Skip to content

heartfelt

August 5, 2009

I need to first and foremost thank each and every one of you who commented on my previous post. Your words meant so much to me and really helped me regain a sense of accomplishment in the fact that purely signing up for this race was a big step. I need to take this risk and prove it to myself that it’s possible.Β  I smiled with each comment and felt my heart get bigger. Thank you. You are all amazing friends.

The night of the post I ran my 6 miles. I left the house with a clear head, with no music, and with the mentality that I was going to run this, and run it well. It got hard at the end, but I perservered. I finished it and instantly the weights on my shoulders were lifted. Last night I ran a 2 mile loop around my parents house. I had been running 3 days a week, but needed to add another day of a light short run. I ran with my cousin who is visiting from Florida. I usually only run by myself, so it was nice to run with someone and it pushed me to go faster. I finished off the 2 miler with a sprint to the house and felt accomplished. I’m going to stop looking at this half in the long run, and focus on the runs day by day. Focus on the run that is about to happen,a nd not the run thats 4 weeks in the future.

My cousin Jonathan has come into town for about 2 weeks before he goes back to school. Last Thursday I took him out on the town in Baltimore to show him the night scene. Now I don’t usually go out during the week… this was a special occasion…. but the way I felt on work on Friday, well let’s say there’s a reason for keeping it low during the week. I think he had a good time though!

Picture 001

We also went to see Harry Potter in 3D last week too. I went with him and my sister. It was the first night of the 3D showing and we were right up at the front.

Picture 005

sweet shades right? mine were a little crooked haha.

The 3D tickets were $5 more than the regular tickets which was fine, but after the first 10 minutes the 3D was over. For the rest of the movie. Rip off. I did enjoy the movie, but I would have gladly gone to the cheaper showing.

The other night I was in the mood for a pizza. I had some chinese eggplant and some baby bella mushrooms and wanted to use them up. I went to the local grocery store and was on the search for a pizza crust. All they had was boboli crust, and it was expensive and the calories were ridiculous. I was in the mood for something lighter. I ended up finding whole wheat pitas the size of pizzas. Has anyone ever seen these before? They’re made by the Pita King Bakery and were exactly what I needed.

Picture 006

I spread a layer of pesto on the pita, added some grilled eggplant, sauteed bella mushrooms, roasted red peppers, spinach, grilled onions, and finished it off with some feta. OMG AMAZING! The pita crisped up like a thin crust and the toppings flavors melded perfectly. I will be recreating this very very soon. I threw the rest of the pitas in the freezer for future pizzas!

Picture 007

Last night I went home to Columbia for dinner with the family. My mom made falafels.

Now let me tell you… when we lived in England she used to make these falafels from scratch. They were my favorite meal she would make. She stopped making them once we moved to Maryland and I beg her consistently about making them. I’ve asked her on and off for 10 years… literally… She’s always said they were a pain to make from scratch.

Last night she made them!!!!!! Oh my I was in absolute HEAVEN. They are so good, I just don’t know what it is about them. So much better than any falafel i’ve ever had. I threw two patties in the pita half with some lettuce, red onion, tomato, and homemade tatziki… heaven on a plate. no lie. I had two halves and my belly thanked me. I also thanked my mom endless times, and this has only fueld the fire for more falafels. Amazingggg. I brought a leftover one home for lunch today.

Picture 009

Picture 010

One of my best friends, Ali is coming into town for the weekend with her bf. It’s going to be a weekend to remember ❀

love you allllllll xoxo

32 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 9:54 am

    SO proud that you did the run! You’ve inspired me to get back into it.
    I bet it was cool to see the first few scenes of HP with the 3D glasses, but it sucks that it wasn’t the whole shebang! What’s up with that?

  2. Sweet and Fit permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:05 am

    sorry i missed your last post!

    I am so proud of you for finding a renewed source of insirpiation and i’m so happy you got in that 6 mile run…. you got this girl!

  3. August 5, 2009 10:22 am

    So proud of you for getting in your 6 miler and taking on a positive attitude about your training. You = awesome! πŸ™‚

    Your mom’s homemade falafel looks amazing. I’ve only had it made from a mix, but I’m sure from scratch is so much better.

  4. August 5, 2009 10:32 am

    How fun! I bet Harry Potter in 3D was amazing and getting to see it with your cousin was extra-special. Have a great day!

  5. August 5, 2009 10:45 am

    awesome run girl πŸ™‚ so glad you’re feeling better about it!

    your mom’s fallafels look INSANE! and those pitas. oh my god they’re huge!! twss haha

    have fun with your boyf and bf!!

  6. August 5, 2009 10:51 am

    how can they call it 3d if it was only part of the movie! that seems strange.

    yeah for a great run!!!

  7. August 5, 2009 11:03 am

    I love falafels! I also love trying to spell that word! πŸ™‚

    (Glad you are feeling better about running!)

  8. August 5, 2009 11:10 am

    congrats girl on facing the challenge and running that far distance! you will do great no matter what in this race! mine is in 40 days and I havent run more than 6.5 in a few months either, but its ok, because i know I can do it, even if I must walk. Its not winning thats important, its trying and finishing the race, that is the most important thing. Just remember that not many people even race a 5k! So, be proud that you even are running this 13 miles πŸ™‚

  9. August 5, 2009 11:24 am

    i am so so happy that you feel better now!!! hopefully we can get in a run together once i get back to school because that would be a fun time! and wow that pizza looks awesome- im not sure if i ever saw “pizza size” pitas, though- ill keep a look out though!

