Skip to content

argggghhh matey

October 14, 2009

Happy Humpday! I’m glad the week is halfway over. Lots to look forward to this weekend. One of my friends is having her baby shower on Saturday and Saturday night two of my friend’s are having a PIRATE birthday celebration.  In the Inner Harbor there is a pirate ship that sails around and blows cannons. Well, turns out you can rent these ships for parties and such and its BYOB. So we’ll get some pirate gear and get to drink on a pirate ship in the harbor. TOO FUN.  speaking out dressing up… got my mrs flash costume in the mail yesterday. oh my. its gonna be a fun halloweeny.

I’m so excited for the baby shower too. She’s having  a little girl and I think they’re naming her Olivia Grace. Such a precious name. Well I bought her Juicy Couture pink velor bonnet and booties and a white velor onesie from Ralph Lauren with a pink horse. I DIEEE. it’s sooooo ridiculously cute. I could shop for baby clothes all day, mini things make me giddy! lol.

I was in the grocery store the other day and I thought it was the perfect time to try out cooking my acorn squash. First time buyer here, and wasn’t exactly sure what to do with it. I googled up some recipes and found one on PostPunkKitchen. The lovely website to go along with some of our favorite cookbooks, veganomicon and vegan with a vengeance. There’s a recipes section in the website that people submit their recipes to and when I saw a stuffed Acorn Squash one, I decided that was the one. A ridiculously simple recipe and the ingredient list was simple.

Acorn Squash, canola oil, maple syrup, apples, pumpkin pie spice and I added in some chopped walnuts. I ate both halves for dinner and was pleasantly satisfied. I like the sweet and savory taste of the squash with the other ingredients.

Picture 038

Last night after dinner I had a Beginner yoga class with the owner of CharmCity Yoga.  I was excited to take this class and was eager to get there because I had a feeling she would be an amazing teacher. I really am not very experienced with yoga, so I thought this would be the perfect class to get a handle on the fundamentals.  She focused on correct postures and transitions and I got to watch closely to make sure I was doing the right things at the right times that were right for my own body. The biggest thing that I was glad I learned was the correct way to do chaturanga. I can feel it big time. My triceps are burnnnning!  I’m also loving my new Jade yoga mat. It’s sticky and keeps me placed on the mat. No sliding around during down dog, and when I transition. I heart. I’m learning to leave my mind at the door when I get to class. I try and focus only on what i’m doing at the present time and try to find quietness. lovin it so much already.

On a poopy note, my iphone just stopped working. what the eff apple? gahhh this is already my second iphone.  I love it so much but it’s being such a pain. Hopefully after work i’ll get to the store and they can fix it.

Oh, i have a new favorite breakfast 🙂 I’ve been sleeping in later and later lately and tend to not have much time to relax before work. Need to change this. HOWEVER, since I don’t have that much time i need a portable breakfast option. enter almond butter, flaxseed, and pecan pumpkin butter sandwich. Either with toast, or my all time fav.. wafflessss! Its perfect for me to take in the car with me alongside my coffee mug. I’m utterly in love with the pumpkin butter from Williams-sonoma. It is the perfect companion to my TJ’s raw almond butter. Really they are in love.

Picture 039

Going home to Columbia tonight to hang with the rents. love those two. and my sister comes home next friday to get her Visa for when she studies abroad in China over winter. JEALOUS MUCH??? ah, so jealous, not bitter just jealous 😉 anyways, we’re going to DC to the Chinese Embassy, and was wondering if any one has any recommendations for the DC area for lunch? I appreciate your help! love you alllllllllll

27 Comments leave one →
  1. charmcitykim permalink
    October 14, 2009 12:37 pm

    A pirate themed birthday?! I’ve heard about this ship… I hope you blog about this pirate party because if its as awesome as I think it sounds, this could be my potential 30th bday party place (next summer!)

    • October 14, 2009 12:39 pm

      i will definitely blog about it 🙂 i have a feeling its going to be such a good time!

  2. October 14, 2009 1:28 pm

    A pirate ship party sounds great, can’t wait to see the pics 🙂 I’m thinking of taking up yoga myself after hearing so many good things about it.

