Skip to content

jersey girl

August 18, 2009

Thank you all for your support! ah you guys really know how to make my day. This weekend me, Lauren, my friend Meg (who is moving into my room) trekked up to New Jersey. Our friend Heather from Salisbury is from Madison and all throughout school she would always talk about how amazing her town is. We finally set a date to visit and drove up to Madison, NJ.

We had the absolute best time. There really is nothing better than reuniting with your best friends. We endlessly laughed, hugged, and just enjoyed each other’s company. Sat night we went out to dinner at an Italian restaurant. I got penne vodka with shrimp which her dad voted on as his favorite penne vodka.  Me and Lauren did a little splitski and shared meals. She had a chicken and rice dinner that was absolutely delish. We also got an order of calamari and crab stuffed mushrooms as apps and all shared a pitcher of sangria.  OOh this food was good!  Sorry no food pics! Heath doesn’t know about the blog, and I didn’t want to weird her out by snapping away haha.

 

Picture 046Picture 045

After dinner we came back and started pregaming for our night out. Captain and coke? A school ritual that had to be brought back. Heathers friends all came over and we hung out a little at her house before getting on the NJ Transit into Morristown. As soon as we got to the station, we noticed a huge madison sign and jumped for a photo op. 😉

Picture 049

trying to make our best frown/fish face. meg fails.

trying to make our best frown/fish face. meg fails.

Picture 051

Picture 053

The bars were so much fun, live bands, dancing, and singing all night long. The weekend was of course cut far too short but she’ll be visiting all of us on Megans birthday which happens to be the weekend she moves into my house and I move into the place with Chase. perfect timing yet again!

Picture 054

Picture 056

Picture 058

 On the running front… eh. Last night I went out for a run and had a little knot in my left butt cheek. I wasn’t really sure what it was from but thought that if I kept running I’d loosen it up and it would be better.  Well…. the plan didn’t really fall into place because at around mile 3.5 I had to stop and walk. At this point, walking was awful but I had at least another half mile to walk home. My mom had some chinese medicine oil that I put on and then stretched out, but it feels awful. the pain goes from my butt and runs down my leg. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice on what to do? I’m not going to run today, but how much should I take off? My race is only a month away and its time to add the milage on. I’m frustrated and confused and hope this goes away quickly. Oh the trials and tribulations of running your first half.

Hope you all have an amazing day thanks again for your love and support! xoxo

26 Comments leave one →
  1. lilybeans permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:20 am

    Ouch! That does not sound good. Seems like you strained your glute and it is pulling on your hammie. I would take it easy for awhile and maybe consult a doctor about it. Test out biking or other cross training methods to at least get the HR up. Fingers crossed for a quick recovery!

  2. August 18, 2009 7:37 am

    what a blast of a weekend with your friends!!! i hope your legs starts to feel better…lots of icing would be my suggestion! i’m hoping you recover quick!

  3. August 18, 2009 9:10 am

    looks like you girls had an awesome time! doesnt it suck when you feel to awkward to take pics of your food? we should just a support group or something haha… sorry about your buttocks problems… cant say i can help you but i hope you figure it out and get better soon. only bit of advice i can say is it hurts- dont run. rest instead. a day or two off of running is no big deal. if you continue running through pain you only set yourself for a longer recovery time

  4. August 18, 2009 9:29 am

    Aw reuniting with friends is so much fun! Sounds like you guys had a blast together!!

    Sorry about the running issues – I hope it feels better soon!

  5. August 18, 2009 9:48 am

    aw your poor bootaaay — i’m sure the boyf will be happy to massage out all the kinks 😉

    glad you had such a fab weekend with your girlfriends! y’all are stunnahhs 🙂

  6. August 18, 2009 10:16 am

    Looks like you had a blasty!!! Yeah, I know what you mean about not taking food pictures, sometimes I totally forget to when there are some good eats infront of my face. About the injury- take it easy,ice and stretch, if it lasts for more than five days you should go see a doctor.

    Goood LUCKY!

  7. August 18, 2009 10:24 am

    Aw! such cute pics of gorgeous ladies in pretty dresses! glad you had a blast.

