Skip to content

one on one

July 21, 2009

woman_running_on_beach

Sunday I took a much needed day off of training. I was supposed to do 3.5 miles, and I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Saturday was a long day and I needed the recovery day on Sunday. I just couldn’t run.

I felt guilty. Like I should have ran no matter what. I got off track of my schedule and thats where the spiral gets bigger. Yesterday I just didn’t feel like running. I knew that if I ran I would feel a million times better, but when you start to slack, it’s easier to keep that going and just put things off just one more day. I couldn’t run in the morning, no motivation to get up. I’ll just run after work. 6 pm rolls on by, and my motivation is still left at the door. 8 pm. I’m online and IM my boyfriend.

“should i run?”

“yes”

“eh, I just don’t really feel like it”

“do it. You will feel good after, I promise. Keep up with your training, your race is going to be here sooner than you know”

I reluctantly got up, changed, threw my running shoes on and just walked on out the door. No thoughts, just knew that I had to get it done. I ran my 3.5 miles that I needed to do, and as always felt great as I finished. Sometimes it’s so hard to get your foot out the door, but everyone always knows that you never regret a workout. You can beat yourself up for not going, not having the extra oomph in you to get yourself out there, but when its all said and done, if you complete something you didn’t believe was possible it throws all the motivation back your way and gets you ready to conquer anything.

Sometimes you need a motivator. You need a support system. Someone who can push you when you feel like slacking off. Someone who you can trust to give you encouragement and guidance when you truly need it the most. This is what pushes you forward and gives you the inspiration to do bigger and better things. Never in my life did I think it was possible for ME to run a half marathon. I still have my doubts now and again, wondering if my body can really take me through 13.1 miles and not give up. I have my ups and downs with training, but i knew that at the end of this I will be so blown away by how powerful I can be, and what I can train myself to do.

Β 

This morning I woke up and went to a 6:00 AM yoga class. I wanted to focus my mind and bring myself back to the purpose of my training. I’m doing this for mind and body alike. Turns out I was the only one who showed up. I got my own private one on one training. I was able to be adjusted in my poses, align my body correctly and try new poses. I was taught the correct way to do crow pose. I had only done it once or twice before.

crow pose

Then I tried side crow. Never have I dared to try this pose. I’ve only ever seen it in yoga magazines. You know what? I did it! It’s amazing what your body can do when you focus your mind and concentrate on the task.

side-crow_preview

Sometimes we all need to breathe and appreciate what our bodies do for us. Take time to better yourself, and you will in turn be a happier person.

meditate

Β 

what gets you motivated and pushes you when all you want to your desire to work out has slipped ? How do you regain focus?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 9:02 am

    yay sweet Ashley! Don’t you love it when you overcome the “I just don’t wannas”? Chase is a good bf for encouraging you! I have asked Andrew the same question many times and sometimes I get frustrated when he pushes me, even though I always know he has my best interest at heart. Congrats on a wonderful training experience so far! YOU ARE ROCKING and don’t forget that!!!!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  2. July 21, 2009 9:08 am

    Awesome! I still have not gotten into crow yet. It’s a tough one for me.

  3. July 21, 2009 9:09 am

    it is SO easy for me to put my lazy hat on and just convince myself that I “don’t want to workout today” but i always find that when i get up and moving i feel so much better afterwards — just takes a little extra push πŸ™‚

    it’s amazing how important the mental aspect of yoga is — there are times when my mind is just NOT in the right place and there’s not way i could do a full headstand for example, but when i’m centered and in the zone it just comes naturally.

    …going to hit the mat now πŸ™‚
    love to you on this fine tuesday, my girl!

  4. July 21, 2009 9:11 am

    Congrats on getting out there and doing your run. I agree, I never once felt worse after doing a workout. If I’m not wanting to workout one day I always just imagine how good I’ll feel after I complete it and usually that’ll be enough to get me going!

  5. July 21, 2009 9:31 am

    I love this post!! We’re such lucky girls for having amazing support systems and people who know us/love us well enough to say GO, you KNOW you want to/you’ll feel better/you’ll be a brat if you don’t, etc. πŸ™‚ Congrats on all of your amazing yoga progress! I’ve never done yoga OR ran a 1/2 marathon – you’re my hero!! What pushes me and keeps me going is how good I feel afterward – I crave that positive ‘life is good’ feeling I get every time I leave the gym!! It’s not just exercise, it’s ‘me’ time – reading, listening to music, etc. I honestly can’t imagine not working out as much as I do!!

