Skip to content

Argan Oil

October 9, 2009

face_serum_photos_206

When Jennifer from a PR Agency in Canada recently sent me some samples of Argan Oil by Body Blitz I was more than excited. You all know by now that i’m a huge beauty product junkie and am always looking for the newest and greatest product. I jumped at the chance to review a product that i’d heard so many good things about but hadn’t had the chance to give it a try.

From the Body Blitz website, they describe argan oil as such: Our Argan Oil Face Serum combines over 75% organic argan oil with olive oil, aloe vera, organic rosehip, organic rose absolute and lavender. Argan oil has been called “Liquid gold” by the New York Times and is now being hailed in the West as the one of the most remarkable anti-ageing oils.

Argan oil is the world’s richest source of Vitamin E, and remains one of the rarest oils in the world due to the small and very specific growing region.

What really caught my attention was that the  harvesting and production of argan oil is performed by Berber Women’s cooperatives. These cooperatives were set up to empower the women in the region and to guaranteed fair trade practices. The argan oil we receive is from a registered Berber cooperative and your purchase of Argan Oil Face Serum directly benefits the women of this region and helps preserve the argan forests, now a designated UNESCO Biosphere Heritage site.

I don’t use a facial lotion at night. I cleanse and then use a toner and that’s it. When I got the Argan oil I decided to use it at night after I toned. The oil absorbed quickly into my skin and when I woke up the next morning, my skin literally was the softest it’s ever been. It was kinda crazy how quickly I could feel the difference. I don’t think that I would use it in the morning because I felt like it had a lot of time to absorb into my skin at night without having anything else on it such as makeup.

The serum is thick, and you only need a tiny amount and it will last for an extremely long time. You just apply it like you would any other serum/lotion. I’ve heard great things about Argan Oil’s natural anti-aging properties. I am only 23 so I am not too focused on that yet, but it is a great option for those looking for a natural treatment for fine lines and wrinkles.

Have any of you heard of Argan Oil? Tried it? What are your thoughts?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 10:00 am

    That sounds great! I just read an article in the new Glamour about how each age group needs to take care of their skin in diff ways; and it said that 20 yr olds need to take preventative steps now. Even though wrinkles are definitely not a concern to me now, I guess putting on some lotion/oil for preventative measure couldn’t hurt?

  2. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 9, 2009 10:51 am

    I keep hearing about argan oil, especially for hair products! I’d love to try something like that, especially in the winter when my skin is literally crackin’-tight. Thanks for the review!! 🙂

  3. October 9, 2009 11:20 am

    you saw a change overnight?! count me in! this stuff sounds amazing!!

  4. October 9, 2009 11:53 am

    Never heard of it but count me in! I’m a beauty junkie too and am always looking for good stuff.

  5. October 9, 2009 1:40 pm

    Oh sounds amazing! Wrinkles freak me out… so I’m down with anything that prevents them!

Leave a Reply