  3. Vani permalink
    October 14, 2009 1:33 pm

    This place isn’t cheap but is SO worth it!!!
    http://www.opentable.com/rest_profile.aspx?rid=1827

  4. October 14, 2009 1:35 pm

    I love waffle sammies!!!
    Have you tried any yoga studios in Columbia? I was thinking of hitting one up by my work…

  5. October 14, 2009 1:42 pm

    Hi Ash!! Yay…I love your breakfast on the run. I’m planning on making my own pumpkin butter with some applesauce and canned pumpkin….wish me luck!! haha if i succeed, I wanna make your breakfast. 😛

    Sorry to hear about your iPhone!! JEEZ. Do you have a warranty so apple can replace it??

    muahahah China is awesome!!! You should go with her and just explore Asia. I’m going home to Hong Kong and then visiting Taiwan for a week in December and January! You should come!!!! OOHHH all the fun things and dimsum we can eat in Hong Kong…oh the shopping…

    • October 14, 2009 1:43 pm

      ahhh take me with youuu 🙂 my mom lived in Taiwan, so i definitely plan on visiting at SOME point! we could do some damage at dim sum. we’d be knocking people over… i would take all of the sesame balls! haha

  6. October 14, 2009 1:45 pm

    Your acorn squash looks delish! I want to try it this way. That party sounds like an absolute BLAST!

  7. October 14, 2009 1:53 pm

    The acorn squash looks sooo good! You spoiled that little baby rotten, such a cute name they have picked out to! I was thinking of getting an iphone when i get back home but I keep hearing that everyones breaks all the time(!?) Have fun in DC!

  8. October 14, 2009 2:55 pm

    ooh, the acorn squash looks deliciousss. and the waffle sandwich — ohhhmygod. haha i just bought pumpkin butter from TJ’s sooo i think this will be my first use of it. haha

  9. October 14, 2009 3:36 pm

    pirates is SUCH a fun theme! I dressed as one for halloween 2 years ago and spent the entire night running around spitting endless pirate jokes my favorite: what’s a pirates favorite restaurant? Olive gARRRRRRRRRRden… buaha! gets me everytime.

  10. October 14, 2009 3:57 pm

    pirate ship party? sounds awesomeeee.. and that acorn squash combo you decided on sounds even better. well maybe equal haha

  11. October 14, 2009 4:16 pm

    That Pirate ship thing sounds awesome! My fiance and I have not been to Inner Harbor yet but want to go check it out and heard great things!!! Oh my DC has so many great places to eat, Georgetown in DC is a really cool area and has great place to eat too! I would check it out there for sure! Good shopping too!!!!

  12. October 14, 2009 4:19 pm

    i am so jealous of your pirate party! and the baby clothes sound adorable. you should show us. i LOVE baby clothes! especially when they are grown up brands. love love. mmm yum to your wafflewich!

  13. October 14, 2009 4:54 pm

    What kind of waffles are those? They look delicious!!

    Olivia Grace – I LOVE that name! I hope you have a great weekend! The pirate party sounds like it will be tons of fun!!

  14. October 14, 2009 4:59 pm

    I’m in love with the pumpkin butter from WS too!! it’s amazing!!!

  15. October 14, 2009 6:53 pm

    SOOO jealous of your sis!!

    D.C. lunch: Founding Farmers is AMAZING–all organic, locally-grown and DELICIOUS; i highly recommend the portobello & risotto. More casual (it’s a sandwich shop) is Jettie’s–also amazing. Really good Thai is a place in Dupont called Mai Thai… and if none of that sounds good, e-mail me. I have like 23829832 more recommendations haha

  16. October 14, 2009 7:23 pm

    this is a great DC metro area blog, i’ve been reading!
    http://lunchinginthedmv.blogspot.com/

  17. Megan permalink
    October 14, 2009 7:39 pm

    Ooh cant wait to see the pics of the pirate ship!! have fun 🙂

  18. October 14, 2009 9:14 pm

    OMG I know a fabulous french restaurant up in Adams Morgan if that’s your part of town.

    Hey. How did I not know you’re in B’more? That was my city growing up! I adore the Inner Harbor. (((Phillips Crabcakes))).

  19. October 14, 2009 10:17 pm

    Sounds like a fun weekend!

  20. October 14, 2009 10:55 pm

    Yum! I have an acorn squash, and I think I know what to do with it now…

  21. October 15, 2009 1:47 am

    your acorn squash looks delicious!

  22. October 15, 2009 8:14 am

    Ahh I want some acorn squash!! Yours looks soo good.

  23. Rachel permalink
    October 15, 2009 8:19 am

    I’m soooo doing a themed birthday party (for myself lol) next year! That sounds like so much fun!

    PS I’m drooling over your waffle sandwich. I could seriously eat those for every meal…I had to take a break from buying waffles because they made an appearance as dinner too often! oopss!

  24. October 15, 2009 11:46 am

    That pirate party sounds like tons of fun!! Love it! And love your Halloween costume:)

    That breakfast sandwhich sounds amazing.

  25. October 22, 2009 11:13 am

    im a little late to this commenting party but i would just like to say that the name olivia is the BEST name ever!!! my daughter is olivia paige.. adorable!!

Leave a Reply