  6. July 21, 2009 10:19 am

    Good job just getting out the door and going. I struggle with that, too…knowing that it’s so good for me and I’ll feel better but just not being able to get out the door!

    Yoga sounds amazing! So awesome that you got a 1 on 1 lesson. I’ve never been to a real yoga class, but hopefully I will find a good studio when I move. πŸ™‚

  7. July 21, 2009 10:52 am

    Good for you! It DOES always feel so much better once you’ve just gone and done it, even if you didn’t want to.

    One of the best runs I’ve had the last month was just like that…it wasn’t until I got my butt out the door and was done with my warm-up that I realized I was happy I’d gone!

  8. July 21, 2009 1:23 pm

    AWESOME post today, Ashley!

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Sometimes it’s HARD to motivate yourself to go for a run or a workout but you’re so right. It’s something we NEVER seem to regret! Good for you for getting your run in!!

  9. July 21, 2009 1:47 pm

    that is awesome that your boy is so encouraging. and i agree, it may be hard to get motivated but the feeling afterward is so worth it. nice job on staying motivated!! xo

  10. July 21, 2009 2:05 pm

    Great post! I also get in those moods where I just don’t feel like working out even though I know I’ll feel better after. The hardest part is getting to the gym. Luckily my boy knows to make me go too because he does not want to hear me complain later in the day for skipping it!

  11. Olivia permalink
    July 21, 2009 3:19 pm

    Oh I feel bad! I wish I would have gotten you you running mix sooner then maybe you would have felt motivated! . . . sorry! Anyway its amazing you did side crow, I’m, scared of it, the one time I got halfway through it I panicked and fell on my cheek.

  12. July 21, 2009 3:28 pm

    Wow side crow is super impressive! It’s so hard to get back to training when you’ve slipped. Good for you for kickin ass!

  13. July 21, 2009 4:16 pm

    well, this post has inspired me to go for a run today. found your blog through reading my friend laural’s http://www.beinghealthier.com blog and i’m glad i did. i also am training for my first 1/2 marathon. longest race i’ve done was a 10-miler (the Crim in MI). i decided to do a 1/2 just to see if i can finish (in case i ever really hope of doing a full marathon). my mom has done an ironman, and my sister has done a marathon, so they are both inspiration and support- though they live in MI and I live in PA. but like others said, knowing it’ll lift my spirits and make me feel better all over helps me do it. signing up for the 1/2 has really forced me to get running. it’s in november, and i’ve just been getting into running several times a week. i’m chronicling my journey on a page on my blog, with photos, if you want to check it out:
    http://www.exactasty.com/blog/running
    i’ll definitely be checking your blog more. keep up the hard work, and good luck training!

  14. July 21, 2009 4:55 pm

    This is an awesome post, especially because although I have intentions to run today, I have been feeling pretty unmotivated. What good timing to read this! And it’s so true, I don’t think I’ve EVER regretted opting to follow through with exercise. The after effect is always worth it, ALWAYS. πŸ™‚

  15. July 21, 2009 7:37 pm

    jealous that you can do crow pose! ive been trying to do it this past week in my classes and i slip out of it right away- ill get it down one day! haha

  16. July 21, 2009 8:51 pm

    awesome job girly! that is so cool.
    i get motivated when i feel good. nothing else really does it – unless i feel the complete opposite and that is not what i strive for.
    -muffy

  17. July 22, 2009 9:41 am

    yay on the crow pose!!! and on the side one, i think that one is harder than regular crow.. isnt it so exciting to do this you never thought you could?
    it makes everything else in life gravy!

    i get motivated when i read other peoples blogs, it might be a little guilt inducing at the same time, but if there are people out there who have as much going on in life as i do and still find time for a nice workout, i’ll geter done!!!

  18. July 30, 2009 12:54 pm

    Way to do your run!! It took me awhile to figure out that I didn’t have to motivate myself 100% of the time, and I wasn’t “weak” or undisciplined for asking people for help/motivation. Now, I just need to ask a friend to run with me — or kick my butt (nicely of course) and make me go!

Leave a Reply