    Butt pain- I did have that and rested from running for about 4 days. A month away is plenty of time to add more distance because you have been running for awhile now. I would take the time now because if you do add miles or even just try to push through it, you can do serious damage. listen to your body. its telling you something isn’t right- rest it- ice it if its inflammed- then get back on track after it feels better.

    a few days now could save you a few weeks or months of recovery later.

    I don’t know exactly how bad it is- maybe several good yoga sessions would help too ?

  8. August 18, 2009 12:25 pm

    looks like fun!
    sorry about your butt… hope it heals soon! make sure to stretch!
    -muffy

  9. Megan permalink
    August 18, 2009 12:32 pm

    Aww cute pictures!! And you were in MADISON!??? I live 10 minutes from Madison! Did you get to visit the Whole Foods there?? It’s absolutely faaantastic! I love Madison 🙂 I hope you had fun!

    ps.. I’m back in Baltimore soooon! And I actually might run the Baltimore half marathon too!!!

  10. August 18, 2009 12:46 pm

    im with you on the trials of a 1/2 🙂 my first one is in 25 days or so and I havent done more than 7 miles in forever! oh well, I mean I have like 4 hours to do the damn thing, and I know I will at least do that! As long as I finish strong n dont give up! think of it like that 🙂

  11. August 18, 2009 4:26 pm

    i love it when you post photos with your friends, you guys are so cute and it looks like you have the best time! sorry about the butt knot, sounds painful…

  12. August 18, 2009 4:50 pm

    Looks like a fun night with your friends! It’s been way too long since I’ve had penne alla vodka. I’m glad you didn’t post a picture or I’d might have to go out and get some!

  13. August 18, 2009 7:30 pm

    Sorry about your running issues, I totally feel your pain. Taking a day off is definitely smart.

    The weekend looks totally fun as usual!!

  14. August 18, 2009 9:18 pm

    HAHAHA, I totally love Megan’s FAIL frown face!!

  15. Menden (Skinny Menny) permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:03 pm

    Your pics are adorable, as always! 🙂

    Sounds like some kind of pulled muscle, huh? Definitely rest up!!

  16. thelongweigh permalink
    August 18, 2009 11:37 pm

    Looks like you had a fabulous time! Congrats on your new adventure..moving in with your man! How exciting!

  17. August 19, 2009 4:53 am

    I had no idea you could get a knot in your butt cheek! Yikes! Oh, the things runners endure! I’m glad you stopped to walk. I think I have tried that Chinese medicine oil before and it does work if you use it regularly. I hope you feel better soon!

  18. August 19, 2009 4:50 pm

    Looks like you guys had so much fun! I love good times like that. I don’t know what is going on, but you don’t want it to get worse. I would at least go to a doctor and get it checked. That doesn’t sound like something that will just go away? I hope it gets better.
    -kristen

  19. julie permalink
    August 19, 2009 10:19 pm

    Awww looks like you had so much fun 🙂 and cute dress!

    That pain sounds awful! I have no idea what it would be but it sounds like a pain in the ass. hahahaha I’m sorry I couldn’t help myself.

    I hope you feel better soon 🙂

  20. August 19, 2009 10:28 pm

    Your meals sound amazing!! You and your girls are too cute- love all of the pretty dresses! Glad you had a blasty with great friends -nothing better. 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon – eek. 😦

  21. August 20, 2009 7:13 am

    Looks like you girls had a super fun weekend. You all look so adorable! Love all the colorful dresses.

    It sounds like you might have pulled your hamstring. I think the best things to do are rest and ice until it feels better.

  22. August 20, 2009 2:19 pm

    Looks like you had a blast with your ladies. You all looked gorgey! I’m sorry to hear about your leg. Those Chinese medicinal oils can work wonders. They smell bad but they work 😉

  23. August 20, 2009 3:27 pm

    I love that pink dress, its really cute!

  24. August 21, 2009 7:34 am

    First off, congrats on Chase’s job! That is super exciting! Next, your little trip looks like it was so much fun! Its always awesome to hang out with the girlfriends!

    Lastly, thank you so much for your comments on my blog. 🙂

  25. August 22, 2009 8:10 am

    Girl – you are GORGEOUS! Those are some adorable pics 🙂
    Ugh, that sucks about the run….hopefully it’s feeling better!

  26. August 23, 2009 6:51 pm

    Looks like such a fun weekend! And you are absolutely gorgeous – love the dress you’re wearing, too!

Leave a Reply

