Skip to content

kaputz

September 30, 2009

sad tragic news. my camera is kaputz. On Monday night I went to an Eric Hutchinson concert in Baltimore and as I was taking a picture, the lense got stuck and it’s a gonner. Makes an awful grinding noise when I try to turn it on or off. I don’t really have the funds right now for a new camera, but i’m hoping I can get one in the near future. Until then, iphone camera will be my go-to guy. so saddies.

Well anyway, if you don’t know who Eric Hutchinson is, please google him and take a listen to some of his songs. He is absolutely amazzzzzzzzing and during the concert we found out he’s actually a local Marylander. The concert was kind of like a kick off back to school thing….$15 for a ticket, FREE with a student id. Luckily I still had mine πŸ™‚

I’ve loved taking her on long walks everyday. You get to see and experience more of the city and I just love that. The other day I was walking and I spotted a man with 3 crazy ass cars. A music car, a brass van, and just a funny looking one with goofy teeth. What a sight. Oh Baltimore πŸ™‚

music car

brass van

funny car

The other day I went to the asian grocery store with my mom and picked up some dumpling wrappers. My grandma had taught me when we visited in Florida how to make them, and I wanted to put that knowledge to use. The only thing is… the reason why my mom and grandma’s dumplings taste so good is the wrapper. They use fresh from scratch dough and roll out the wrappers themselves. Its the doughy goodness that really puts the dumpling over the top. My filling was really good in these, but the store bought wrappers just didn’t really cut it. Looks like i’m going to have to make them next time. I do have to say though, I was happy with my first attempt. I even remembered how to pinch them shut and I think they look pretty good! Chase liked them, but to be honest, he likes anything he can eat with soy sauce. True asian at heart ❀ haha.

dumplings in progress

finished dumplings

Well tonight is girls night dinner. Every couple of weeks we try to get all the girls from Salisbury in the area together for dinner and wine. We do a pot luck style dinner and we each bring a dish. My mom actually bought some Boston Market side dishes from BJs and they’re delicious. Creamed spinach and butternut squash mash. I’ll be bringing those with me. Girls dinners really are the best. Nothing like catching up, laughing, and eating with your favorites.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 7:11 am

    Ha love the car pictures.

  2. September 30, 2009 7:28 am

    Those cars are hilarious!
    Great job with the dumplings!

  3. September 30, 2009 9:08 am

    Wow I’m super impressed with those dumplings. Everytime I’ve tried to make something similar it is a huge disaster.

  4. September 30, 2009 11:16 am

    my heart is now in a puddle at the bottom of my desk. those photos just melted it. baltimore has some crazy rides! and those dumplings look so fancy and yum.

  5. September 30, 2009 11:55 am

    omg your dumplings look amazing! I’m really jealous of your asian cooking skills! I need to step mine up haha

  6. September 30, 2009 1:44 pm

    Those are interesting! How neat.
    Your dumplings looked like they turned out good.

  7. September 30, 2009 1:45 pm

    your dumplings look gorgeous! sorry that the wrapper wasnt as doughy as you imagined but i bet they still tasted pretty good πŸ™‚ i really have to experiement with those! i love the idea of stuffing them with any combo you want.

    sorry about your camera!! i thank my lucky stars (and my mom!!!) that she bought me an uber warantee because mine has broken several times. it expires in a few months, which i am totally dreading!!

  8. lowandbhold permalink
    September 30, 2009 2:41 pm

    Ugh sorry about your camera. Eden looks like a little kid waiting attention, haha love it.

    The dumplings look great! I love anything I can dip in soy sauce also.

  9. September 30, 2009 3:35 pm

    dang now that’s what I call a hot ride!

    mmmmm dumplingssss, I’m all for anything stuffed in dought. Divine!

  10. Allison permalink
    September 30, 2009 5:43 pm

    i miss that precious face 😦 wow, i must say i am impressed by those dumpling making skills! i wasn’t even paying attention when she showed us how to make them, just drooling over them haha

  11. foodieinthecity permalink
    September 30, 2009 7:45 pm

    Those dumplings look stellar! Great skills you got over there girlfriend!

  12. September 30, 2009 8:57 pm

    Sorry about your camera. That is such a bummer. Hope you can get a new one soon. 😦

    Eden is adorable. Oh gosh, I want a dog so badly!

    I can’t believe you saw all of those crazy cars in one day!

  13. julie permalink
    September 30, 2009 9:03 pm

    hey, how’d you get a picture of my car..

    haha hope you had fun at girls dinner πŸ™‚

  14. Sweet and Fit permalink
    September 30, 2009 9:56 pm

    mmm, dumplings look amazing! hope you have fun at girls night dinner – love those nights =) oh and Eden looks soooo much like bryan’s dog, I have to find a picture of his dog for you

  15. October 1, 2009 1:03 pm

    Sorry about your camera! I don’t know how mine has survived this long, I’ve probably dropped it a dozen times!

    Your wontons look amazing!!!!

  16. October 1, 2009 2:02 pm

    Sorry about the camera, Lady! But I loved the photos of your dumplings. I used to make homemade dumplings with my grandmother, too! She would make the dough from scratch and then she would call me and my sis over to help her assemble them. I really wished I been there when she making the dough. I have no idea how she made it and now she’s passed on. Oh well, I guess there’s always Chinatown!

  17. October 1, 2009 4:39 pm

    Are you KIDDING?! They look awesome, girl! πŸ™‚ I’m sorry about your camera – it’s time for me to get a new one, too! I need to start researching – blah. Love the pupper pics – have fun at girls’ night!

  18. October 1, 2009 8:28 pm

    Eden is SO CUTE! And I can’t believe those are iphone pics. They’re still good camera quality!

  19. sarahdbelle permalink
    October 2, 2009 9:26 am

    I LOVE Eric Hutchinson. I was going to go to that concert, too!!! I’m sure it was a great time!

    Sorry about the camera : (

  20. October 4, 2009 11:16 pm

    I think your dumplings turned out pretty well too πŸ™‚ Homemade is always better of course, but they still look tasty.

    And that sucks about your camera. I hate when something like that comes up and forces you to spend money when you don’t really have it or want to.

  21. October 8, 2009 7:30 am

    Oh my gosh. The dumplings sound SO good. Homemade wrappers? Wow! My grandma doesn’t even do that! I bet yours were still delicious with the store-bought wrappers. Any chance of getting your recipe for the filling? πŸ™‚

  22. October 27, 2009 6:58 pm

    I cherish my nights with the girls. Always so much fun!

    So sorry about your camera, but your iPhone is doing a pretty decent job, and your dumplings looked good. I’m impressed. πŸ™‚

    Those cars are crazy – glad you got pictures of them, but my favorite is the picture of Eden. Precious…however, I wish our leather couch still looked that nice. Our 2 dogs have destroyed it. Silly pups.

Trackbacks

  1. Turning into a swine… « Cashews and Hummus

Leave a Reply

