a sushi take out dinner since earlier in the week. We decided our Sunday tradition will be to get a new take out dinner. We always eat home cooked meals during the week, so I think this is a fun little thing that we started.

I wasn’t that hungry so I got 2 rolls. Spicy Tuna and Salmon Avocado. I don’t usually get spicy tuna rolls but I was surprised to see that it wasn’t all mixed together? Anyhoo, it was awesome sushi, very fresh, big pieces of fish.

Picture 002

I hadn’t gotten groceries this past weekend and the fridge and pantry were pretty bare so lunch had to be on the go. Cross St Market which I talk about pretty frequently on here is a block away and has tons of different stands. Different food, produce, flowers, meat stands, i mean everything you can think of and is open 6 days a week. I constantly see this greek stand but have never gotten anything from there. A falafel was literally screaming my name so thats what I got. They scooped the falafel balls fresh and cooked them after I ordered them. The bread was toasted and everything melted in my mouth. I love tzatziki, i mean loveeee it, but this was a massive amount. Even I had to scrape a good bit off. DELISH though. Baltimore ladies, go to cross st market and visit the stand.

Picture 003

I have been in the mood for beef stew lately. I googled some recipes and decided on Paula Dean’s Old time beef stew. I mean over 300 reviews and a 5 star rating? It had to be good! I decided to add potatoes to the mix though, the way my mom always does it. Well turns out beef stew takes a while to cook. We didn’t end up eating till around 8 but it was delicious. My first beef stew. Made with love. I made cornbread muffins on the side and it was a perfect meal. Betty homemaker is in town πŸ™‚ All I need is an apron. I need one bad.

Picture 005

Picture 006

Well tonight i’m going to a hot vinyasa class then it’s girls night dinner! I think its pasta night. Have a lovely Tuesday, xoxo

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 7:48 am

    Oh that stew looks delish! I am craving some now!!

  2. October 20, 2009 8:28 am

    Mmmm sushi and stew.. sounds delicious! I’m sorry about the pirate ship being cancelled… and ugh I know that feeling when you never want to see another drink again!!

  3. October 20, 2009 8:32 am

    Omigoodness that beef stew looks DELICIOUS, I will have to try it!! You are totally a little suzy homemaker πŸ™‚

  4. October 20, 2009 8:32 am

    Awh your friend looks so cute and what fun theme for a shower! OMG that falafel looks freaking delish!

  5. October 20, 2009 9:15 am

    That’s my favorite kind of spicy tuna. In most of the places in NYC, they make it all mashed up (which I’m not a huge fan of) but at my fave sushi place in D.C. it’s just a big piece of tuna with theeeee most amazing spicy sauce on the side. I miss it so much haha.

  6. savoringsarah permalink
    October 20, 2009 9:30 am

    Holy tzatziki!! Good work on the stew…! A slow cooked meaty meal- the way to a mans heart πŸ˜‰

  7. jilianmarie permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:49 am

    ahh that falafel looks so good. i love tzatziki, too. i guess they wanted to make sure you had enough…haha. and that beef stew looks delicious!

  8. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:39 pm

    My man loves beef stew as well, but sigh, I never have time to prepare it…maybe I’ll try this recipe though!! πŸ™‚

    I totally know the “I’m never going out again” feeling…funny how that usually wears off by the time the next weekend rolls around, lol! Have a great day πŸ™‚

  9. October 20, 2009 12:50 pm

    I’m having sushi tonight!!! I love california rolls with REAL crab, but it’s so hard to find nowadays!! 😦 No beef for me, but I do like stew A LOT!!

  10. Renee permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:53 pm

    How did I not know that you live in Federal Hill?? I live on Fort Ave, in Riverside. Smalltimore.

  11. October 20, 2009 1:30 pm

    Yum, I lovee stews – So warm in the winter time πŸ™‚ You need to add in some dumplings next time!

  12. October 20, 2009 1:45 pm

    Damn, that’s a lotta tzatziki!! My boyfriend’s old roommate used to make tzatziki all the time. I used to think it was gross, until I tried her concoction, and holy crap, it was SO GOOD.

    I’ve never tried to make it myself, though. It’s gotta be pretty easy, right? Greek yogurt and cucumber, some spices? I should look it up.

  13. lowandbhold permalink
    October 20, 2009 2:32 pm

    That falafel looks amazing. Espesh with that big blob of tzaziki.

    I hate those nights, but they’re usually pretty fun in the moment πŸ˜‰

  14. October 20, 2009 2:43 pm

    so sweet that you made him one of his faves. i bet he loved that!!

  15. October 20, 2009 3:49 pm

    YUM i had that exact sushi meal last night, + edamame πŸ˜€ I love sushi so much i’m so happy i found a great place here in Bost!

  16. October 20, 2009 10:14 pm

    That pita is epic! It looks so delish.

  17. November 17, 2009 2:18 pm

    Oh, I love your new Sunday night tradition. So fun, and so sweet of you to make Chase some beef stew. You really can’t go wrong with Paula Dean.

    Falafels and warm toasted pita bread – another thing you can never go wrong with. πŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoyed your yoga class and girls night!

Leave a Reply