  10. August 5, 2009 11:45 am

    Congrats on your 6 mile run! So great! Your pizza and falafel looks amazing!! I need to pay Baltimore a visit again soon!!

    • August 5, 2009 1:12 pm

      PLEASE come to baltimoreee πŸ™‚ and let me know when u do! meet up for some delish food will be in store… maybe a few drinks? πŸ™‚

  11. August 5, 2009 1:07 pm

    I tried those pitas for my pizza and it didn’t come out well. Since then I’ve taken a liking to the whole wheat refrigerated dough at Trader Joe’s which is vegan and 99 cents!!! it basically makes 1 standard sized pizza once you roll it out πŸ™‚ its FABULOUS and filling b/c of the whole wheat πŸ™‚

    • August 5, 2009 1:12 pm

      Oh I LOVE those TJ pizza doughs. I wish i was able to get to TJs but this worked out pretty good as a substitute. I also love making calzones with the dough too. yum.

  12. August 5, 2009 1:13 pm

    great job w/ the 6 miler!!!

    and those stuffed pitas look Awesome!! if only mine ever looked like that!

  13. chocolatepickle permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:17 pm

    I’m TOTALLY impressed that you could even THINK of doing the race! I can’t run because of bum knees, but even if my knees were awesome, I don’t think I could ever do it!

  14. August 5, 2009 2:26 pm

    nice job on getting those 6 miles handled! cute photos, you are so photogenic! and ha, i always remember why i dont go out during the week when i get to work the next day. ugh. trainwreck! those 3d glasses are tech. i cant believe only 10 minutes was 3d! that is like, 50 cents a minute! your pita pizza and homemade falafel both look scrumppptious. i wish my mom could whip me up some of those! ha but actually i do the cooking for my mom. have a good wednesday my dear!

  15. fromatopink permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:43 pm

    Hi Ashley! I’m so glad you commented on my blog – my sister brought my attention to yours and I love it, very inspiring (especially for someone like me who’s inexperienced in the kitchen!). I live in Locust Point, right up the road from Fed Hill, such a small world! Looks like you’re doing well – how do you like the city?

  16. August 5, 2009 2:55 pm

    So glad you’re feeling better about the running. I didn’t comment because I was going through a similar slump and didn’t want to be a downer. It sounds like you are going to do great though! I’m inspired!

    I would kill for homemade falafel. What I’ve had, I’ve loved but I know homemade would be so much better!

    Have an amazing weekend!

  17. August 5, 2009 3:11 pm

    Awesome job!

  18. August 5, 2009 7:26 pm

    yayy good for you for getting back on the plan! 6 miler again!! πŸ™‚ Keep it up Ashley!!
    You and your sister look so much alike with those glasses on! hahah I love the family pictures…they never fail to make me smile! I also love your idea of making a pizza over pita!! It’s a perfect round and it comes out thin and crispy. SO perfect!

  19. August 5, 2009 7:50 pm

    aww girlie great job about pushing through your run! Your going to kick butt at the half marathon πŸ™‚
    I love falafel! Your pita looks so good πŸ™‚

  20. August 5, 2009 8:44 pm

    That pizza does look pretty awesome. I especially love the idea of using pesto instead of tomato sauce

  21. August 5, 2009 9:34 pm

    That pizza, those falafels… you’ve had some delicious eats lately! And I’m so happy you’re feeling better about running and the half. Sometimes running without an ipod or any other distractions is the greatest!

  22. August 5, 2009 9:59 pm

    how wonderful that your mom finally made them!!! That is so lovely- they look delicious hmm and so does that pizza!

  23. August 6, 2009 5:48 am

    Yes, LOVE those 3D glasses ; )

    Can I have some of that pizza??

  24. August 6, 2009 9:12 am

    OMGaaahhhh, can i come over for din??? haha your momz knows whats up!! That’s so lame about the 3d but HP was good! PS is that a USC shirt you’re sporting πŸ˜€ That’s where I went!

  25. August 6, 2009 10:02 am

    Yum everything tastes better homemade! Nothing beats a mom cooking from scratch.

  26. peanutbutterprerogative permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:03 am

    I’m so proud of you for finishing the 6-miler! I never doubted you could do it! And oh my gosh that pizza/pita looks amazing. I might have to copy! Have fun with Ali…tell her I say hi!!

  27. August 6, 2009 11:35 pm

    Too funny – it’s like we’re on the same wavelength…I had a falafel wrap for dinner last night and today, I grilled some eggplant and had it on a salad with feta. And tomorrow, I was thinking of making a pita pizza with the leftover eggplant. I love the pics with the 3D glasses BTW.

  28. August 7, 2009 12:35 am

    Falafels are pretty freakin’ awesome. Your mom’s look great. I’ve made them from scratch (not a box) before, and I didn’t find them too hard, especially if you have a food processor. Yum πŸ˜€

  29. August 7, 2009 2:04 am

    Hi! I am new to the blog world and I just found your blog – love it! I am a new runner so it is inspiring to read about your runs! And of course, I love reading about food….your site is great!

Leave a Reply

